We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Peterborough B&Bs / inns

King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa

270 King Street, Peterborough, Ontario K9J S2S, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa to your Saves list
King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
66%
Ranked #11 of 19 Peterborough B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013
pastywhitecanadian Kitchener
  • Reviews (12)
  • Photos (4)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (3)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I were looking for an interesting place to stay in Peterborough for a "date night". When we found the King Bethune House, we knew it was the right place for us. We have been hooked on B&B's since our honeymoon in Newfoundland, and to this day prefer to stay in historic homes with rich character as opposed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
mexico
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were going to visit our son who just graduated at Trent University. We wanted to be close to his home and near downtown, so we decided that instead of going to a regular hotel we wanted to try the bed and breakfast experience which we did. King Bethune is very well situated, a couple of blocks away from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely room, beautiful bathroom. This is century home, beautifully maintained. I enjoyed the fact that I could walk downtown, Peterborough appears very safe. The owner " hostess" is very attentive to the guests needs. A few words to describe her, nurturing , pleasant, very worldly. I can not say enough about the homemade breakfasts, served whenever you like. Hostess even... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is in response to the owner's reply to my review:As a previous owner of a small apartment building, I honestly do not wish any ill will on anyone or their business but in this particular case, in my lifetime, I have never been given as much grief with respect to our experience with this issue. The owner repeatedly ran... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed at King Bethune's house a few weeks ago. I had to be in Peterborough for a class, and Marlis offered me a decent rate for the spa suite. Now.. let me tell you something about the "SPA SUITE"...The room was in the basement of an old, dirty house, the place smelled poorly and the bedding was NOT clean..... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
kingbethune, Owner at King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Natalie. It is normal to pay a cancellation fee if you do not stay. I charged one night cancellation when you had five nights booked and I have two week cancellation policy. And I offered to wave the fee if you were coming back. I am also sorry you didn't like the room, contrary to... More

ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers. Marlis went out of her way to make my brief stay as enjoyable as possible ( including cooking superb mushrooms for breakfast ). This is a B & B first with Spa amenities ( hot tub, steam room and sauna ) so don't go thinking your staying at an Aveeda 5 star . What... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011 via mobile

Marlis was wonderful, took care of every detail her custom breakfasts were meticulously prepared when we wanted them and quite wonderful by the kitchen fireplace. Caviar and local slab bacon with farm fresh eggs and beautiful handmade preserves were just a few of the items she set out over the course of our stay. The room was beautiful and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Marlis did a wonderful job and was a wonderful hostess. The food was superb - great home-cooking! Her hospitality was superb as well. Look forward to staying there again soon. Always a treat! Thanks Marlis!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Do not stay at this property. There is more to this story but I will keep it short. The property is run by an older bedraggled woman who cannot keep up with the daily upkeep.It is located in a derelict area of town.It is filthy dirty and reeks of musty sewer odor.Bottom line, this was our worst B&B experience ever.Trust... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
kingbethune, Owner at King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa, responded to this review

I have noted your diligence since you have repeatedly posted this review even though it has been disputed and removed. I appreciate your clairvoyance since both you and I know you have never actually stayed here. Your cancellation charges were applied at 50% out of respect to your wife's disdain; but still you persist. Congratulations. More

Whitehorse, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I had an excellent stay at King Bethune House. I have some special dietary requirements and was having a hard time finding a place in Peterborough that could accommodate those requirements. Marlis, the owner, rose to the challenge and then some. My room was comfortable and I slept very well for the five nights I was there. The owner is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa

Address: 270 King Street, Peterborough, Ontario K9J S2S, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Peterborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Bethune House, Guest House & Spa Peterborough, Ontario

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Downtown Heritage Building, restored and modernized with walled courtyard garden. Two rooms with ensuite bathrooms, One Suite with private entrance, sauna, steam room, double shower room, 2pc bath and private outdoor garden hot tub. Full menu breakfast included in rates. Complimentary coffee/tea bar in rooms. AVEDA Spa on site. Favourite for corporate travellers (special rates). Pet friendly. Families welcome. Park in driveway. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
3

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer