We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Ottawa hotels

Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Capital Hill Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Capital Hill Hotel & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
49%
Ranked #47 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
SL10198 Toronto, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (342)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Photos (96)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (41)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    124
    111
    46
    38
See reviews for
97
85
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Oh, how I wish I had read the reviews of others before I booked this hotel. We have just returned from a very disappointing stay at this hotel. As there were 4 of us travelling together, we booked a 1 bedroom suite. This had 2 queen sized beds and also a 'pull out sofa bed.' When we arrived in our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I found the staff VERY friendly and helpful as soon as I walked in the doors, which helped set the tone fro a great stay. ALL of the staff from front desk, to chamber maids and maintenance were great! The room was clean and more than sufficient for my needs and reasonable rates. REALLY close to Parliament Hill and easy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled for leisure with a little work on the side. Arrived at the hotel one of the two elevators wasn’t working, man at reception seemed bored. He took an imprint of my credit card and gave me the keycard and I went up to 1017, very peculiar off-putting smell in hallway and very strong in my room. You have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, there was an unforeseen problem with our elevators during this time - which has since been addressed. The carpets in the hallways have recently been replaced, and I have confirmed with our Executive Housekeeper that the room we had you staying in originally (room... More

Callander, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location to capital hill the canal and market. We have stayed here once and going to stay here again . We travel to Ottawa very often and when we don't stay at residence at hospital we stay here Great hotel for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed not only this past stay, but previous stays with us as well! We value and appreciate your business - and look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ottawa. With thanks and kindest regards,... More

Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very good location in downtown Ottawa and close to everything. Then, smelly rooms, stain on the carpets, ridiculously small bathroom, lights that do not work, totally useless internet (don't even think about it), small parking with musical cars that you have to pay $15.00 for, Air Conditioning that does not work if the outside temperature is higher than 70F (21C)...all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Unfortunately, without knowing your specific room, I am unable to look into the issues you addressed in your comments. However, it does sound as though you may have stayed in our smallest guest room type, with 1 Queen bed, based on the notation referring to the... More

Colombo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were pleasantly surprised when we were given the keys to the suite on the 12th floor (that has a jacuzzi and sauna!!! among other things) instead of the double room we booked! But even the regular rooms were comfortable (part of our group stayed in a regular double room). Location wise it's really good. About a 5 min walk... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. It sounds like you were upgraded to our Penthouse Suite - and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed it! Our hotel is close to so many terrific tourist spots - and just a few blocks down on Elgin Street, is actually the start of... More

Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We went in February to skate on Rideau Canal. The hotel was very close to the Canal. The hotel staff were very casual but helpful and friendly. When I asked about parking, they advised that I could park for free across the street instead of in the hotel parking. The room itself was not great, it smelled rusty, but it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy skating on the canal; we are very fortunate that we are so close to all of the Winterlude festivities, the majority of which are at Confederation Park adjacent to the Rideau Canal. We hope to have... More

Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel is clean and it has french and English front desk receptionist. Closest to the Canadian Parliament. Parking is tough to get closest the parliament. We parked our car to hotel parking place and walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There are so many wonderful tourist attractions within walking distance and we are glad that you were able to experience many of them while you were here. We hope to have you stay with... More

Field, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This hotel was in a great location, and looked appealing from the lobby. The rooms are a different story, we found blood stains on the mattresses, dented walls, and had to go 1 full nights stay with a clogged tub and sink. The service was terrible and the staff were did not accommodate to any of our requests without persistent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. From your comments, I see that you stayed at our hotel approximately 6 months ago. It is unfortunate that we did not have the opportunity to resolve your concerns while you were still in the hotel. We always do our very best to ensure our guests... More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We saw four large groups check in on a Wed. evening. So this seems to be a hotel geared to bargain shoppers. Great location, but terrible rooms. 5 star staff, but 2/3 star hotel. Smells old, sinks have a hole where the drain should be, yellowing bathtub, carpets have no discernible color, dark furniture, lumpy mattresses, minimal toiletries, dark corridors,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Capital88, Director of Sales at Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are a 3 1/2 star hotel that caters to a variety of different travellers, given our close proximity to Parliament Hill. We have many corporate, government and association executives, as well as individual travellers and bus tour groups staying with us throughout the year.... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Capital Hill Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Been to Capital Hill Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hill Hotel & Suites

Address: 88 rue Albert Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5E9, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Hill Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Capital Hill Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hill Hotel Ottawa
Capital Hill Hotel And Suites
Capital Hill Ottawa

96 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (93)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (42)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Locally owned and operated we are a 3 1/2 star hotel, with 5 star friendliness. Located in the heart of the Nation's Capital, we are a smoke free property with 152 guest rooms and 10 meeting rooms. We are situated in the midst of the city's business and tourist district; only two blocks from Parliament Hill. The only way you'll get closer to the hill, is if you get elected. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
150

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer