We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Westin Ottawa

#7 of 69 Hotels in Ottawa
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hotel website
Hotel deals
11 Colonel By Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9H4, Canada
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Westin Ottawa
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

1,575 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spend a lot of time in chain hotels for business which are fine, they serve the purpose but I forgot just how glorious it is to stay in a Tier One, first class hotel. The location is in the heart of downtown Ottawa, a walk to just about everything, including the winterlude events, ice skating on the canal, Byward Market,... More 

Helpful?
Thank ubergirlcanada
Golden Lake
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Room was spacious, well appointed and very clean. Quiet, restful sleep. Short walk to all the city's best attractions. Wifi was an additional charge, which in this day and age, seems like a bit of a money grab. Checkout was a breeze, invoice emailed to me. Overall great experience!

Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Beautiful view on the canal, awesome corner suite. Walking distance of everything. Big clean room, great service everywhere you go. We had a great stay! They went out of there way to acknowledge our anniversary... Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Marie-Hélène M
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Marie-Hélène M, Thank you for your feedback and happy anniversary once again from the Westin Ottawa team! We are firm believers that anniversaries are meant to be celebrated! I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that our team provided you with excellent service. We hope you enjoyed the corner suite! We hope... More 

Orono, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel has great access to many attractions such as the canal and ice sculptures during winterlude. It was also very convenient to get to the mall in that it was attached to the hotel. The rooms were large and well cared for with a spectacular view of the city. The staff and workers were friendly and attentive.

Helpful?
Thank Leah L
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Leah L, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you had a great stay with us and that our team provided you with friendly and attentive service! I hope you had ample time to take part in Winterlude activities, we are quite lucky to be located right next to all of the action! We hope to see you... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night after a corporate dinner event in February 2015. Food for the event was okay. Breakfast the next day at Daly's was very good. We had a nice view of the Rideau Canal during breakfast. Our room was spacious and clean. Bathroom a bit small, but clean and fairly modern. Lots of hot water and room heating... More 

Helpful?
Thank ociwoman
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear ociwoman, Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast at Daly's and our central location. I have taken all of your comments back to our team. Here at the Westin Ottawa we view feedback as a gift and a way to enhance and improve upon each guest experience. I invite you to... More 

Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a friends wedding and have to say this is certainly one of the nicer "hotels" in which we have stayed. Facilities were beautiful and service was fantastic. We spent time in the penthouse with the wedding party which has spectacular views and so many living areas! Definitely recommend the Westin if you are wanting to treat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Sarah W, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at your friend’s wedding and spent some time in one of our Executive Suites with great views of the city! We hope you had a chance to explore the beautiful capital while you were here! Thank you for taking the time... More 

New Liskeard, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our first stay at the Westin.Due to construction it was a bit tricky getting into it but other than that everyone was so helpful. When we checked in the gentleman was very professional and courteous.Due to a hockey team being near our booked room he upgraded us.Very thoughtful as it was just my husband and myself. So convenient... More 

Helpful?
Thank shelley a
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear shelley a, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with professional and courteous service. We hope you had a wonderful visit with your family! Be well, Ross M General Manager More 

Parry Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Westin is in a great location next to the Cannel and Parliament buildings. Great service the moment you arrive and the rooms are fantastic. Enjoyed the fitness facility. Will stay here next time we are in Ottawa.

Helpful?
Thank Misterchips666
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Misterchips666, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team provided you with great service! We hope you had a chance to explore our beautiful capital city. We hope to see you again soon! Be well, Ross M General Manager More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly service at check in. I requested a high floor but was told this was an upgrade and would cost extra... Parking: Extra! $20/day Wireless: Extra! By the hour or by the day. I was very surprised by the money grabs at every opportunity.

Helpful?
Thank bantering
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear bantering, Thank you for your candid feedback. I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience experienced. Our guestrooms on the higher floors are priced higher because of room type as well as view. In regards to the parking garage, unfortunately; this is not owned or operated by The Westin... More 

Kennesaw
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was friendly and accommodating. I booked a corner room and the view of the city was amazing. The room was large and had wonderful large windows. The bed was comfy. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was on the small side, typically of most hotels. I found it quite nice there was tile at the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
TheWestinOttawa, General Manager at The Westin Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Kristen H, Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you had an excellent experience staying with us and that you enjoyed and found comfort in your guestroom. Feeling cozy when away from home is key! I’m also happy to hear that you had the chance to learn about our WestinWags foster program! We love our K9 friends... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

633 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (407)
Viewed
View from room (67)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/suite (111)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (152)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (200)
Viewed
Amenities (44)
Viewed
Junior Suite (43)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (28)
Viewed
Traditional King Corner Room (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Fairmont Chateau Laurier
Lord Elgin
#18 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Delta Ottawa City Centre
ARC The Hotel
#19 of 69 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Byward Market Area
Hotel Indigo Ottawa Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay