We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Ottawa hotels

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Capital Hill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
48%
Ranked #46 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
jacques_Tessier Montreal, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (355)
  • Photos (96)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (44)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

355 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    127
    116
    47
    41
See reviews for
102
90
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (63)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (138)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (100)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Port Elgin, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff are nice. The hotel was clean but rundown. The coffee maker did not work. When I ordered a second one, it didn't work either. The shower had an energy saving feature that cut off almost all the water. The air conditioning was noisy. The wifi didn't work in our room (the nice staff offered to change rooms) I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The hotel is old but clean.The staff were nice and helpful.We had a room with a kitchenette,it was very acceptable and clean. The washroom is small but again very clean.The location was fantastic,walking distance for all attractions and restaurants.Limited parking in the building but they have parking in the building in front which was the best location to park.Internet was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guelph, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After arriving after a long day of traveling I got to the hotel and needed to do a report for work but the internet did not work. The staff tried to play it off like this never happens but it was clear the internet never works. The rooms were extremely warn out with beds that were hard as a rock.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The coffee maker didn't work, either did the hair dryer and there wasn't a fridge. The curtains didn't cover the window. Next night they upgraded us. Rm 811. It was filthy and smelled like cigarettes. Supposed to be a smoke free building. Yuck

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel August 8-12, 2014. We wanted to be as close as possible to Parliament Hill and environs, and this hotel is literally the closest hotel in Ottawa to the Hill. We took advantage of their summer promotion: stay 1 night, get 10% off; stay 2 nights or more, get 20% off. This meant we were paying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really close to the sites, Parliament hill, Ottawa canal, shops, bars. Was here on a bank holiday Monday and for a capital city was surprised how many bars/ restaurants were closed. The hotel is old. Big room with a seating area. Bathroom dated. Hotel was clean though. Friendly staff. Lift broke - luckily with us not in it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Ottawa. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry that you experienced the issue with one of our elevators during your stay.. We hope you were able to experience some of the other fun things that were going on in the city during your stay, such as the... More

Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here this past long weekend. We had to switch hotels after 2 days as there was virtually no internet available and he needed it for business. The only other complaint I have would be the tiny bathroom with dingy tub. On the plus side...it was affordable, the staff was super friendly and the location is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are genuinely sorry to hear that you had to leave the hotel because of a poor internet connection. We recently replaced some equipment at the end of July - and there are a few more things to iron out to increase the speed and availability of... More

Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
43 hotel reviews
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I really rate the location, and from the moment we arrived all the staff were superb. The issues I have are mundane. The rooms, bathrooms, elevators, carpets and furnishings are all tired and drab. The wifi was intermittent, but mainly absent. Our room was small and dank with a bathroom that was at least thirty years old and showing it.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We value and appreciate your feedback. We are in the process of planning and implementing some modifications to the hotel; such as bathroom updates (some of which have been completed), updating our wi-fi to increase both signal speed and strength, and in January 2015 we have booked the upgrades for... More

Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Oh, how I wish I had read the reviews of others before I booked this hotel. We have just returned from a very disappointing stay at this hotel. As there were 4 of us travelling together, we booked a 1 bedroom suite. This had 2 queen sized beds and also a 'pull out sofa bed.' When we arrived in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We always do our best to address any concerns while our guests are still with us - and providing we have availability, we are happy to find an alternative room that would be suitable to their needs. We are sorry if this option was not offered... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found the staff VERY friendly and helpful as soon as I walked in the doors, which helped set the tone fro a great stay. ALL of the staff from front desk, to chamber maids and maintenance were great! The room was clean and more than sufficient for my needs and reasonable rates. REALLY close to Parliament Hill and easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We value and appreciate your feedback and input and will be certain to pass along your positive comments to all of our staff. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again on a future visit to Ottawa! With thanks and best... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Ottawa with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Capital Hill Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer