We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Stone Mill Inn

3.5 of 5 271 Merritt Street, St. Catharines, Ontario L2T 1K1, Canada
Hotel website
Offers & Announcements
Free Suite Upgrade
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stone Mill Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Stone Mill Inn
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
8
19
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (17)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (11)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (5)
All months
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, staff leaves at 5:00 pm on weekends. Pretty strange to be left on your own to check in. Room was nice, but very hard to locate as hallways are winding and you have to go through doorways that are not clearly marked. Towels in the bathroom are very scratchy and minimum amounts. One face cloth, one hand towel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but I would like to claify a few things about your recent stay. When you had reserved your room, our online partners have put into the hotel description about the Stone Mill Inn having limited office hours, also when you recieved your email confirmation we reinstate this note of our limited office hours and request... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

I stayed at the Stone Mill Inn for a wedding in August 2014. The room was large, beautiful and clean. Unfortunately, this was all greatly diminished by the fact that they have no staff on duty overnight, so if anything goes wrong, you are on your own. When I returned from the wedding, I arrived at my room to find... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are sorry that your experience to the Stone Mill Inn was not as pleasant as it should have been. We do have security on staff when there is weddings until after midnight to ensure guest saftey. Unfortuantley on the evening that you stayed, the hotel had a silent alarm that sounded and contacted 911... More

Toronto ON
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed here back in August in a King bed Jacuzzi Suite. The room was very spacious as are the King bed rooms, which we have previously stayed in. Check in was easy. The room was well appointed and had a mini fridge, microwave, sink and counter for use. The room had a couch, desk area and high top table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, Staff at the Stone Mill Inn appreciate hearing that their efforts were enjoyed and we look forward to continuing the quality of service you recieved for any future visits you may have to Niagara. Sincerley, Hotel Manager More

Ontario,Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My spouse and I stayed at the Inn on Labour Day for a romantic getaway. We had pre-purchased a promotion for a King suite. We were booked into a gorgeous corner room. Any contact we had with staff in making the reservation, checking in and out was friendly and helpful. We are always impressed by the repurposing and restoration of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your superb review, The owner of the property does appreciate how the guests here of the Stone Mill Inn enjoy the effort and expense he spent on restoring this historical building back to the original beauty it once was. All the staff also thank you for sincere comments and we hope that for future stays here in... More

Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

I chose this place because it had a groupon offer and looked like a fantastic deal online. We booked with another couple and could not have been happier with our entire experience. The check in went really smoothly and we were given some great recommendations for breakfast the next day (Lester D's was cool). Wine was chilled in the refrigerator... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The staff here at the Stone Mill Inn appreciate your comments and strive to ensure all guests receive quality service from arrival to departure. We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed your Groupon packages and hope that when you travel to Niagara in the future we may continue to show to hospitality excellence... More

Washington County, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

I was looking for a place to stop in St. Catherine's after a long day of driving. The Hilton Garden Inn I tried was sold out, but when I asked about other places in the area I was told "go straight for 7 minutes on this road and you will find Stone Mill Inn." I considered getting back on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful review. The staff here at the Stone Mill Inn appreciate your comments and we are happy that we could accommodate you for your visit here to Niagara. We look forward to welcoming you back when you happen to be in Niagara for your future visits. Sincerely, Hotel Manager More

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Absolutely the best boutique hotel we have ever stayed at. We spent several weeks planning our trip to Niagara. We were fortunate enough to stumble across this amazing small hotel. The lobby takes your breath away. The staff was very very nice. Clean Clean Clean!!! We were held by traffic and customs coming into Canada. We were having one of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manager-SMI, General Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Brian for your review about your stay here with us at the Stone Mill Inn. The staff here at the Stone Mill Inn takes pride ensuring the experience from your arrival to the quality of our guest rooms and common areas is at the best standards possible for our Boutique hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are looking... More

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was a very nice hotel to stay in. The rooms are huge! We stayed in a Jacuzzi Suite on the third floor. Very quiet on our floor. It was a little different as far as staffing. They were gone by 10 pm. That only mattered to us because we got lost coming back from the falls and couldn't connect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Denise, We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Stone Mill Inn. Yes we are a bit different being a boutique hotel with our limited staffing hours, sorry that you were unable to connect with staff to get directions back to the hotel from Niagara Falls, hopefully it was not... More

St. Catharines, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is not run according to the standards required. It is a family run business and they make decisions on what suits them not what is customer friendly. They actually asked us to vacate the room due to a conflict between the owner and the administration person. Very unprofessional and not reliable, not recommended if you are looking for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, but it is not exactly correct, you were not evicted but informed not allowed to extend beyond the original departure date due to the information when you made the reservation for your cousin to stay the week, we informed you that this hotel was not pet friendly. When your cousin came to check into the... More

Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I grew up in Merritton two blocks from what is now the Inn. It was great to be back in the area to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. The location is great - close to Highway 406, Glendale Avenue and QEW for access to many local attractions. When I grew up in the area, the building was a paper mill.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Manager-SMI, Manager at Stone Mill Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to upgrade your room complimentary and to hear of what the area was like when you were growing up. There have been a lot of changes in Merritton, and we look forward to any friends and family you recommended us to so we can ensure they enjoy the same quality of... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Stone Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mill Inn

Address: 271 Merritt Street, St. Catharines, Ontario L2T 1K1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > St. Catharines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Stone Mill Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Stone Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Mill Inn St. Catharines, Ontario

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Other (17)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay