We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ottawa

#9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
The Westin Ottawa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Lovannah S Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    383
    160
    64
    25
See reviews for
234
309
70
510
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1263)
  • Mar-May only
    (319)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (351)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (302)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (291)
All months
Tokyo, Japan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The first time when my husband and I went to Ottawa, we had the best service. but this time, I went there with my mother in law whom is an SPG member and the service was awful. there was no valet, so we had to wait a while till someone could help us with the car, maybe they are busy,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We've been going to Ottawa yearly for the last 15 years, but always stayed at the Minto. Due to their closing, we had to find somewhere else to stay. Having gone often to the Westin for their breakfast buffet a dozen times. We decided it was time for us to try the hotel. We booked a junior suite for us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I recently hosted a conference for my organization at the Westin in Ottawa and it was a great success. The catering and hospitality was amazing and I did not have one complaint from my large group of participants from around the world. Personally, I had an amazing room with a view overlooking Ottawa. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great location. Comfortable beds. These are probably the best features of this hotel. Check in, busy time around 5:00 p.m. Two staff for Westin preferred program card holders. One for everyone else. Very slow, impersonal. First question we are asked is if we will give up housekeeping for our 4 NIGHT stay. How is not making our bed and tidying... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear chefonthetgo, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and have taken note of your comments to bring back to our team. We view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon our guest experience, so you can be sure that your observations will be... More 

Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a conference in May, great central location within walking distance of everything. Rooms were large and spacious and modern. Conference facilities were second to none. Fantastic work out facility and pool. Beware if you are driving or plan on renting a vehicle, as parking is expensive at the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Wongchez, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had such an excellent experience staying with us! Being located in the heart of the city brings many benefits to our guests and that you had the opportunity to explore. I’m happy to hear that you were pleased with your room size; it’s so important to be comfortable... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Westin Ottawa team was very generous in making sure my stay was wonderful by providing a lovely suite with a scenic view of the Parliament building. The Westin Ottawa is the best hotel in Ottawa. It is well situated beside the Rideau Canal, Rideau Centre and ByWard Market, with modern clean rooms and an excellent staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear 8AJ8, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to hear that you loved our beautiful capital city and had a great stay with us here at the Westin Ottawa! We are lucky to have fantastic associates who truly care about each guest stay; I am so happy to hear that they provided you with great service and were... More 

Northeastern Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Well as much as I love me a night in a Westin, I have to rate this night a 3 star. It was clean and nice but I have to issues that gave the rating it did. 1) the shower drained sooooooo slow that you were in water ankle deep. I really don't like that. 😕 2) the bed linen.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear pinkpantherr70, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your experience staying with us. Our Heavenly beds are made up the following four layers, starting with the Bottom sheet, Middle sheet, Duvet blanket, Top sheet and finishing with a Duvet cover and hypoallergenic Insert. Our Westin Standard is that all bedding (duvets,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The location of the hotel is absolutely ideal whether you're here on business or pleasure. It's right in the heart of the city, across from Parliament, the canal and the Byford Market. The staff here were spectacular. Erik at the concierge desk made sure even before we arrived that everything prepared just how we like it. We had a room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Radek K, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to hear that you loved our beautiful capital city and had a great stay with us here at the Westin Ottawa! It’s wonderful to hear that Erik provided you with excellent service. You can be sure he will be recognized for this! We are lucky to have fantastic associates... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stay at this hotel for at least 2 nights every 6 months and I can say that I have never had a bad experience. The beds are comfortable (their cots are even MORE comfortable!) and the linens are fresh, clean and white. Amenities are plenty with it being next to Rideau Centre. I stay here for work at the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear msmoore12610, Thank you for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your Heavenly bed and our location. We are quite lucky to be located right in the center of this beautiful capital city! Our direct connection to the Shaw Center and Rideau Center make our... More 

Ajax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I received personal , courteous attention and service, especially at the reception desk. No attention was overlooked, rather I was invited to request anything that would make my stay even more comfortable . I only wish my stay was longer so I could enjoy the hospitality extended to me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Peter S, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted you had an excellent experience staying with us! As you can guess, we love receiving rave reviews as it lets us know we are meeting our guest experience goals! Here at the Westin Ottawa, we are lucky to have a team that genuinely cares about our guests and are... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

543 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (317)
Viewed
View from room (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (110)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities