We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines

Hotel website
Hotel virtual tour
420 Ontario Street | Queen Elizabeth Hwy Exit 47, St. Catharines, Ontario L2R 5M1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge St. Catharines)
2 people have started booking this hotel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Abbotsford, British Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed in this Inn a few times already, each time for a whole week. Coming from BC and having to spend lots of money in plane tickets, rental car and restaurants over Christmas time, we have to be very careful how we spend our money. We usually stay in hotels Best Western-Marriot style, but we do... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank martah933
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2015

Booked this hotel for a business stay. Was quoted a price on the phone, when I arrived at the hotel the price that I had previously been quoted had gone up. Talked to the manager and explained the situation. Arrived at the hotel with 4 ppl for two rooms at 11pm at night, the manager Manny was extremely rude, I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Kevin for your feedback. I will clarify to you again what I have already explained numerous times. Kevin you phoned in stating you work for a water filtration sales company and your team were in the area. You stated you needed the rooms for a week or longer depending on the results of the sales. I quoted you... More 

Travelers are raving about these St. Catharines hotels

Richmond Hill
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2015

The staff seemed to be preoccupied with surfing the Internet, checking Facebook and watching a hockey game before attending customers. The room did not have any toiletries or coffeemakers and also stained linens. I understand it was a bargain price but the room is under maintained.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Christopher for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am shocked to hear you found staff on Facebook as we have all gaming and social media websites blocked on all property management computers. At times when major games are being played we often have them playing on our lobby television for our guests so they don't miss the game.... More 

St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2015

I stayed there in mid Sept, 2015. I was told I had to leave a $100 deposit because I had no picture I.D. After three nights I made a special deal with the manager, Manny I believe. I was $60 short paying him that evening, ATM problems, and I requested he use some of my deposit. He told me he... More 

Helpful?
Thank joe b
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Joe B for your views on TripAdvisor. Joe we have been through this issue 3-4 times now and I will again clarify your misunderstandings. When you came in September and stayed you did leave a $100.00 security deposit with us just like every guest does. Due to your unfortunate circumstances and vehicle problems I personally decided to give... More 

Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

It took us a while to find this hotel because it is located BEHIND a used car business and the driveway is located between the used car place and the QEW on-ramp. Parking lot could be a little better lit at night. My room was mostly cleaned (bed had fresh sheets and fridge was clean, but there was dust in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lis150
Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2015

Dark, rough parking lot, hard by the QEW so noisy if not on the south side of the building. Room was ice cold, then boiling hot. Cold air flows in if the unit is turned off. Dated sheet set, pillows very thing, mattress uncomfortable. Front desk check in was very pleasant and helpful. Even as a discount hotel left much... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul B
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Paul B for your feedback. As many of our guests have stated before our front desk is always very pleasant and helpful. We try and go above and beyond our guests expectations. I apologize when you came in it was a bit dark. Our lights are on a timer and as the days grow smaller the timer needed... More 

Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

We were going to Niagara Falls and we were looking for a cost effective hotel. I have stayed in hotels at Niagara and they are not the best but my advice is book any of them there, at least you are closer. I was happy when found this place because the pictures look great and for less money than I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Luisa G
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Luisa for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I apologize that you found your room too hot. In the winter months we like to have the rooms warm and cozy for our guests as temperatures in Canada do get very cold. Many guests appreciate that they are warm and can jump into bed without having to wait hours to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2015

I stayed here October 2015. My mens hockey team had a tournament in St Catherine's and on of my team mates found this place. To sum it up... "What a dump" The room smelled of damp, mold. Carpet was stained. The have 'painted the counter top around the sink... and the paint is peeling off. The first room they gave... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

Where do I start, We chose this location as a cost effective way to stay close to family. When we checked in (which was at 10:30pm), we we're greeted by an out of date musty smelling front office. Once we got to our room we opened the door to a room that had yet to be cleaned. The bed was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank ShawnL L
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Hello ShawnL L, I would like to thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I have taken the time to read your review and also the notes left by the front desk clerk. Shawn you checked in at 10:30 pm and by mistake were given the keys to a "dirty" room. Housekeeping was unable to finish cleaning all rooms... More 

Tecumseh, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

The room was not at all cheap but because we were attending a wedding we had to book early and this hotel was on the list. The pictures on the website look lovely but the room we had was awful. Not recommended.

Helpful?
3 Thank Jim and Ann D
MannyGrewal1, Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn - St. Catharines, responded to this review

Thank you Jim And Ann D for your feedback on Trip Advisor. I had a chance to take a look at your registration and notes left on the website. I understand your biggest concern was that the room was not cheap Jim/Ann. What I would like you to know is you were charged roughly $150 CDN for a Saturday night... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

49 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Catharines
Capri Inn
#1 of 7 in St. Catharines
4.5 of 5 stars 352 reviews
York - Haig
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites St. Catharines Conference Centre
York - Haig
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn St Catharines Niagara
#4 of 7 in St. Catharines
3.5 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Hilton Garden Inn Niagara-on-the...
#12 of 15 in Niagara-on-the-Lake
4.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay