We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2259 Prince of Wales Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    21
    10
    12
See reviews for
27
24
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (93)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (24)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Toronto
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When first we reviewed this hotel, we were impressed but with one major exception: the level of noise from higher floors due to foot traffic, rolling chairs and suitcases and a rowdy party that included a midnight jacuzzi. While fellow visitors on this trip experienced the same problems (due to inconsideration but mostly hardwood laminate floors that allow for no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

roberin - I am so glad to hear that your stay this time was better this time around. Thank you for your loyalty and your review. I will bring the floor noise to the attention of management to see if there is any solution to reduce noise. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed 2 nights at this Ramada, which was fairly good. To start, we arrived early in the afternoon and our room was ready however the room we were offered was in the front facing the main road. I asked if there was another room available that was not facing the road and there was so we were moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear Witz17, Thank for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your honesty, the amount of detail and thought you put into what you wrote. We now have our dock in the water with canoes that guests are able to rent. Our pool is currently being prepared to open and should be open by mid June. We hope... More 

Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The service that we received, along with family and friends was wonderful. We had 85 guests attending, with about 12 rooms reserved for out-of-town and in town guests to stay. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and lovely view of the Ottawa River. We had the Rehersal Party and Dinner at the Hotel, and the food was "over the top".... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Hi 240donaldl, we are over the top as well to hear that you enjoyed the reception and that we were able to provide the level of service that we strive to offer everyday. Your amazing compliments are very much appreciated. I have now printed your incredible review and made sure to post it in each department so every staff member... More 

Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Since we were attending a memorial service for a family member we were not really very conscious about anything else. However, our family has stayed at the Monterray in, as it then was, about five years previously and found the experience to be pleasant then, enough to re-book for our stay in October 2014. The location is super, beside the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thanks Kristine B for writing about your stay. Again, we apologize for having to relocate your family member. We did indeed have a few glitches during the switch over which have now all be rectified so thank you for your understanding and patience with us. We hope to see you again soon hopefully under better circumstances. More 

Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Ramada on the Rideau several times. The staff is always friendly. The rooms along the river have a view and small decks which are pleasant. The rooms have been updated and have a contemporary look. The beds are comfortable. The complimentary breakfast can be upgraded to a delicious full breakfast for a nominal cost -... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

WOW! Thank you davidrK5897HW for the amazing comments. We really appreciate your business and kind words. Hope to see you again soon! More 

Gananoque, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our son had his wedding there last week. We had over 15 people staying at the hotel, and the online reservation staff , the front desk staff and the manager were rude, ignorant, obnoxious, and miscommunicated the prices of the rooms. Due to being taken over by Ramada, the staff, including the manager, told us we "lied" about the prices... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear FederalMom, Thank you for mentioning Heather and her great service. We will make sure to pass along the wonderful compliment to her. We did unfortunately have a few glitches during our transition to become a Ramada property and we did our best to honor the reservations made during that time. We do have a reservation system now that documents... More 

Georgetown, Ontario
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start this review by stating that I am not one of those travellers that complains about poor thread count sheets or small noise issues. I look for a hotel that gives value for your money and a decent nights sleep. Recently booked on line for a trip to visit my daughter in Ottawa. I have stayed in many... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear GSouth, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize that you did not enjoy your stay. I am sure that if you would have contacted our front desk we would have rectified the noise complaint and toilet issue immediately if we had known about the issue. It is for this exact reason why we do have staff on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay