We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

480 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    33
    171
    159
    69
    48
See reviews for
140
125
32
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (480)
  • Mar-May only
    (91)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (133)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (68)
All months
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My family of four stayed in a one bedroom suite this past June. The room was a small conference room/suite with a kitchenette and a large conference table with work chairs. The living area was very large with a pull out sofa, television and desk. The AC in this room did not work properly and had to be restarted by... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location was perfect. We had little kids with us and it was convenient to take them for nap at the middle of the day and we didn't have use car to main attractions. Rooms are dated. Parking at hotel is extra $15 and is very limited. You will be forced to park at the plaza one block away in a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel is minutes from Parliament Hill, Byward Market, Rideau Canal / Mall. Good rates for family travelling but the condition of the hotel is dated. Rooms are spacious because the building has been around for decades. The carpet is pretty questionable, we never went barefoot, same for the furniture. The service was really helpful and friendly. Again, ideal for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Right in the heart of downtown Ottawa (and a door-to-door connect thanks to VIA Rail and OC Transpo), it's hard to beat this hotel and suite location. However, in this era of water conservation (most notably in BC and Southern California), I was astonished when my report of a leaking bathtub facet was acknowledged but ignored during my entire stay.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Family rented two 2 queen bed rooms, and one suite. The rooms and suites are very big. SUPER close to Parliament building and short walk to Byward Market. Parking cost $15 and the lot is small so you have to leave your keys with the staff. Floor is a bit dirty, kid's feet were easily blackened, so make sure you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Suites were just like advertised, plenty of room, and no problems with reservation. Big table and kitchen in suite. We had a balcony as well. Nice location, easy walk to the water. Option to use hotel parking or garage across the street. Hotel parking is very small and they will get your car in and out for you - you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for providing feedback on our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Ottawa! With thanks and kindest regards, Sherri Macki Sales & Marketing Director More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After an awful night in another establishment we needed something cheep but comfortable. This hotel fulfilled this requirement very well. The carpet in the hallway is a bit old but the rooms are fine. We were very comfortable. Air conditioning wasn't too noisy when set to "sleep" mode. Staff were friendly and helpful. No breakfast but plenty locally. Location is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We do often direct our weekend guests to the World Exchange Plaza where there is currently free parking on the weekends. This is a great option if you are planning on doing a walking... More 

Dublin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is good. Prices are moderate. but we were not at all comfortable. In fact we cancelled 6 of our scheduled 8 day stay. light fitting were not working and when we went to search with a torch we saw a lot of dirt. One bedroom's bathroom had a dirty towel left behind. The bed in that room was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay with us. All of our decor is the same/similar in each of our rooms and is accurately shown on our website to be a true likeness, and we recently updated our hallways with new carpeting and paint on each of our guest levels. We are sorry... More 

Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel centrally located Downtown and walkable to many locations/attractions. Spacious and clean suite, kitchenette adequately supplied. PET friendly for only $20 extra - sweet! Discounted parking offsite within a block(Sunday's free) Free wifi Checkout time is noon - we requested a late checkout and were extended til 2 pm by the helpful and friendly hotel staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and certainly, we all love it when we get to see a pet come through our doors! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Ottawa..... With thanks and... More 

Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is right in the heart of Downtown Ottawa, you can walk to every attraction easily. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The service was very good. I can't think of any complaints, I would definitely stay here again with no qualms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Ottawa - and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we hope you were able to experience many of the amazing attractions that are so close to us.... More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Parliament building(6)
  • Byward Market(4)
  • Great location(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

125 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
Byward Market Area
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
#24 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Byward Market Area
Lord Elgin
Lord Elgin
#19 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,652 reviews
Byward Market Area
Novotel Ottawa
Novotel Ottawa
#32 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay