We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Sarnia hotels

Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T-7H2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Sarnia
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012
bjkain2003 windsor ontario canada
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    27
    21
    14
    14
See reviews for
24
18
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (97)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (17)
All months
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
See the most recent reviews
windsor ontario canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

It was a cold snowy wintry night and didn't want to head out to my destination, so at last minute decided to stay overnight.Got a room immediately (even though there was a youth hockey team booked here) The room was warm and cozy as soon as I entered it---a welcome relief from -20c outside.. Hotel is fairly new-clean, warm, well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for a night in Canada Day weekend. We arrived late in the night with no reservation, and the receptionist was very kind to us. The room was nice, spacious, cleans linen and bathroom. Breakfast was included in the room fare, you could make your own waffles or choose cereal, yogurt and some other things, although the place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you for the very nice review on Tripadvisor. We take great pride in our outstanding staff and our beautiful hotel. We are so happy to have had the privilege to share it with you on the Canada Day weekend. I hope that you found time to enjoy some of the exciting Canada Day festivities in our wonderful city during... More 

London, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

By far the worst stay in a hotel. Smelled like smoke, bugs in corner of walls and floors, dead bug on bed, dirty sock under mattress. Had a stain on our comforter just overall really gross. We all slept with clothings and hoodies on. Not fun. Told no other rooms and can't get a refund due to booking through a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
London Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Location was great for the Slots Casino and nearby attractions but a substandard hotel. The night staff was fantastic but the management I saw handled everything very poorly. First thing to know is the rooms are TINY. No chair, no table, a child size bathroom and people smoking and hanging around right outside your room. 1. Everything was unplugged when... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
london,ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We just stayed here to go to the Hiawatha bash. Well when we arrived we were so happy because the venue was right behind this hotel, along with the casino. There were go kart's to rent, driving range and 2 minutes down the road there was a water park. As a true Canadian I was so over joyed to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are so delighted to hear that you had an amazing time during your stay and you found our location to be everything that you were looking for. We are very sorry that we missed you at our restaurant. The hours are 6:30am-10pm. We hope to see you again.... More 

Dildo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed for just one night,it was a very quiet hotel, comfy bed (good pillowtop)and clean. They offer a free breakfast, we just grabbed a breakfast bar, but they did have make your own waffles. It's a basic motel, but I would stay there again if I was visiting Sarnia again. A nicest things about the room was that it did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you Oxygenator for the very nice review you did for us on Tripadvisor. We are all very delighted to hear that you had a quiet and restful stay while visiting our beautiful city. The next time you stay with us you will find that our continental breakfast location has moved to our onsite restaurant. It now has many more... More 

Toronto
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Pulling into the parking lot, which is in very sad need of paving, and looking at the outer shell of the building I wondered what the heck we were in for. If you look close you will know what I mean. I have to agree with other reviewers. Our room was renovated, a comfortable king sized bed. Nice bedding and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you Tuesdaysgone for your honest review. We appreciate your perspective as this helps us to improve our facility to better meet each of our guests needs. We immediately looked into all emergency doors and I can assure you this is uncommon and occurred due to humidity level in the exterior stairwell during the big heat spell we recently had.... More 

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I booked the Howard Johnson through Expedia for a family reunion in Petrolia. I chose the hotel because I had read that it had been renovated, the pictures looked nice, and the rate seemed to imply a middle of the road hotel ($110 on sale for $80). We arrived a day early and were able to add a night. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you Karanowski78 for your review of our hotel. We take great pride in our facility and all of our staff. I am happy to hear that you found both very nice. I am disappointed that your stay was not everything that you had expected. I apologize that you didn’t know in advance that 1/5 of our hotel guest rooms... More 

Calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My sister and I were in Sarnia for my mother's birthday. She lives in a retirement residence and all of the guest rooms were booked so we had to find a hotel. In Sarnia that is a rather scary exercise. We looked at the reviews and chose the HOJO on London Line. We were very happy with our stay. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you Diane for this wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We are honoured that you chose to stay with us during your visit to Sarnia. It was so nice to meet you and your sister and we are so happy that you were able to make it here for your mom's birthday celebration. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the ambience... More 

Aylmer, Ontario
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

As a sales consultant who is away on business frequently and very reliant on safe, clean and comfortable lodging, I was incredibly impressed with this hotel. From the moment I announced myself at the front desk, I was made to feel special. The very competent and friendly staff certainly do go out of their way to accomodate your every request... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoSarnia, Guest Relations Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thank you so much Nancy! I am actually a bit choked up doing this response and surprisingly having quite a loss for words. We all miss you!! It has been so nice to meet you and get to know you. We have been so honored that you chose to stay with us and it truly has been our privilege. Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

Address: 1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T-7H2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Sarnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Hotel Sarnia
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia Ontario

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay