We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ByWard Blue Inn

#19 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
157 Clarence Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 5P7, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
What travelers say:
Parliament hill
(3)
ByWard Blue Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ByWard Blue Inn
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    160
    37
    26
    17
See reviews for
41
167
36
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (344)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (104)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (75)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I wanted to like this hotel... really I did. It was clean and staff was friendly. Location was good, and my room opened to a nice courtyard. But overall the amenities were not that great for the price. Pillows were paper thin, bed not so comfortable and there was no threshold under the door providing no sound insulation from the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear the bed and pillows were not up to your standards. For the future, you may ask the front desk for extra pillows or for alternative pillows. If you would like to tell us more about the amenities you felt were missing, or any other details of your stay, please contact us via email... More 

minerva,ny usa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had walked past this inn on prior trips to ottawa and paid no attention.After reading the good reveiws we decides to give it a try.This was a smart move. The inn is quiet ,clean,comfortable and the location is imposible to beat.We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Rabat, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The reception area does not do justice to this great little hotel. The room we stayed in was clean, well-appointed and had a small kitchenette. My daughter had her own room, with TV, leading off from ours. The bathroom was small, but clean and well maintained. The only disappointment was the breakfast which was self-service, and took sometime for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very sorry to hear that there was a delay in replenishing the food during your breakfast. We will do everything we can to address the noted issue although replenishing the freshly cooked food takes some time due to guest line ups and so fourth. Apart from that, we hope you had an enjoyable stay with us.... More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you love food like me, then you will love this hotel's location which is within the ByWard Market food district and has over 100 restaurants and cafes within a 5 minute walk! It is less than 10 mins by foot from Parliament Hill, the Rideau Canal and most other attractions too. The hotel is kept clean and the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is so pleasing to read that our hotel met all of your expectations. We are also very happy to hear that you found the location to be easy accessible to all areas of Ottawa. Truly appreciate your review, Thank you again and we do look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future. Hope to... More 

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised by how great it was. The location is within walking distance to the restaurant/nightlife district and the staff at the hotel are exceptional - very friendly and courteous. The room was clean and tidy and the complimentary breakfast was great. I will definitely be staying here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and are glad to hear you look forward to staying again. Sincerely, Byward Blue Inn More 

Lakefield, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a great little hotel, prices are great. Clean and tidy, a bit run down but it comes with some great little touches that make it a gem. Would stay here again if visiting the capital again. Great breakfast and they also have an afternoon snack time. Very limited parking but there is public parking available right next door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, greetings and thank you for staying with us. It is great to hear that our hotel met your expectations. Thanks for taking the time to evaluate us about the location and the complimentary breakfast. As per your noted observations, we are working as hard as we can towards re-doing our hotel`s guest rooms and suits, as well as,... More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had some business to conduct in Gatineau so my associate and I decided to give Byward Blue a try. We were pleasantly surprised for what we got for the money paid. A lovely two bedroom suite (#34), no couch mind you but a large dining table with plenty of chairs, so great to do work. Wifi was super fast. Complimentary... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. As for changing the shower head(s) and TV sets, the hotel management we will look into it. Once again, thanks your feedback. Looking forward to seeing you again in a near future. Sincerely, ByWard... More 

Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here 3 nights, and thought it was a terrific place to stay. The room was very nice (we were upgraded from a balcony to a terrace), with a small kitchenette that included a refrigerator and microwave, plus plates, utensils, glassware, wine glasses and corkscrew. The room and hotel were very clean, with a friendly staff. The location, and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings and thank you for your detailed review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Meanwhile, we are sorry that our breakfast did not meet your expectations. We will look into improving it more for future guests. Once again, thanks for the feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

When we walked into our room we were overwhelmed by the smell of room deodorizer! I immediately opened the balcony door to air out the room, and found several cigarette butts on the balcony floor just over the threshold. We cancelled our second night right away. After cleaning off the balcony and leaving the door open (even over night) we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear about the strong room scent. For the future, you may advise us to clean the room using less strong scents when making the reservation. Perhaps the room had just been cleaned so the cleaning agent smell had no time to disipate, but we are... More 

Toledo, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2015

Nice location in middle of historic ByWard Market downtown Ottawa, Clean and convenient! Breakfast is provided in the morning which is nice for a quick grab! Only thing which will need improvement is the internet service provided. Definitely would come back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Angjelo L, Manager at ByWard Blue Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are sorry to hear you did not find the internet to your standards. We appreciate your feedback so that we may continually improve. We have had some work done on the internet that may have been during or since your stay, as we became aware there was a... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

72 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (51)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question