We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Richmond Plaza Motel

238 Richmond Rd, Ottawa, Ontario K1Z6W6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Richmond Plaza Motel
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #57 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
Add Photo Write a Review

14 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    2
    0
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (14)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (4)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2015

Nice neighborhood with a lot of upscale pubs and bistros. LCBO and a Superstore next door. 1970's decor and tile, with fridge, microwave, free wifi and cable. The room was pretty clean, but the windows are glued shut and the a/c didn't work very well. Most ground floor rooms open onto the parking lot. The front desk staff are friendly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

My lease had ended on August 1rst and needed a place to stay until my appartamant was ready for me to move in. i had heard bad things about this place but I was absolutely suprised by my experience. The staff is great! They always ask you if you need anything or if everything is to your taste. House cleaning... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RichmondPlazaMotel, Manager at Richmond Plaza Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. As you are aware, the motel is under new management since the summer of 2014. We have a dedicated full-time maintenance and housekeeping personnel. We are building a repeat clientele and they are appreciating the changes, as you did. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. More 

Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The only reason we stayed the night was because we were wrongfully evicted from another hotel on Canada day..with no other hotel available.. We got charged 100 for the night in a room with the narrowest dirtiest bathroom in the world! I rather squat outside like a homeless person! As we walked in the room I hadn't boyfriend inspect the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RichmondPlazaMotel, Manager at Richmond Plaza Motel, responded to this review

We understand your frustration, as we found the premises unacceptable when we took over. Please be advised that the motel is now under new management since the summer of 2014. Since then, we have a full-time maintenance and housekeeping personnel, and Front Desk services are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. We are building a repeat clientele... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Bedbugs. Swarms of bedbugs. An old dump with a lower class clientele. Frequent police visits, not that that would help you. Loud, rude punks amid welfare recipients. The name makes it seem nice. But its an old dump. Normal people do not stay there. Sleep in a phone booth rather that this dump.

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
saskatchewan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

If convenience is your top priority,this is excellent. We didn't want to drive in downtown Ottawa so the Transit is a 5 minute walk. The Westboro neighbourhood is quiet ,safe ,and interesting. You could walk and shop inthe evening and feel safe. The hotel was quiet,1/2block from a major grocery store.It was nice to have a fridge.There is no coffee... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2006

On the up side it had a mini bar fridge, microwave, and cable TV. The floors (bathroom excluded) were tile and looked fairly new. There was some noise from next door, but they quieted-down by bedtime. You'd think the walls were paper thin given the noise transmission, but the walls are painted cinder block. On the down side, the first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2004

The reviewer from overseas--are we talking the same place here??? You spent probably close to a thousand dollars on a return ticket (not to mention a 10 hour trip probably) and are staying here??? My Goodness thats really hard to believe or understand... Stayed here 1 night September 2004 and I would NEVER EVER stay here again. The rooms are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2004

I have stayed in this motel on two occasions and have found it very comfortable and pleasant.The management were extremely helpful and understanding and i have never had any problems.I plan on staying there again in December.Alot of people don't have good things to say about this place but I love it and look forward to staying there in December... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2004

Stayed here for 1 night June 2004. This is the worst place to stay in Ottawa without a doubt. We were kept awake all night with people constantly coming and going and we were actually worried for our safety. If you must stay in this part of town, stay at a property on Carling avene which is less than a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2004

Do not be fooled by the website!! It has pictures that are NOT taken at the Richmond Plaza. This place was just a nightmare. Reception staff was very rude and seemed upset that we arrived. There was a lot of suspicious activity going on at the motel all night long....cars and motorbikes constantly driving wildly in the parking lot...ultra-loud TVs,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

2 photo of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
2.9 mi away
Residence & Conference Centre - Ottawa West
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ottawa City Centre
2.6 mi away
Albert at Bay Suite Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Hotel and Convention Centre - Ottawa West
6.4 mi away
Days Inn Ottawa West
Days Inn Ottawa West
#42 of 68 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Business Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay