We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
1716 London Line, Sarnia, Ontario N7T-7H2, Canada
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Sarnia
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
KENNETHBMission Mission
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    26
    16
    16
See reviews for
27
22
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (110)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (35)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (21)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We honestly weren't expecting much, but this hotel under-delivered. It is tired beyond belief, and so rough around the edges. The bedding felt clean, thank you! But the towels were old, and with only two hand towels and two bath towels, not enough. Despite being non smoking, it stinks of smoke. Listen, I am a frequent traveler, and not unreasonable,... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoSarnia, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for spending your time to give us a feedback. Sorry about that you smelled smoke. On our registration card it says non-smoking hotel and we also mention it to our loyal guests at check-in but you know sometimes they smoke do use air freshener to clean the air. Kind Regards for your inputs, Management More 

Travelers are raving about these Sarnia hotels

Dundas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Howard Johnson's Motel was very welcoming and comfortable. The desk staff were polite and helpful. The room was small but clean and very comfortable. Seemed to be very quiet even though it was full. Nick's Restaurant is next door and serves very good food at very reasonable prices. The hotel does not have a breakfast but Nick's Restaurant, which... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff, Nick's restaurant and surrounding areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Sarnia! Best Regards, Management More 

Toronto, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Not terrible by any means, I've been in worse, and I really appreciate being pet friendly. But the property is a bit run down. Fixtures in the bathroom were rust covered, and the layout of the room was a bit haphazard, with the fridge and microwave at the end of the bed where you'd expect the TV to be. Low... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments on tripadvisor. I am sorry about you got non-renovated room because there was nothing else available at that time. We are trying to renovate all the rooms but it will take some time. Thanks again for your inputs, Management More 

Chatham, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

this was a stay that coincided with a wedding across the street..... we had 6 rooms and we all had a goo clean room at a reasonable rate.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear guest! Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure for us having you and your family / friends as our guest and we are looking forward to welcome you again! Management More 

Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

We stayed as a hockey team recently in Sarnia. Due to every other hotel being booked solid we were "fit in" at the Hojo. The manager was pleasant to deal with and very friendly when we arrived. We were able to check in early which was great. Our room was large, had a great bed, pull out couch and fridge... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoSarnia, Owner at Howard Johnson Inn Sarnia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I appreciate your detailed positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. I like your idea of white color and I will keep in mind for my next renovation. That room have light yellow color and most of our guests love that color with the combination... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities