We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Sarnia hotels

The Harbourfront Inn

505 Harbour Road, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5R8, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Harbourfront Inn to your Saves list
The Harbourfront Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Sarnia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013
GMSKelownaBCCanada Kelowna BC Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (43)
  • Photos (15)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (11)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
20
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here because of decent reviews and the fact that it was near the water. On pulling up in front I was not impressed at the overall look of the place, but it was typical of an older hotel, so I thought " It will probably be ok". Hmmm.. The girl at the registration desk was bright and friendly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in regards to your recent stay. Please accept our apology for the faulty shower/tub. Our maintenance department will investigate this thoroughly, as the majority of guests comment favourably on our water pressure. While we are very glad that you found our staff welcoming and your room clean it is understood that other issues got in... More

Saint Thomas, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had to get a room at the last minute and this one had one available. It was a busy weekend with a major hockey tournament going on so few rooms available anywhere in Sarnia - Port Huron area. The bathroom toilet was not clean, looked like someone had been sick. I went to get ice in the ice bucket and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

Dear LH My reply to your email (received by me, on January 21), along with my sincerest apologies, was sent to you on January 23. My apology for the delay. In that reply, I expressed my appreciation for you contacting us directly, thus allowing us the opportunity to assess and take immediate action. You stated in your email that... "I... More

Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed overnight at the Harbourfront Inn, and have to wonder whether the other reviewers actually stayed at the same hotel. While the staff were reasonably pleasant, they have a long way to go by way of improving their customer relations. The hotel is very dated, though fairly clean, and the rooms of a good size. However the mattress must have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

We are very disappointed that your stay with us was unsatisfactory and apologize for any inconvenience. The majority of our reviewers have consistently mentioned our friendly and helpful staff, so with this in mind, it is essential that we examine the lapse in service. As it is a bit unclear as to which issues were immediately reported to the staff,... More

Kelowna BC Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions over the last 5 years, and the experience this year was very pleasant, as usual. The location on the river offers a closeup taste of the Seaway commerce - a large grain carrier was being loaded at the elevators next door, which we found interesting. Lots of restaurants close by, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to the Harbourfront Inn. Repeat business, such as yours, is invaluable. We truly appreciate your kind review. Your description of our "unique" location is perfect! Interesting views, parks, food and Casino...we are well placed and able to offer something for everyone. Our objective is to continually provide the type of service that meets with our... More

Kankakee, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We chose this place because of the location - we wanted to be able to walk along the waterfront and explore a little. We found it very pleasant. Some of the nearby park area was fenced off but there was still lots of walkway that led to downtown and a nice park area. Our favorite feature in the park was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

It is very nice to know that you took full advantage of all aspects of our location. We are perfectly situated for all who enjoy walking and biking as well. So glad that you discovered the scale model of the Great Lakes! We sincerely appreciate your comments and thank you for taking the time to post them. We look forward... More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The Harbourfront Inn impressed us on several fronts. The staff was very friendly. Although the rooms are a little dated, the bed and pillows were clean and comfortable and the air conditioner worked well and wasn't too noisy. We found our room on the ground level to be very quiet. Overall the room was clean. We did, however, have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

We deeply regret that the bathtub in your room was not properly cleaned and offer you our sincerest apology. There are no excuses for this oversight. The situation has been discussed with the entire housekeeping staff. All have been reminded that extra effort and attention to detail must always apply and never more so than when cleaning a bathroom. While... More

Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were traveling to the US and wanted a close by hotel near the border and this hotel serves its purpose. The staff were nice and very helpful. The room was nice and clean, the bed was nice. Breakfast was standard, coffee/tea/fruit, cereal; nothing special. During our breakfast we met with a couple who filed for complaint to the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

As you have pointed out, we are well positioned for those traveling to and from the US. Many guests have remarked on the convenience of being only minutes away from the Bluewater Bridge crossing. It please us to know that you were satisfied with our location and our service. In reference to the complaint filed, about the cats in the... More

Langley City, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a long stay at the Harbourfront Inn while visiting a relative in hospital. The Harbourfront has a great location, the room was good and breakfast was fine for us. What really impressed us was how helpful and friendly the staff were as we dealt with a lot of uncertainty in our family situation. We would highly recommend the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

It was our privilege to be of service to you during such a stressful time. The comfort and well being of our guests, has long been the "heart" of the Harbourfront Inn. Our helpful staff were pleased to extend, to you, any extra attention that you required. We hope that your family situation resolved itself in a positive manor and... More

Acton , Ontario
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Place is clean, very nice location. Within 5 minutes of anything you want. Not sure the complaint on elevators since it has two levels, that's it, if you can't do 10 steps stay on the main floor. Air conditioning worked like a charm, beds are firm, big fluffy pillows. Coffee maker in room. Would stay here again without a doubt.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

Our sincere thanks to you for sharing your experience at the Harbourfront Inn. It is nice to know that our central location and satisfactory ammenities served you well. That we are right next door to two restaurants, is certainly an added convienience for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again on your next stop in the Sarnia area. More

Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This inn does not represent itself correctly. Out of all my travels across the globe the worst. No elevator ..they said they have a water front room to let. Yes waterfront with a mill view and a dirty harbor. Not a good place to stay if you are on your way into Canada. Better to stay at Port Huron and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
dseller, Manager at The Harbourfront Inn, responded to this review

As our name suggests, we are a harbour locale. We deeply regret that it prevented you from enjoying your stay. Countless guests have enjoyed the sight of a ship manuvering its way into the harbour in order to dock at the grain mill; it is a unique sight. Our water view rooms do look out onto the harbour and beyond,... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Harbourfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Harbourfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbourfront Inn

Address: 505 Harbour Road, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 5R8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Harbourfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
Harbourfront Hotel Sarnia
The Harbourfront Inn Sarnia, Ontario

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
102

See which rooms travelers prefer