We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ottawa

#12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
The Westin Ottawa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
renrenren Timmins, ON
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    376
    153
    62
    25
See reviews for
230
299
70
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1215)
  • Mar-May only
    (271)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (351)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (302)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (291)
All months
Timmins, ON
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for two nights in April 2015. Always a great welcome by the staff. Glad to see Andrew is still working here as I was particularly impressed with his customer service when I stayed here two years ago. My room had a climate control issue. Maintenance came up to advise me that we were in between seasons and that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Attended a three day Conference at this hotel mid March. First I will comment on the Conference. Perfect venue for a conference. Large ballroom for the Keynote speakers and then perfect sized breakout rooms. I can honestly say that the food served was the best I have ever had at a Conference. Fresh, healthy and plentiful! Washrooms large enough that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear annette599, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had an excellent experience staying at our hotel and attending a conference here. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our meeting space and our culinary delights! We have an amazing Chef and culinary team who receive glowing reviews for providing our guests with delectable and healthy... More 

Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend. Staff was friendly. Location was very nice. With view over the Riday Canal and the city, and beeing linked with Ridau shopping center, it was a very nice stay. Will return to the hotel next time we visit Ottawa.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Naitsirkm, Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you had an excellent stay with us! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your guest room and hope you took full advantage of all the activities and sites our beautiful capital city has to offer. We hope to see you again soon! Be well,... More 

Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff were so helpful, friendly and always had time to help you find something or direct to a room.. wonderful friendly service and they made me feel like they were not in a rush but would actually take the time to go over my questions

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Pauline P, Thank you so much for your feedback, I am delighted you had such an excellent experience staying with us! Here at the Westin Ottawa, we are lucky to have a team that genuinely cares about our guests and are always willing to go above and beyond to make each guest stay special. We know how important it... More 

Ogdensburg, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice big room and that was clean and well appointed. Had a little trouble getting the temperature of the room cool. Bed was comfortable. Didn't like that you had to pay $14.95 a day for wifi. The hotel is connected to the Shaw Convention Center which was convenient. It's also easy walking distance for any kind of restaurant you'd like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear lcshea, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! I’m happy to hear that you found our location convenient and that you were pleased with your room size and cleanliness. We have an amazing Housekeeping team who take great care of our hotel. Cleanliness and convenience are two key factors in an excellent hotel... More 

Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

as always.... this hotel is impeccably kept up, though for the 1st time ever, we had to request a room change, due to the size and view issue. our request was met graciously and we were whisked off to a much more pleasing room. As a result, we enjoyed our winterlude visit was most wonderful!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear lunagrrrrl, Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! I’m happy to hear that you were pleased with your room and that your request was met graciously! It’s so important to be comfortable while away from home. I hope you took full advantage of all the Winterlude activities and that we’ll see you... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love Westin Hotels - I try to stay at them whenever I can but I would not recommend the Ottawa Westin in downtown Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. The hotel has no parking lot - if you don't want to pay $35 valet charge you only other choice is parking at the connected mall parking lot; which has no in-and-out privileges.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear M109R, Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and have taken note of your comments to bring back to our team. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon our guest experience, so you can be sure... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I went to visit my favourite uncle for his birthday and I ended up with the present! I was upgraded to a junior suite...wow. Thank you to everyone at the Westin, ottawa. I took some friend with me and they were all so impressed with the room and the city. Of course shopping would be up there too !

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Trish S, Thank you for your comments. I am delighted to hear that you were upgraded to one of our spectacular junior suites and that you enjoyed. We are firm believers that a hotel stay should always be a luxurious and relaxing experience. We hope you had an amazing time celebrating your Uncles birthday! We hope to see you... More 

Grande Prairie, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have to say that I did enjoy my stay. The service was great. Nice people. The food was very good. Rooms nice and clean. I would stay again at this property. It is so nice to get a good night's sleep when traveling and fighting the time changes. Cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Les D, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! There really is nothing like a good night’s sleep when away from home! We are so glad you were able to get some rest and that you received great service while you were here. We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When Andrew from the hotel contacted me a few days before my arrival to ask if I needed anything and to make himself available if had any specific needs or requests. Little things set you apart from other chain hotels. Everyone at the hotel made you feel like you were the most important guest there. Shore Club drinks and food... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Steve K, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted to hear that you had such an excellent stay with us! We are quite lucky to have associates like Andrew who truly care about our guests. Here at the Westin Ottawa it’s our goal that each guest has a unique and special stay with us, and we try to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

537 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (311)
Viewed
Room/suite (85)
Viewed
View from room (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (106)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question