We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ottawa

#8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Westin Ottawa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,406 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    720
    422
    168
    69
    27
See reviews for
273
348
71
570
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1406)
  • Mar-May only
    (336)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (474)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (305)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (291)
All months
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Attention exceeded expectations. For example, left a document in the car which was parked by valet and asked for it to be retrieved. They told me it could take a while and just let them know I would be having breakfast at the restaurant. I had barely sat down when another person delivered by hand the document. That made me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

A very nice hotel in the Westin style. Rooms very comfortable and everywhere was a short walk to see the main attractions like Parliament, the market, the Rideaux Canal etc etc. The staff were very welcoming and accommodating and the concierge recommendations were spot on

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Rupert A, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us! I’m happy to hear our associates were welcoming and accommodating and hope you had ample time exploring Ottawa’s attractions! We hope to see you again soon. Be well, Ross M General Manager More 

Quebec City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our little family (2 adults and 1 baby) stayed for three nights and it was simply perfect. We had a very nice room and I'm still amazed by the kindness and the professionalism of all the employees I met.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear AlexandreLabrie, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent experience staying with us! Out of all feedback that we receive we love to hear that our associates are kind, professional, and provide great service. You can be sure that I will recognize our team for the service they provided you. We are... More 

Brossard, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The room was very comfortable and with an extra fee of $20, my lover and I got a room with a great view on the Parliament and on the Rideau canal. We enjoyed Manulife Lights Festival (fireworks) from our room. We were very close to the By Market. Those were the good parts. The downside was the bathroom: there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Aline N, Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you enjoyed your room and our location. I hope you had a chance to explore beautiful Ottawa! I apologize for the inconvenience with your Shower, and would like to know which room you were staying in so that I may speak to our Engineering team to make sure this... More 

Canton of Vaud, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a really nice room with a fantastic view of the National War Memorial and Parliament Hill. This would have been a 5 instead of a 4 if the shower had worked properly on our departure day. But it didn't. There was only really, really hot water, and even though they actually did fix it within half an hour... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Martin T, Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and I invite you to email me directly at rmeredith.01083@westin.com so that I may obtain more details in order to address our team and get back to you right away. I hope to hear from you soon. Be well, Ross M General Manager More 

Cobourg, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at this hotel while visiting my son in Ottawa.I was very surprised when I got a great rate on Hotwire as this hotel tends to be one of the most expensive ones in Ottawa. As I used Hotwire I did not expect any special treatment, however, we found everyone from the parking/door... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear MHarry, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us! I am happy to hear that you found our associates accommodating and that they provided you with great service! Hospitable and friendly staff is key to every stay and we pride ourselves on making sure each guest experience is special and unique. I... More 

Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have only one small, very small complaint about our four night stay. The drawers in our dresser had to be tricked into staying closed. They required a very gentle touch or would keep opening. Everything else about the hotel and our room was great. The bed was very comfortable, the room clean and nicely decorated, staff were courteous, the lobby... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Snowbirds06, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us. Thank you for mentioning the dresser drawers, this is now something we will have our Engineering team look into during their next inspection of our guestrooms. We always value and appreciate guest feedback as it helps us enhance and improve upon each guest... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Absolutely perfect location. Right opposite the canal and also parliament hill. Both within a 5 minute walk. The rooms are a good size and it's a very modern hotel. When we checked in I noticed that there was hair in the bath. I mentioned this and they sent housekeeping up straight away to re clean the whole room. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear CandiceMendesdaCosta, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted you had such a great time staying with us! I am so happy you enjoyed our location and hope you had ample time to explore the city! I do apologize for the discrepancy with your room but am happy that our Housekeeping team was on top of it when you... More 

Pembroke, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the Westin for a business conference, and had my mother and my toddler with me as well. Concierge staff went above and beyond, helping me out with my bags at check in and check out. All the staff I interacted with were friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean and very accommodating for an active... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Christina A, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had an excellent stay with us! We are lucky to have a great concierge team who truly care about each guest stay, I’m so happy to hear that they provided you with wonderful service! You can be sure that they will all be recognized for this. We hope... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I thought I had left an item in my hotel room and called the front desk a few hours after checkout. They immediately contacted the housekeeping staff. The housekeeping supervisor got in touch with me immediately, was extremely friendly and helpful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear RobandMar, Thank you for your feedback. I am so happy our team was prompt in getting in touch with you regarding the item you left behind. Here at the Westin Ottawa we are lucky to have a team who genuinely cares about our guests and are friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Byward Market(26)
  • Rideau Centre(15)
  • Parliament building(15)
  • Very nice(9)
  • Room service(7)
  • Double beds(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(3)
  • Great location(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

592 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (366)
Viewed
View from room (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (102)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (128)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Byward Market Area
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#18 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Delta Ottawa City Centre
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#33 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 947 reviews
ARC The Hotel
#25 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay