We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Comfort Inn

2.5 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay Twice = Gift Card
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Thunder Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
ucanonico Toronto, Canada
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    23
    21
    11
See reviews for
14
19
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (87)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (12)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (10)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this motel while passing through Thunder Bay- you get what you pay for. Mostly clean but the shower had grimes and black splotches in the tub. The area around the hotel had a lot of construction with a lot of dust flying around. The walls of this place are paper thin-overheard our neighbour's conversation throughout the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Please accept my apology that your guestroom was not up to our usual high standards. Our Maintenance department has addressed the problem, and our housekeeping department has been reminded to remain watchful. I am sorry that you were disturbed by other guests in the hotel. Please never hesitate to contact the Guest Services Representative anytime to assist, if you encounter... More 

Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

had a room an a second floor and asked if we can have a room an the ground floor as the hotel location did not looked to be at the safest area lady at the front desk said it was $14 dollars more and I said it was ok as long as we can park in front of the room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am sorry that the actions of other guests affected your enjoyment of our Comfort Inn. The Guest Service Representatives are always available to resolve any problems and would have been happy to assist you. While we have posted "smoking directives" on all guest room patio doors, unfortunately, not... More 

Travelers are raving about these Thunder Bay hotels

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfort Inn hotels are Value hotels, and this was no exception. Expect low fares, decent rooms, average cleanliness, good breakfast included in room fare. Don't expect newly decorated rooms, the softest beds or breakthrough customer service. For the money we paid and the services we received, it was an overall positive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your thoughts regarding your recent visit to the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed a positive experience with us, but was disappointed that you did not experience "breakthrough customer service". Your comment will be used to demonstrate the exceptional value of great guest services, to every team member here at... More 

London, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2015

Stayed here a couple weeks ago on a business trip for 10 days, had my favorite shirt stolen. I didn't report it because I figured maybe I left it at home, but was pretty sure I packed it with me especially considering it was my favorite shirt. After my trip I looked everywhere at home for my shirt and did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry that your favourite shirt has been misplaced. If you would like to contact the hotel directly, I would be happy to have the details so that we might check in our lost and found department. Any items left in guest rooms are noted and secured for safekeeping. We regularly return guest belongings that have been inadvertently left... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stopped there just to sleep after a long day driving. Overall we are satisfied, staff was really friendly, beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and the breakfast was good! On a side note, breakfast was from 6h00 or 6h30 until 9h30 weekdays and weekends. We had to be on the road early, so it was not a problem, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. I'm glad you were able to enjoy our hot complimentary deluxe breakfast. We do hope to welcome you back again to the comfort of our Inn! Best regards, Sherry Smith Assistant General Manager More 

Sudbury, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

Front desk staff is great. Very disappointed with cleanliness! Black curly hair in the tub, on the tub ledge, quite a lot on the floor by the tub. I called front desk and the lady was very apologetic, came down and offered a new room or she would clean. I was already unpacked and my arrival was quite late so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, Annette! I do apologize for the housekeeping issue in your guestroom. Please be assured this is not up to our usual high standards of cleanliness. Our Guest Service Representatives are available 24hours to ensure our guests' satisfaction. If ever there is any issue that may compromise quality or service, the front desk staff is always... More 

Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

The staff was fine and we were given our room promptly which was nice. The room was ok--we have definitely stayed at nicer comfort inns but for the most part (minus the bed--quite uncomfortable) the room was fine. There is no elevator so that may be an issue for some people. The parking lot is very large which is nice--lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. Although we do not have an elevator, any of the guest service representatives are happy to assist with luggage. We do hope to welcome you back again. Best regards, Sherri Locke, CHA, CHGM More 

Kenora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

We stayed one night at the Comfort Inn Thunder Bay. The hotel looks like it has been recently renovated. New lobby and breakfast room as well as modern, clean rooms. The beds were quite firm but we assumed this was because they were so new! Everything was easy right from check-in to check-out and the front desk, and breakfast staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review following your most recent visit with us. It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Sherri Locke CHA, CHGM More 

Ear Falls, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2014

The room was what you should expect for being a lower priced room. But I did reserve the room the day before so I would have expected the heat to be turned on prior to our arrival. Otherwise the staff was nice and the orange juice at breakfast was real. Shower good and tv and internet worked great. Parking lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent visit with us. I do apologize that we missed turning your guestroom heat on prior to your arrival. We did have a couple of unexpectedly cold days! I am pleased that you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast buffet before your departure. We certainly do hope to welcome you back again!... More 

Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014

Hotel was okay but beds were very poor and hard with springs that hindered sleep. Hotel had good location and friendly staff but when one does not get sleep it make it hard to give a good report. Need to update the beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
cn307, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found our beds to be uncomfortable. We are always happy to accommodate guests in an alternative guestroom, if anything is not to one's preference. I do hope you will stay with us again, and try another room type..perhaps a new king room? Best... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay