We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sleep Inn

2.0 of 5 727 Bay St., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Special Offer
T.G.I. MIDWEEK
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sleep Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Sleep Inn
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    76
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
59
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (167)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

its not right on the highway, but worth a short trek into town. Check in was fast with a helpful dinner recommendation. At check out, the staff made an effort to find us a reasonably priced hotel for our next night. The room was spacious, clean and quiet. Price was the best in our 5 night trip. Breakfast was basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went to this hotel because of the price. It was the middle of the night and I was exhausted. I should have spent a little more money and gone somewhere else. When I checked in the guy seemed stoned out of his skull or just plain dumb. And when I checked out in the morning there was another guy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe D, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review

I am frankly shocked that you would fabricate a negative review of our hotel as a result of being charged for smoking in your room contrary to our no smoking policy. This policy was clearly outlined on the guest registration card that you signed on check-in. Additionally you supplied a $200 deposit without complaint. At check-out our staff inspected the... More 

Echo Bay
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Just spent one night. Quiet hotel in quiet part of the downtown. Close to everything you could possibly need. Friendly fast check in. Clean rooms. Getting a little out dated but still in great shape. I will stay again. Good quality for a good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe D, General Manager at Sleep Inn, responded to this review

Dear Aarebo, Thank you for your four star review on Trip Advisor. As stated the Sleep Inn is close to everything downtown, has very efficient staff and extremely clean rooms. This review states that it is getting a little outdated which is untrue because we did a complete renovation from top to bottom in 2012. Perhaps your stay was prior... More 

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

I travel throughout the U.S. and Canada. I must admit an ongoing preference for hotels in the Choice Hotel chain primarily because of the Choice Priviledges program which improves the rates. Commonly I would chose to stay at a Clarion or Comfort Inn for their upscale accommodation at a reasonable rate for a CARP / AARP member. I chose to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bristol
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We booked this hotel as part of a three day package to visit the Agawa Canyon by train. The hotel was in a really good location in downtown next to the waterfront and most of the museums (as part of the package there was a passport to visit the museums including a Bi plane museum). The room we booked had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

I have nothing but wonderful things to say about our stay at the Sleep Inn. My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this lovely motel. We had a long journey from Brampton and after 7 1/2 hours on the road, we really needed a good night sleep. We had a beautiful king size bed which I'm still thinking about!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

We stayed here for or trip to Agawa Canyon tour.. The place was very clean and the bedding was very comfortable. I would recommend staying here.It is a 5 min drive to the train depot and is very close to the river and locks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

On the long drive across Ontario, we accidentally found this hotel and recommend it highly to other travellers. It was away from the hotel row that abuts the TransCanada Highway in a very quiet downtown neighbourhood that gave a much better sense of the real Sault Ste. Marie. Bed was extremely comfortable. Location beside a park and the water was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cadillac, Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and gave some great area restaurant suggestions. Ashley was who we dealt with at the desk, very helpful. Talking with the locals usually gives you the best places to go. Great location if you are taking the Algoma train ride.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2014

We stayed here because it was dog friendly. The room was on the small side. It looked fairly new. The room only had a shower, no bath tub. The bed was comfortable and we all slept well but I wish Choice hotels would have a pillow that is made for a king bed not a throw cushion size. The breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Sleep Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn

Address: 727 Bay St., Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario P6A 6Y3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sault Ste. Marie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Sault Ste. Marie
Sleep Inn Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario
Sault Ste. Marie Sleep Inn
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie
#9 Business Hotel in Sault Ste. Marie

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay