We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort

691 Frank Hill Rd., Peterborough, Ontario K9J 6X3, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peterborough
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    8
    3
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (9)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you want a quiet, peaceful park to visit Lancaster is it. The park model cottages are all newer and clean. The hosts are great people. Although Chemong lake is weedy you can still fish. We liked it so much that we have purchased a park model cottage of our own in order to stay in the park. All those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Its great to hear that vacationers love our small family resort. We are happy that you have now purchased a unit in our park and can enjoy this little vacation getaway always. Welcome! More 

Fenwick
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My family and I arrived at Lancaster and we're greeted very well by Anne!! :) Upon arrival, we we're pleased to hear that we we're getting an upgrade especially because we wanted something bigger to begin with! We also got an upgrade with an A/C cottage (mobile home). If you are looking to rent a cottage I believe that they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. As you will notice from most of our responses we normally will not comment on cottagers’ opinions, as they are most definitely entitled to them. We usually just clarify incorrect facts. This review, however, has made us feel kind of upset and sad. There are some great positive comments but I think... More 

Grimsby, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My fiance and I are pretty laid back and easy going. We tend to camp instead of renting a cottage but last year we decided to switch it up and just happened to see this place and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed, though the lake is weedy we also knew this going in so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you had a great time. Our resort is meant for people just like you - laid back and easy going. We offer a quiet atmosphere for people to just relax and enjoy. Thanks again for your help with the canoe and we will see you again this summer! More 

Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

After booking out stay at Lancaster, we finally arrived at this small, quiet location on the south tip of Chemung Lake. We were treated by the friendly office staff and management, and shown our cottage. I can not relate to any of the negative comments on this site, because it clearly states on the website that the lake is weedy.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We love to hear when people enjoy their stay with us. We especialy like when they enjoy it so much that they want to be here every year. Our resort is just how you explained it - friendly staff, quaint environment, beautiful sights and sounds of the Kawarthas. See you again this... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The owners are very friendly and quickly attended to any concerns we had with the cottage, but over-all it was not a great place to stay. If there had been no pool, we likely would have left much sooner. The cottage we rented wasn't the cleanest...there were broken blinds in the living room/bedroom...our bathroom had an odour of 'backed up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that this cottager thought we were not a great place to stay. I don't like to respond to people's opinions but I will address some things. We do offer all of our advertised activities listed on our website. Thank you for your review. More 

Travelers are raving about these Peterborough hotels

Newcastle, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We had a fantastic time. The owners were amazing, the park was peaceful. The only complaint I have is once we were moved to a cottage that everything was working was it wasnt cleaned the best. Under the bunk bed mattress was bars of soap candy wrappers pretty much a bunch of garbage. The other thing was that if you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. You're right! When we upgraded your cottage to the larger one with satelite television we just a quick clean to get you in and had missed some things. Sorry about that. And, you are right again, our cottages/park model homes only have 30 amp service so its not like a hotel or your house -... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We loved the cottage, pool, very convenient location. The only thing we missed is not much planned activities for kids and the playground was very small and terrible condition as well as the Gazebo. The place was very quiet during our stay. Interior the cottage was nice and clean except for the curtains, which were falling apart. We were happy... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
LancasterResort, Manager at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We hope you are able to make it back to see us soon. More 

Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

To all the negative reviewers of this resort I must say thank you for I will never have to meet you there.We searched the web, made our reservations and the three of us went(me ,the wife and of course the dog).We found the website very acurate.The wheather the trailer and the other friendly guests all made for a most enjoyable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our resort. It really makes us happy to know you had a good time and that we will be seeing you again. More 

Mishawaka, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We had a wonderful time. It was very relaxing. We got to spend time with our daughter, son-in-law and grandkids. They only live 10 minutes away. The resort's hospitality was great. We will be coming back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our resort and all of your kind words. We are glad you had a relaxing time. That is what is vacation is all about.! More 

Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

The location of this place was fine however; there were a number of issues that will prevent us from ever staying here again. -trailer was not winterized leaving us with no water for up to 1-2 days -some staff were not pleasant to deal with (especially old man in the office) -being students, a 9 month contract (Sept.-May) did not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
LancasterResort, Owner at Lancaster Cottage and Trailer Resort, responded to this review

Lancaster Resort would like to thank this guest for taking the time to write a review of our resort on Trip Advisor. As the owner of Lancaster Resort, I will not dispute personal opinions but will respond to inaccuracies to better inform potential vacationers. I would like to start by saying that we were never informed by these guests that... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

15 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peterborough
5.9 mi away
Super 8 Peterborough
Super 8 Peterborough
#2 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
7.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Otonabee Inn
#1 of 12 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
6.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Peterborough
Holiday Inn Peterborough
#4 of 12 in Peterborough
3.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Peterborough
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
10.6 mi away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
5.9 mi away
Twin Pines Bed and Breakfast
Twin Pines Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 18 in Peterborough
5.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities