We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ByWard Blue Inn

#21 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ByWard Blue Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ByWard Blue Inn
Add Photo

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    109
    164
    39
    26
    17
See reviews for
43
170
36
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Ottawa Marathon weekend is a busy weekend in Ottawa so you have to take what you can get and pay for it. Last year we stayed at the Westin for less but wanted to try other hotels. This hotel is the outer edge of Byward Market and very handy to restaurants, stores etc. Room was very basic and clean with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Excellent location, clean, EXCELLENT FREE breakfast (not that common ''continental'' one ), kind employees, balconee..... As I business traveler, I like to stay at places that make me feel home. Mission accomplished.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the staff made you feel at home. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was a pleasant surprise to stay at the ByWard Blue Inn during my last visit to Ottawa. The room was like a mini apartment, super comfy and convenient. The location of the hotel is also really good, close to major restaurants. Nothing fancy but really clean.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Yes, the location is absolutely perfect, one bloc away from the market, walk-able distance from Rideau centre and all Ottawa's attractions. Interesting perks include an on-site ($$) parking, surprisingly good croissants in the included breakfast and a free bottle of water. As for the rooms... well, a hipster would have made them a feature: remember this beige / pink /... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback. We are sorry to hear the room decor did not meet your standards. We appreciate your suggestions so that we may always continue to improve. We hope your stay, apart from the style of furniture, was enjoyable. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the Byward Blue Inn for 4 wonderful nights in early April for our chosen getaway to our Nation's capital. This hidden gem was an absolute delight. We booked through hotwire, and the rate was amazing for the perfect location that this Inn is found in. It is literally a 2 minute walk to the Market, with oodles... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

western md
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Overall this hotel is a solid choice for visiting Ottawa, the location is great for walking to the Byward Market area and Parliament and Rideau Centre are short walks away. The rooms themselves are a little outdated but were clean and the complimentary breakfast and afternoon tea and cheese were a nice touch. Have realistic expectations and you will have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate your feedback on the rooms and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I wanted to like this hotel... really I did. It was clean and staff was friendly. Location was good, and my room opened to a nice courtyard. But overall the amenities were not that great for the price. Pillows were paper thin, bed not so comfortable and there was no threshold under the door providing no sound insulation from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear the bed and pillows were not up to your standards. For the future, you may ask the front desk for extra pillows or for alternative pillows. If you would like to tell us more about the amenities you felt were missing, or any other details of your stay, please contact us via email... More 

minerva,ny usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

We had walked past this inn on prior trips to ottawa and paid no attention.After reading the good reveiws we decides to give it a try.This was a smart move. The inn is quiet ,clean,comfortable and the location is imposible to beat.We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Rabat, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

The reception area does not do justice to this great little hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, well-appointed and had a small kitchenette. My daughter had her own room, with TV, leading off from ours. The bathroom was small, but clean and well maintained. The only disappointment was the breakfast which was self-service, and took sometime for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear that there was a delay in replenishing the food during your breakfast. We will do everything we can to address the noted issue although replenishing the freshly cooked food takes some time due to guest line ups and so fourth. Apart from that, we hope you had an enjoyable stay with us.... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2015

If you love food like me, then you will love this hotel's location which is within the ByWard Market food district and has over 100 restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk! It is less than 10 mins by foot from Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and most other attractions too. The hotel is kept clean and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is so pleasing to read that our hotel met all of your expectations. We are also very happy to hear that you found the location to be easy accessible to all areas of Ottawa. Truly appreciate your review, Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Hope to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

77 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay