We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 33 Thunder Bay hotels

BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
75%
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Thunder Bay
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Fred L Courtice, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (140)
  • Photos (24)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    62
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
26
41
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
DFW
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I originally picked Best Western because of high reviews I have seen, however this turned out to be a mistake. Since it was very expensive over $130 per night, I expected a better experience. However, the hotel looked old and area round it a bit sketchy. To make matters worse some of the staff were rude and not helpful. Finally,... More

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with our hotel. It is unfortunate that some guests that arrive back at hotel late at night talk in the hallways. Our hotel is conveniently located close to the airport and the Trans-Canada Highway. Of course this proximity lends it self to some road and aircraft noise. We try to keep... More

Courtice, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice clean hotel, room size ok. but at $140.00 per night was a bit high as compared to Holiday expess which was much nicer and only cost $134.00 per night. ideal location would of been down town thunder bay or closer to the water front. . bye now

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel. We are conveniently located to the airport, and to the Trans-Canada highway, but unfortunately not close to the waterfront. Our rates fluxuate depending on supply and demand in order to be competitive with our neighbouring hotels. Our rates tend to be higher during the week than on the weekends. We... More

Saskatoon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the first time staying at this Best Western. Was very pleased at the size of the rooms and amount of plugins for all the kids electronics. Of the rooms I've stayed at in Thunder Bay this is a guaranteed stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Quesnel, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is clean, quiet, professional and very friendly. It is 5 minutes from the airport and is close to many other amenities. The breakfast room is bright, the food is very good, and the breakfast room staff can't do enough for you. The housekeepers were very attuned to customer needs as well.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on a motorcycle trip. The room was very clean and well appointed the facility is very well maintained. The breakfast offering maybe a little weak but all in all a good location for the night

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kenora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel at the end of July for 3 nights. Everyone, from the front desk personnel to the housekeeping staff to the person manning the breakfast room were very pleasant and helpful, always saying good morning. The hotel was a little dated but clean, breakfast was great for a free breakfast (lots to choose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while visiting Thunder Bay. We hope that if you are travelling through Thunder Bay again, that you stay with us again. Stuart, GM More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was according to our expectations and beyond. All staff was very polite and courteous and most helpful. Location is close to airport, highways and easy to get to anywhere in Thunder Bay. Very clean, good breakfast, internet access- no problem, very comfortable, temp control etc...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

i am happy to read that your enjoyed your stay with us. Please come again ( and bring lots of friends) Stuart, GM More

yyc
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

For a quick over-night on a road trip this hotel was okay. It is somewhat dated with a very small vanity/washroom. Hotel and rooms could use a re-fresh. This hotel is pet-friendly which was a necessity for me. Wi-Fi only worked periodically which was frustrating. Would only stay again if the price was right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very simply put, the bed is hard as a slab of stone...if you like that then you'll be fine...The breakfast room is on the 3rd floor and you had better get there early, or else its dry toast and left over yogurt Not typical for this chain...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

I was sorry to read that you did not like our beds, nor our breakfast. Mattresses are a matter of personal preference. Our mattresses are a Westbury Plus by Simmons. Some guest like them so much, they have asked us to order them one for their homes. Our breakfast room is located on the 3rd floor. This large comfortable room... More

New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Although the hotel was quiet and staff pleasant, we found pizza in the frig and water in the tub. The rest of the room was clean. We called the front desk about the air conditioner not working. They told us the thermostat on the wall would manage the air conditioning. There wasn't a thermostat. I should have persisted but didn't.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stuarttbay, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry about the food in the fridge. We had a new employee that did not check/clean the fridge as she had been instructed to do, and we did not catch the error. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, and steps have been taken to ensure that a re-occurrence will not happen. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn

Address: 655 West Arthur Street, Thunder Bay, Ontario P7E 5R6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Thunder Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thunder Bay
Thunder Bay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn Thunder Bay, Ontario

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Thunder Bay with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style
#4 Business Hotel in Thunder Bay #5 Romantic Hotel in Thunder Bay
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located at the head of Lake Superior in Ontario, the BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn is determined to offer the best customer service for both business and leisure travelers. This Thunder Bay hotel offers convenient access to skiing and fishing as well as a variety of local shops and restaurants. The BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn offers 84 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms including suites and Business Plus rooms. Each room features cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access. This hotel features a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, free parking, an airport courtesy shuttle and a business centre. Small pets are welcome!The hotel has received a 3 Green Key Rating ... more   less 
Number of rooms
84

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Crossroads Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer