We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadian Motor Hotel

410 Pim St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B2V1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Canadian Motor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    0
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
1
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (9)
  • Mar-May only
    (0)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (5)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (3)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I will never again stay in this stink hole ..was taking a shower and this creapy old man walked in my room with out knocking guess he was the owner ..and the hit water sucked and it stinks in the room and the hallway

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience with us. The hotel was experiencing water problems and the owner was checking to see which rooms were affected, he knocked but you probably couldn't hear because you were in the shower. We apologize the situation could have been handled better, and will be handled better in the future. More 

Alliston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Room had badly stained carpeting and reaked of dog pee. Asked to switch rooms. Smelled better but did not feel very clean. Sheets were stained. Bed spread had a cigarette burn. TV was a joke. Very poor reception and only one channel. Lightning fast internet. Locks on doors very stiff and difficult to engage deadbolt to ensure night time security.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry you had a negative experience. All of our rooms have Shaw cable I'm not sure if there was something wrong with the hook up in your room or if the tv was not set to channel 3, if you called the front desk about it we would have been happy to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Ive stayed at The Canadian two separate times. Both times we had great service. Showed up in the middle of the night both times and were helped right away. Rooms were decent, organizes. A little bit gloomy. Very loud fan in the bathroom. Nice tub and shower though. Went to the bar at about midnight, it was kinda dead. With... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the Review and thank you for staying with us. Sorry about the ash tray they should be in all the smoking rooms, if not let front desk know and they will be happy to track one down. More 

Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Room had a funky smell. Towels had black smudges. Restaurant is par at best. Service was ok no complaints whatsoever about that. The location is decent. The cleanliness really turned me off. After I saw the towels I was every nervous to sleep in the bed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. and thank you for the complement on our service. I'm sorry the towels in your room had smudges on them our policy on towels and linens is to remove them from use if there are marks of any kind on them after washing. More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week in July 2013. The room had a odour, which I overlooked due to the price. The room had 2 double sized beds which had no issues. The cleaning staff did not believe in knocking on the door prior to entering at 8am, so I had to leave my lock on. Of course... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Calgary
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were quite worried when we pulled up to this motel as it looked pretty rough, but the lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful and check-in was painless. The room had a bit of a damp smell to it, but despite what we were expecting from initial impressions, it was actually spotlessly clean. The beds were ok and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Thunder Bay
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

Bargain hotel, $86 with tax Sunday night. Fairly clean. Stained carpet and bathroom could use a good scrub. Two double beds. Large fridge. Sink in bathroom and in sleeping area. Desk and chest of drawers. Tiny television. Friendly innkeeper. Free coffee in lobby in morning. Restaurant open from 6:30 am to 1:00 am. Interior and exterior entrances. Sound carries from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Traverse City, MI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

Excellent motel for value, customer service, and quality. I was stranded in SSM recently due to car trouble, which resulted in a 3 night stay at Knights Inn. Not only were the rooms very reasonable, exceptionally clean, and spacious, their customer service was of the highest level. This is not a "fancy" motel, but I felt safe and comfortable. My... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
dayshift, front desk manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Hello from Sault Ste. Marie, I would like to thank you very much for your comments also heres hoping your engine lasts you for a while. Glad you got home safe. Bring your hubby up to visit sometime, we would love to see you enjoy your time in Sault Ste. Marie your next visit. More 

Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

I got basically what I expected given what I paid for the room. It was very basic, not very big but clean and quite. If you're just passing though town and need a quiet, clean place to spend night, the Knights Inn does the job. Location wise, it wasn't bad, lots of nearby grocery stores and restaurants. Staff there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question