We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canadian Motor Hotel

410 Pim St, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6B2V1, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Canadian Motor Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Gore Bay, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2015

The room was clean, bed was comfortable. Professional friendly front desk staff; nice bar/lounge, friendly service. Good location for shopping and amenities. Basically good for budget stay; felt safe there as single female traveller.

Helpful?
Thank Stacy T
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015 via mobile

Friendly desk staff however not so great of a stay.Terrible air quality. Stains on bed and carpet. No lighting in parking area. Cigarette burns on sheets. Trouble breathing in the morning. Would not recommend at the price it cost to stay there.

Helpful?
Thank LD D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2015 via mobile

I had a very nice stay in a comfortable room. The bed was cozy and linens were clean. Everything seemed to be clean. It's an older hotel so it def shows its age a bit but overall I was happy with my stay. I also enjoyed a nice breakfast in the restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tori A
Ernest S, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much Tori for your kind review/words. We look forward to seeing you again and we are continuing are to improve every aspect of our property and customer service. Ernest S Front Desk Manager More 

Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2015 via mobile

Couch is comfy hoping staff knew I was only joking with them when we checked in. My fiance knew the people who checked us in . We had a big room and it was quiet check in was quick and we would stay here again. Close to stores and mall . Nice place to stay

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I will never again stay in this stink hole ..was taking a shower and this creapy old man walked in my room with out knocking guess he was the owner ..and the hit water sucked and it stinks in the room and the hallway

Helpful?
1 Thank gdaddy1984
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had an unpleasant experience with us. The hotel was experiencing water problems and the owner was checking to see which rooms were affected, he knocked but you probably couldn't hear because you were in the shower. We apologize the situation could have been handled better, and will be handled better in the future. More 

Alliston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Room had badly stained carpeting and reaked of dog pee. Asked to switch rooms. Smelled better but did not feel very clean. Sheets were stained. Bed spread had a cigarette burn. TV was a joke. Very poor reception and only one channel. Lightning fast internet. Locks on doors very stiff and difficult to engage deadbolt to ensure night time security.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Slachie
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I'm sorry you had a negative experience. All of our rooms have Shaw cable I'm not sure if there was something wrong with the hook up in your room or if the tv was not set to channel 3, if you called the front desk about it we would have been happy to... More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Ive stayed at The Canadian two separate times. Both times we had great service. Showed up in the middle of the night both times and were helped right away. Rooms were decent, organizes. A little bit gloomy. Very loud fan in the bathroom. Nice tub and shower though. Went to the bar at about midnight, it was kinda dead. With... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the Review and thank you for staying with us. Sorry about the ash tray they should be in all the smoking rooms, if not let front desk know and they will be happy to track one down. More 

Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Room had a funky smell. Towels had black smudges. Restaurant is par at best. Service was ok no complaints whatsoever about that. The location is decent. The cleanliness really turned me off. After I saw the towels I was every nervous to sleep in the bed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
Will L, Manager at Canadian Motor Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. and thank you for the complement on our service. I'm sorry the towels in your room had smudges on them our policy on towels and linens is to remove them from use if there are marks of any kind on them after washing. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week in July 2013. The room had a odour, which I overlooked due to the price. The room had 2 double sized beds which had no issues. The cleaning staff did not believe in knocking on the door prior to entering at 8am, so I had to leave my lock on. Of course... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank nd_review
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were quite worried when we pulled up to this motel as it looked pretty rough, but the lady on reception was extremely friendly and helpful and check-in was painless. The room had a bit of a damp smell to it, but despite what we were expecting from initial impressions, it was actually spotlessly clean. The beds were ok and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Caro37
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

3 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sault Ste. Marie hotels
1.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#10 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront Hotel and Conference Centre
Delta Sault Ste Marie Waterfront...
#7 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Marie
Days Inn & Suites Sault Ste. Mar...
#8 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
Quality Inn & Suites Bay Front
#9 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bel Air Motel
Bel Air Motel
#20 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
Holiday Motel
#15 of 23 in Sault Ste. Marie
3.5 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay