We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 32 Thunder Bay hotels

Comfort Inn

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Priceline.com Booking.com
and 5 more sites!
39%
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
tbaytraveller_9 Thunder Bay, Canada
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    12
    16
    15
    11
See reviews for
10
16
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The renovations here made a huge difference! The lobby is bright, big and modern. The rooms look brand new. They have added a proper breakfast room, and a hot breakfast. The hotel was definitely in dire need of renovations, and they've done everything they needed to make it a good place to stay! I will go back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the renovations have impressed you. We are all quite excited to be offering such a great place to stay! I look forward to welcoming you back to our Comfort Inn. Best regards, Sherri Locke, CHA More

Golden, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are awesome. Everything is clean, comfortable, and convenient. The front desk staff, upon arrival, was lukewarm. Not the most friendly, chap. The complementary breakfast was convenient and the staff in the kitchen were great. When I signed out the young women at the front desk was friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to make a note of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know that our recent renovations have provided you with a great stay. I am sorry to read that the Guest Service Representative provided only a "lukewarm" reception for you. We certainly do strive for excellence for all of our guests.... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is an old motel that hasn't done much recently to update itself. No frills in terms of fitness centre, or pool, one ice machine on the first floor, and a total of 4 seats in the "breakfast area" to sit down and eat. The breakfast itself was also poorer than other comparable motels. Our room was ok, but the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your most recent stay. I do recognize that our hotel is in need of some updates and I am pleased to advise that we are scheduled for a full renovation in early January 2014. This will include new guestroom carpets, wall coverings, furnishings, linen packages, and draperies. Additionally, we... More

Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We had an unexpected stay in Thunder Bay and needed a room for one night. After searching for rooms with 2 beds, this was one of the only options we had without spending more the 200 dollars. We still had to pay over 150 dollars for a room here which is very pricey for a VERY average room. Room was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the staying with us while you were in Thunder Bay. I understand you concern regarding rates in our city, and would like to assure you that we are very competitively priced for our area. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our guestrooms. We do take great care to ensure our rooms are well appointed and welcoming... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel had a mix up on my check-in by charging me a no show as the booker messed up the dates, the morning staff quickly refunded it. Rooms were average, breakfast was tasty but crowded as they serve in the main lobby. Overall not a bad place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am pleased to know that our staff were helpful in resolving the reservation mix up. I know our lobby area does become congested during our breakfast hours, and am pleased to advise that we are scheduled to be adding a full breakfast room during our pending renovations. In the short-term, we do offer breakfast... More

Sudbury
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here on a trip around Lake Superior. The location is central and the room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the pet-friendly option. Breakfast included a wide selection to please any taste.

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words! We certainly do appreciate hearing that you were pleased with your accommodations, and our breakfast offerings. We hope to see you back as our guest, next time you visit the city. Best regards, Sherri Locke, CHA General Manager More

High Level, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My family and I drove across canada from Ontario to alberta. This was our 2nd stop, after two LONG day of driving. When I arrived they didnt have the right credit card information I had booked on the phone with. And insisted I shouldnt "book online". which I did not do. As soon as I got up to the desk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I am certainly disappointed that you were unhappy with your stay at the Comfort Inn, Thunder Bay. We always try to accommodate our guests traveling with pets in groundfloor rooms, however, I understand we were completely sold out and unable to do this for you. I do apologize that there were other guests in the parking area who made inappropriate... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Right from the start I could tell that this was not going to be a good stay. Firstly the check in clerk seemed like she was having a bad day and wasn't very welcoming. Then they couldn't accommodate adjoining rooms as we are traveling with two children. She did manage to get us two rooms side by side but when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that your visit with us was not to your satisfaction. I certainly do wish that we had had an opportunity to discuss your concerns, while you were our guest. I do understand your comments regarding our breakfast area. We do offer a daily complimentary breakfast, but we do not have a designated breakfast area, so... More

Douglasville, Georgia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I guess for a hotel in Canada it isn't so bad. I didn't have too many choices and since I like staying in choice hotels I decided to stay here. I was in town for three days and it seemed like I was never going to get out of there. This hotel needs a major renovation. The water in my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It is from the comments of our guests that we are able to identify any shortcomings and take the necessary steps to improve our services. I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to demonstrate our usual high standards of guest services. More

Cambridge, ON
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Three years ago my work booked me into this hotel. It was noisy, so dirty and the Internet would disconnect every 5mins. Much to my surprise did I end up here again without looking at my itinerary close enough. Traveling as a single woman, I requested a room on the second floor. There's a lot of guys that stay here... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
cn307, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review

I"m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent visit to our Comfort Inn. I would have appreciated the opportunity to discuss your concerns with you, while you were our guest. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be... More

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel
Comfort Hotel Thunder Bay
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario
Address: 660 W. Arthur St., Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Thunder Bay is a 100% Smoke-Free hotel with newly renovated front desk, lobby area with fireplace and business centre. All guestrooms feature new carpet, drapes, bedding, bathroom vanity and floor tile. Additional room features include a 32 inch flat screen tv, fridge, microwave, ergonomic chair and free Wi-Fi. Relax in our spacious new breakfast room and enjoy a free full hot breakfast featuring eggs, bacon or sausage, waffles and more. Located 5 minutes driving distance from the Thunder Bay Intl Airport (YQT) and in close proximity to Arthur Street Marketplace, Regional Health Sciences Center and Lakehead University. We are pet-friendly and offer ground floor rooms with patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.