We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Thunder Bay hotels

BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
76%
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
yyclhryyc yyc
  • Overview
  • Reviews (135)
  • Photos (24)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

135 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    59
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
24
39
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yyc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

For a quick over-night on a road trip this hotel was okay. It is somewhat dated with a very small vanity/washroom. Hotel and rooms could use a re-fresh. This hotel is pet-friendly which was a necessity for me. Wi-Fi only worked periodically which was frustrating. Would only stay again if the price was right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very simply put, the bed is hard as a slab of stone...if you like that then you'll be fine...The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor and you had better get there early, or else its dry toast and left over yogurt Not typical for this chain...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you did not like our beds, nor our breakfast. Mattresses are a matter of personal preference. Our mattresses are a Westbury Plus by Simmons. Some guest like them so much, they have asked us to order them one for their homes. Our breakfast room is located on the 3rd floor. This large comfortable room... More

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although the hotel was quiet and staff pleasant, we found pizza in the frig and water in the tub. The rest of the room was clean. We called the front desk about the air conditioner not working. They told us the thermostat on the wall would manage the air conditioning. There wasn't a thermostat. I should have persisted but didn't.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry about the food in the fridge. We had a new employee that did not check/clean the fridge as she had been instructed to do, and we did not catch the error. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and steps have been taken to ensure that a re-occurrence will not happen. More

Wakefield, Michigan
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This Inn is right off HWY 61 so if you are doing the circle tour...you can stay and highlight and enjoy Thunder Bay and hop right back on...I found it pretty easy to get around also...it is laid out on a N/S...E/W grid and Arthur street is a main corridor of this side. The hotel has a pretty good breakfast... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I hope that you enjoyed the Blues Festival. I know the weather wasn't that great. We look forward to seeing you again. Stuart, GM More

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Close to the airport (no sounds) with easy parking we enjoyed the warm greeting and easy check-in from Lena. Internet was easy to connect to and speed fine. Nice to have a desk to work from. Beds were comfortable and all the staff we saw in hallways through the weekend had quick smiles with their hellos. The breakfast area was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. I am happy to hear that you had a restful stay with us, and that our staff was pleasant and professional. We hope to see you again, soon. Stuart, GM More

Hanwell
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

As before, this continues to be my go to hotel in Thunder Bay. I have yet to be dissatisfied with the service. Staff are very friendly, professional and helpful. Internet stays very steady with a fairly quick download speed for basic surfing. Rooms are comfortable, nice bedding and the furniture doesn't give me a sore back as happens in many... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

It is great to see our regular guests. Thank you for your continued business, and hope to see you again soon. Stuart, GM More

Thunder Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked 4 nights to attend the wedding of some friends and do some other visiting. The reception was across the street at Naxos (very nice) so I wanted to stay close. A couple of other places close by have gone way down hill from what they used to be and reviews for this place were good, so I thought... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the nice comments. I am glad we were able to serve your needs. Hope to see you again. Stuart, GM More

Trenton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We are pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Very clean and comfy. Nice, updated room decor, good breakfast selection. Free parking, no issue parking with our trailer. Convenient location, close to the highway, shopping and restaurants.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again soon. Stuart, GM More

Sooke, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We arrived without a reservation due to lack of data and cell connection. Therefore it was with with some relief, after being on the road for ten+ hours to be informed there were rooms available. Although this BW is not a Plus or a Premier the attitude of the evening clerk and the morning clerk reminded me of snooty Paris... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is difficult to set a policy that is fair to all guests. Due to some bad experiences in the past the owners have decided to go with a credit card only policy ( in addition to some pre-arranged direct billing). Damages caused by the few cash customers cause unrecoverable expenses for... More

Castlegar, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was good, the service was excellent but.... If your like me and use the internet in the evening, forget it. It's slow during the day but useless in the evening. I also have a personal peeve of air conditioning/heaters that don't regulate properly. This room simply had a dial you set and the fan ran continuously.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Address: 655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style
#3 Best Value Hotel in Thunder Bay #4 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay #5 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer