We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn

#2 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1400 Venetian Boulevard, Sarnia, Ontario N7T 7W6, Canada
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    86
    69
    27
    5
    5
See reviews for
42
48
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (192)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (70)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (47)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Detroit, Michigan USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed one night, but everything was perfect. Room was clean and spacious, had a frig that I needed for medications, nice towels, bottled water, free Wi-Fi. What more could we ask for? We really wanted to use the pool, but weather was awful. We did go out there tho, and pool is very large, and has a lovely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us. It sounded like you had time to enjoy our entire full service hotel and what we offer to each guest. It is the Best Western culture that staff show they care. I'm glad you had the chance to see just what we are all about. We hope you visit... More 

Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While there is nothing specifically unique about this hotel, it is defenitely laid out well, conveniently located, well appointed, very clean, and comfortable. The restaurant had good food at reasonable prices. Breakfast included in the room price. The room was nicely appointed, modern, very clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Jon, for recognizing our clean and well maintained hotel. The pride and care that goes into the day to day operations and renovations of a hotel takes quite a bit of effort from all our staff. I will share your comments with my staff! Thank you Mary-Lynn Kohut More 

Marlborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice hotel but not really any different than a regular Best Western even though this was called a BW Plus. Bigger tv maybe and nice tile in the front lobby but I don't care about that. Oddly, the Marina wing we stayed in did not have elevator access to the second floor...not sure how this is legal nowadays. Also strange,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time, Jake, to tell us how you feel about our hotel. We take great pride in our property and the owner has been very mindful of what our guests are looking for in regards to upgrading. In the last few years alone we have renovated the bathrooms adding new granite counter tops, flooring, hair dryers... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms need renovation, hotel is old and only the lobby was updated with new carpet and pod lighting. The rooms smelled moldy, the carpet and bathrooms need to be replaced, not to mention an exhaust fan. Only the TV's and some light fixtures were replaced. The beds were comfy and the hotel is in a great location.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

I appreciate your review and I am so sorry to hear of your displeasure in regards to our decorl. All of us here strive to deliver a positive experience and are constantly working at improving our hotel. We have recently received a Directors Award through Best Western as a result of our renovations and excellence in all areas with regards... More 

Riverside, California
Level Contributor
733 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn is located near the bridge from Canada to the United states. This is a well maintained hotel with average size rooms. The staff are very friendly and willingly offer directions to local attractions and restaurants. This was a very quiet hotel. Provided much need rest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arriving , everyone at this Hotel was pleasant. Great value and location. Free Breakfast was a plus .... Meeting/Conference room was good and very accommodating. The staff looking after the conference room were friendly and helpful. I would recommend staying at this Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Wow, thank you, Brian, for your positive comments! It sounded like you enjoyed all our services that we offered you. This is what we love to hear! I will pass on your comments to my staff. We look forward to your next visit! Warmest regards, Mary-Lynn Kohut/GM More 

Brantford, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

crappy internet, air conditioner that didn't work right and the rudest restaurant staff with cold eggs.....find somewhere else to stay. The only good thing is the location. Bed looked good but was way too soft.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for respnding to our survey, Laura. I was surprised to hear you had a less than satisfactory stay with us. It is our goal to ensure all of our guest's enjoy their visit. I apologize for the experience and would like the opportunity to speak to you in person at your convenienc. Mary-Lynn Kohut More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Easy location right beside the bridge to the US. Very quiet and comfortable hotel with clean rooms. Staff was very pleasant. Pool was clean and fairly large size. It is only 2 stories with many of the rooms on 1st level having direct access to outside. There are no elevators though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you, Marta, for sharing your experience with us! It sounded like you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to your comments about not having an elevator. We have a brand new elevator just down from the lobby, for your convenience. We hope you choose the Best Western when coming again to Sarnia. Regards, Mary-Lynn Kohut More 

Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Have stayed here many times over the last 40 years and have seen the improvements and updates done in a timely manner. The staff are GREAT at making you feel welcome and although it is not a new hotel it is very clean and well maintained. The restaurant has great food, is reasonably priced and has fast, friendly service. Yes,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Front desk staff unable to rectify dangerous wet floor in public/hall washroom. Wheelchair size washroom stall has no hand/grab rails! Parking is adequate. Banquet food was good. Front desk staff/management ignored guests walking around halls and lobby drinking from beer bottles etc. Why would hotel staff ignore groups of drinkers gathered under the front entrance canopy? Is drinking like this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mary-Lynn K, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Guildwood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you James, for your honest feedback. I have taken the appropriate measures to ensure our leaders understand fully the severity of the public display of drinking. I must say that I am surprised to hear this information as we have several Managers on property for all functions we hold here. I take this information seriously and have addressed it... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

41 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sarnia
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sarnia Hotel & Conf Center
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn Sarnia
Quality Inn Sarnia
#1 of 15 in Sarnia
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harbourfront Inn
The Harbourfront Inn
#6 of 15 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 15 in Sarnia
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
0.8 mi away
Drawbridge Inn
Drawbridge Inn
#11 of 15 in Sarnia
3.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay