We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown

Hotel website
Hotel deals
390 Elgin Street South, Sudbury, Ontario P3B 1B1, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    16
    10
    13
See reviews for
36
12
8
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (107)
  • Mar-May only
    (33)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (38)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
Orangeville, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I have stayed here on at least 2 occasions over the last few years. My memory from both trips is a very comfortable bed, and a great night's sleep. I ate dinner on my most recent trip in the hotel Restaurant and found the service food value adequate. I would have gladly paid a little more for better quality food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New Liskeard, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

We like to visit science north and the location is great. The hot tub has been filled in which is sad but it has been gone for a while. Pool is okay although the additions on the hotel make the pool tricky to get to. There is noisy night life in the hotel near the bar end. Rooms are not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

checked i was quick, efficient and very friendly front desk staff. price was good, location was good onsite bar/lounge - great service onsite restaurant - great service old hotel. very clean though. some new amenities/decor. room had peeling paint in bathroom no fan in the room that functioned. i like fresh air ay night. other than that great stay! best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. You have made our day a little bit brighter! We look forward o seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards, Troy Rainville General Manager More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
594 reviews 594 reviews
50 hotel reviews
515 helpful votes 515 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

The Quality Inn and Conference Centre Downtown Sudbury was a pretty decent hotel. Though it was a tad pricey, apparently Sudbury is a "hub", which makes for pricier hotels. Located downtown Sudbury, the Quality Inn was indeed a pleasant surprise. The rooms were very clean, the beds were very comfortable, though the shower pressure was on the weak side. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your fantastic review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. Have a wonderful day! Sincerely, Troy Rainville General Manager More 

Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

This place is old. Had heat cranked in room, but it was cold. Wind just blows right through the ancient windows. The worst part is the noise. Walls are paper thin. All you can hear are doors slamming all night. If someone pops out a fart in the next room, you're sure to hear it. Beds were comfortable. Food in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the noise from other guests. I am not sure if you contacted our Front Desk as we have staff on 24 hours a day that would be able to deal with such concerns for you. Nonetheless you should expect to have a comfortable stay... More 

Bracebridge, ON. Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

We just returned from Sudbury after watching our grandson play in a hockey tournament. There were several hockey teams staying at the Quality Inn on Elgin St., but I have to tell you, you'd never know it. I thought I had booked a room with two queens but I made some kind of error & we got a room with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Linnie15, thank you very much for the great review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having your return again in the near future! I hope you have a fantastic day! Sincerely, Troy Rainville General Manager More 

Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2014

I've stayed here twice before while visiting Sudbury. The hotel is centrally located in downtown Sudbury, close to the Sudbury arena, train station, and the numerous other amenities downtown. If you face the train tracks on the west side of the building, you will hear the trains at night, which can be annoying. The rooms could also use a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Andrew, Thank you for the nice review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate that you have been a regular guest of ours. You mentioned your window did not have a screen, we will have that looked into and replaced immediately. If I can ever be of assistance with making your reservations or have any issues please feel free to contact me... More 

Odessa, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Friendly staff; we needed a few more pillows and they rounded them up quick :) The train is near by and surprisingly once inside the hotel I didn't notice them. I was a bit disappointed that breakfast wasn't included ( even continental basics) - was informed the next morning that it was extra. Bed was nice and shower was decent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Odessa, Thank you ! We appreciate the time you took out of your day to give us a nice review. We look forward to having you stay with us again! See you soon! Sincerely, Troy Rainville General Manager More 

Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

This place needs to get its decor up to the 21st century. Although somewhat clean, the sink was full of cracks, the AC unit was actually melted on the front grill and the curtain was broken off a couple of hooks. The upside was the friendly and attentive staff. The area is kind of suspect and I questioned wether our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate getting your feedback and I am disappointed that we did not live up to your expectations. There is no excuse for your room not being to the standard that you deserve and should expect. We would love another opportunity to have you stay with... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

PROS: Location is great, restaurant is onsite and serve decent food, quiet, VERY clean, great front desk staff. CONS: Room extremely outdated, Room Service took 45 minutes after advising it would be 15 mins, parking is awkward on multiple hills and dangerous walking down to hotel in the rain. Overall, had an OK experience. We requested rooms on Main Floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Troyrainville, General Manager at Quality Inn & Conference Centre Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Stephan, Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that overall your experience was positive. I am disappointed to hear that our room service didn't meet your expectations. This critical feedback will be passed along to the restaurant owners so that they may follow up and make improvements. Our goal is to have you enjoy your stay... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

35 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question