We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Ottawa hotels

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Capital Hill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #47 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Chris H Bayville, New Jersey
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    138
    130
    57
    44
See reviews for
110
100
27
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (395)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (61)
All months
Bayville, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location of this hotel is pretty good, as it's within a few minute walk from Parliament Hill, and other things such as the Rideau Centre, the Rideau Canal, Byward Museum, etc. However, the hotel is fairly outdated and in need of some renovation. The staff here was friendly and accommodating with any requests, which is always a plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When everything else was full, I ended up here. It is old, and worn out and no one seems to care. I stayed in a HUGE king bed suite. It delivered on size (bigger than most apartments I've lived in), but not much else. Wi-Fi was slow and kept disappearing. The lighting in the room was very dim, even with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We appreciate input from all of our guests, and it appears from your review, that you stayed in our largest King Suite, Room 1200, which many of our repeat guests request. This is a very spacious room, with a separate living area, two washrooms and another sitting area within the bedroom. All of the soft furnishings have been recently purchased... More 

Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

I normally don't bother to write reviews but had to comment on my very disappointing stay at this hotel. I stayed here for 5 days in November on a business trip. I chose this location because it was the closest walking distance to my work meetings, had a fitness room, and was within our project budget. Also their website seemed... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. In November we had been finalizing the move and renovation of our Fitness Room, so not all of the equipment had been hooked up, and the bathroom renovation still had a few minor adjustments to complete. I see from your review, that you stayed in... More 

London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip. It's in an excellent location, very close to Parliament Hill and the Market. It was inexpensive, clean and had good customer service, but is very dated and the wireless was unreliable. Although these other experiences may be anomalies, there was also a great deal of industrial noise outside my room on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your feedback on the positive aspects of your stay, and are sorry to hear that there was cigarette smoke that filtered into your room. As you mentioned, we are in fact a smoke free hotel and do our utmost to ensure that all guests follow... More 

Canmore, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014

As soon as I walked in the hotel room I was immediately hit with a really strong chemical smell that never dissipated. The bed only comes with sheets and no blankets. The room is unattractive and you want to minimize the amount of time you spend here because it is not comfortable or enjoyable. The service was poor, disorganized and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We do find it unusual to hear that the bed was dressed with only sheets and no blankets, as all of our beds are dressed with a duvet quilt. Instead of a typical duvet cover... More 

Pembroke, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

I travel frequently for business, and stay at quite a range of hotels depending on location and availability. I really liked Capital Hill Hotel & Suites - the service, location, price and rooms were all quite comfortable. Yes, this hotel is older, but it has charm! I do plan to stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and look forward to having you with us again on your next visit to Ottawa! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director More 

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Ottawa has a great choice of hotels, and this isn't one of them. The location is great, and it's cheaper than most, but I would not stay there again. The room was very dark, there was little lighting and not enough natural light to compensate. The decor was dated and scruffy. I found the taps in the bathroom to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know on the areas that we can improve upon. We are hopeful that you will consider trying us again on your next visit to Ottawa.... Best Regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. The location is amazing. A few streets away form the Parliament and the Rideau Canal. The staff is really helpful and welcoming. The only problem was the room. Not so clean and not very comfortable. When I will come back in Ottawa with my wife and kids, I will most probably... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable while they are with us, so if for any reason they are not satisfied with with their accommodation we will... More 

Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

We travelled to Ottawa our Capital for the Remembrance Day services. We were looking for a hotel close to The National War Memorial that did not cost an "arm and a leg", and found Capital Hill Hotel and Suites. All the other hotels in the area had raised their prices for the event substantially. We were pleasantly surprised to find... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel for Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the room comfortable and suitable to your needs and our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to have you stay with us again next year, for the... More 

Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The best way to describe this hotel is epitomized by the rules found behind your door that tell you there is a $40 fee if you don't have your horse and buggy out by noon. This hotel is old. Well to begin with, if you have a car you are going to have a hell of a time finding a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. As we do have a smaller scale parking lot, we will double park cars during our busier times, which is quite a common practice for many of the downtown Ottawa businesses, other hotels and valet parking. We have a key tagging system as well, so that you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Ottawa

107 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (103)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay