We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ottawa

#8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
The Westin Ottawa
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
esj59 Newton, Massachusetts
Add Photo Write a Review

1,312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    667
    394
    161
    65
    25
See reviews for
243
316
71
543
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1312)
  • Mar-May only
    (336)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (383)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (302)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (291)
All months
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 4 days during a conference. The site is superb. When we arrived during rush hour, checking in was difficult. We tried to pull into the narrow area for cars. It turned out that we were blocking about 10 cars. I was surprised because there was no signage regarding where to pull in and where we should... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is no doubt that this is a busy hotel. The staff are excellent even with a busy workload, the valets are run off their feet, front desk deals with a tonne of people but in my experience they treat their guest extremely well and are all very cheerful. Gold status acknowledged and upgraded to a higher club floor. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I regret I cannot remember the name of the young man (Front Desk guest rep) who assisted me in making additional reservation for a lengthy stay in July. My interaction with him was roughly 6pm on 22/June. Young man was very professional, friendly, went beyond the extra mile to accommodate my requests and make me feel valued. Because of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear macwop68, Thank you for your feedback! I am beyond delighted to hear about your recent experience staying with us. I had the pleasure of sharing your review with our associates at a staff gathering this morning - our team takes pride in our service culture and creating unparalleled customer experiences, and so our associates truly enjoyed hearing your comments.... More 

Courtice
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were amazing. Our room attendants made sure the room was spotless and the staff at the front desk and concierge were very helpful. We came to Ottawa for our 15th wedding anniversary and mentioned this to Valerie at the front desk. On returning to our room on the Friday we found a bottle of champagne, chocolate covered strawberries... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear JackieSCanada, Thank you for your feedback! Happy 15th anniversary again from the whole Westin Ottawa team! Anniversaries are something to be celebrated, and hence an occasion we would never miss! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the champagne and strawberries, here’s to many more! We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager More 

Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Modern and clean. The exterior of the building needs some work but the inside is really nice. Check-in experience was good. Room was very clean and service was excellent! Probably be my new go-to hotel in Ottawa!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yankee in NC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been working in Ottawa for the past several months and have to say that the staff of the Westin Ottawa always makes it better with their personal touch at every level. First there is the Door Staff, led by Ivano, who always greets us with a smile and some friendly banter, paricularly during hockey season. Then there is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear CelticExplorer58, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you’ve had such a positive experience staying with us over the past several months! I am happy to hear that our associates have been friendly and accommodating. It’s vital that our guests feel welcome, especially the ones who are frequently with us. Being on the road and away from... More 

Seattle, Washington
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Val was so welcoming and friendly, letting me know about the Sunday late check out option and helping me find places to eat and see art. Also, when I checked out and asked for pro-rating of my wifi access fee for the last few hours, the person discounted the whole day's fee. Most everyone was super friendly and made me... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Veronica S, Thank you for your feedback! I am delighted that you had an excellent experience staying with us! It’s wonderful to hear that our associates were welcoming and friendly! Here at the Westin Ottawa we pride ourselves on excellent service and truly want each guest to have a special and unique stay. We hope to see you again... More 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I went for my birthday. I received a room upgrade, was on a SPG preferred floor, had a fantastic view of the city, and a free birthday dessert appeared in my room :) Also, the elevators were incredibly fast - a small thing, but it makes a difference! We loved swimming in the pool, too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a 16th floor room. Amazing view of the parliment and Chateau. The room was really nice as well. Unfortunately the pool didn't live up the to standards of the rest of the hotel. Conveniently located.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you for your comments! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your view from the 16th floor, that’s one we never tire of! We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your time in the pool, may I ask why? Please feel free to email me personally with your feedback at rmeredith.01083@westin.com. I hope to... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have been to three conferences at the Westin Ottawa. The staff have always been professional and helpful,and the meeting rooms have been well set-up. Food options are great at the meetings, and the location of the hotel near the Bytown Market is excellent. Every time I have driven on for a conference, however, I have had a terrible time... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear AMToronto29, Thank you for your comments. I’m happy to hear that you’ve had excellent experiences with our hotel and associates. I apologize for any inconvenience experienced with parking and will take this feedback back to our team. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view all feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon each guest... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

576 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (350)
Viewed
Room/suite (100)
Viewed
View from room (60)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (116)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay