We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Ottawa hotels

Swiss Hotel

89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot Deal Romantic Escape
  • Reviews (226)
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (37)
  • Location
  • More
Swiss Hotel
Ranked #10 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ottawa
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    75
    18
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
90
37
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellezelles, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Swiss hotel is nice, rooms are maybe a bit small, especially our bathroom. However service is good. The neighborhood is not so nice however, it's just half way between the touristic area, and the not the recommended street of Ottawa. So don't walk there late if you're a girl. We had no problem however.

Was this review helpful? Yes
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words, We would like to emphasize that our hotel is in the heart of the downtown core of Ottawa - we are two blocks south from the Byward Market,two blocks east of the Ottawa Convention Centre, and north of the University of Ottawa. Our neighbourhood is actually the residential area for the University, which hosts... More

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed there for 3 nights over July 4th weekend. Sabine (the owner) was very lovely at explaining how everything worked regarding breakfast and what was and was not included with our rate. Breakfast was fantastic especially the Bircher Muesli and any number of eggs served upon request. I much preferred the lovely garden patio and setting for breakfast rather than... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, European-style getaway in the heart of Ottawa, you can't do better than the Swiss Hotel on Daly Street. The beds are comfy, the sheets swiss-dot cotton. The bathroom is tiled in a deep merlot-colored tile with light aqua accents. Shower has glass "wall," no door. Rain showerhead. The floors are wood and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First I booked hotel on line, got no reply from the hotel to confirm my reservation, I called them myself to confirm. In the reservation I asked for the room with the jacuzzi. When I called to confirm the guy read my request said ok but when we got there we got a regular room. The room we got we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, You made your booking through our online real-time reservation system, and our automated e-mail delivery system has your confirmation e-mail logged as sent. Unfortunately you had not booked the jacuzzi suite through our website as it was not available for the nights of your stay, and you had only indicated in the comments section that... More

Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had our wedding night there, we took the Honeymoon suite, it's really beautiful, traditional wooden floor, and beautiful bed, nice jacuzzi. The only con is that for the price we paid, the parking was not included and also the breakfast was not too. The reception staff was really nice. So overall a good place if you want quiet time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Markham, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 days in Ottawa with my boyfriend for the tulip festival. We came across with this hotel on TripAdvisor with great reviews, so we decided to give it a try.. And trust me it was the wisest decision that we had ever made! Although the parking space was limited (there were only 5 spots I believe), the location... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Far nicer than the usual bland corporate hotel, this family run enterprise is warm , welcoming, comfortable and in a great location. The room was bright, scrupulously clean, well equipped (I needn't have brought hair dryer and tongs) including free iPad. Breakfasts delicious - Sabina's homemade muesli is a must - and the only problem is not overeating. Very reasonably... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Owners are friendly and accommodating. The rooms are large, spacious and modern. Had and ipad in the room, with high speed Internet, ipod dock and music player.The location is also good, just a two minuet walk from the main street, restraunts and night life. Had a great stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

Have not stayed here but disappointed at their inflexible policy for business travel. Had to change my reservation which was fine. Then had to cancel with 48 hr notice. Lady on the phone was very rude, did not listen and only emphasized that she would be charging me for one night. Disappointing - with business travel can't always make things... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
svs3, Owner at Swiss Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We would like to take the opportunity to explain to you how a cancellation policy works, and what we were offering when we let you change your date of arrival. All the confirmation e-mails we send and all of our literature online clearly states our cancellation policy: if you cancel your reservation 48 hours before... More

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Look no further! Here is the centrally located, completely renovated, super clean independent hotel in Ottawa. You can walk to Parliament Hill or By Market, see the tulips and walk along the canal. Rooms are modern, well furnished, including your own ipad! Your host Sabina cooks her own bread and no PhD in decoration would beat her. Come enjoy this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Swiss Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Swiss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss Hotel

Address: 89 Daly Ave., Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6E6, Canada (Formerly Gasthaus Switzerland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (23)
Viewed
1:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (24)
Viewed
Room/suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ottawa #10 Business Hotel in Ottawa #13 Romantic Hotel in Ottawa #21 Family Hotel in Ottawa
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Blending modern European design with late 19th century Canadian architecture, Swiss Hotel is the perfect marriage of the traditional and the new. Whether you're coming to town for business or pleasure, the Swiss Hotel is the best choice for any trip to Ottawa. Optional European buffet breakfast available for $15 per person. Located in the heart of the city within walking distance to all major tourist attractions, only steps from the Ottawa Convention Centre, University of Ottawa, ByWard Market, Parliament Hill, National Gallery of Canada and of course, the Rideau Canal (enjoy Winterlude this winter!) Wilderness is at our door in Gatineau, come see the seasons change with us. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
22

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Swiss Hotel to your Saves list