We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau

Hotel website
Hotel deals
2259 Prince of Wales Drive, Ottawa, Ontario K2E 6Z8, Canada (Formerly The Monterey Hotel)
Special Offer
25% Off 2-Night Stays
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau
Add Photo Write a Review

102 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    22
    33
    22
    11
    14
See reviews for
31
27
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (102)
  • Mar-May only
    (25)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (25)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We were boating the Rideau Canal and had to stop at Blacks Rapids lock for the night in South Ottawa. The Ramada is a short 10 minute walk from the lock. We were a bit apprehensive about the hotel as its on a busy road but our room was very very quiet. We recommend it !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kristine H, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one. Thank you for mentioning the proximity to the locks. We are delighted to be recommended, and are looking forward to your return stay. Sincerely, Kristine More 

Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Reserved 5 rooms 4 months in advance for all our kids and grand kids. Kids were all booked into the lowest basement level rooms that were damp, and dark. We had to request that every family had to be moved to better rooms. Our first room was smoked in. Terrible stink. Had to move from that room as well. Booked... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Front Office Manager at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear of your initial reaction to the rooms that you were assigned. Our Sales Manager personally addressed your concerns by showing you the suite and having the rest of your family accommodations changed to suit their needs. Time was spent on ensuring that you were happy with... More 

Travelers are raving about these Ottawa hotels

Woodstock, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a brief issue with one of the room access cards that was resolved with quickly with a visit to the lobby. Room was clean, A/C worked well. Bathroom in this 2xDouble room was very small however and not well lit. Bed was quite comfortable, staff courteous. I'd stay again if the location suited my agenda while in Ottawa. WiFi... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear SGIrleand, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. It is greatly appreciated. We pass the bathroom issue along to our maintenance depart to see if there is a possibility of changing the wattage of the bulbs. We are happy to hear we were able to resolve your key/lock hicup quickly and efficiently. Our staff here... More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

LOCATION Right on the Rideau River. 10 min drive to the airport. 20 min drive to downtown Ottawa. The hotel is somewhat isolated and a car is needed to get around. CLEANLINESS Acceptable STYLE Contemporary, compact, modern style. STAFF Friendly and efficient COMMENTS The old outside brick structure does not reflect the modern upgrades made to the interior. Rooms have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear DKlaver, Thank you for taking the time and reviewing the hotel. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly, and our property and room clean. We are sorry to hear that not all of your stay was satisfactory. We are always looking for suggestions to improve our property, and these will be passed along. We are... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2015

Located right on the Rideau river and right on Prince Of Wales Drive, this Ramada is a refurbished motel - refurbished though with great taste. Very modern appointments in the room including furniture and linens. My room was on the second floor of one building overlooking the river which made it nice and quiet. The front desk and breakfast area... More 

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear KatieToronto, We appreciate you taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We continually try to improve our services and we will be using your feedback to help us do so. We hope to see you again soon at the Ramada Ottawa. More 

Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

I rented two rooms for my bridal party a suite for two nights. Unfortunately, we experienced nothing but issues with the Ramada. I picked this hotel be cause it was close to the church and the look of the rooms for photos. I booked via the 1-800 number on their website and asked for consecutive rooms as I wanted my... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts. At this point there is no compensation or explanation I can offer that the Ramada Customer Support Office or our on site Director of Guest Services has already spoken to you about. We once again apologize for any misunderstanding or miscommunication that happened when making your booking or during your... More 

Fredericton, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2015

I was travelling to Ottawa from New Brunswick to pick my daughter up from university. I searched places to stay and the pictures of the Ramada on their website made the hotel seem really nice and appealing. When we arrived, the receptionist was very friendly and the reception area was nice. Once we opened the door to our room that... More 

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear nbchick3, Thank you for taking the time to write us about your experience. Firstly we would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the cleanliness of your room. During the Winter/lower months there are a number of rooms we try not to use and conserve energy. However, it is our responsibility to make sure that when we do sell... More 

Toronto
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

When first we reviewed this hotel, we were impressed but with one major exception: the level of noise from higher floors due to foot traffic, rolling chairs and suitcases and a rowdy party that included a midnight jacuzzi. While fellow visitors on this trip experienced the same problems (due to inconsideration but mostly hardwood laminate floors that allow for no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

roberin - I am so glad to hear that your stay this time was better this time around. Thank you for your loyalty and your review. I will bring the floor noise to the attention of management to see if there is any solution to reduce noise. Thanks again and hope to see you soon. More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

Just stayed 2 nights at this Ramada, which was fairly good. To start, we arrived early in the afternoon and our room was ready however the room we were offered was in the front facing the main road. I asked if there was another room available that was not facing the road and there was so we were moved to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mr_Mark_Lowe, Reservations Agent at Ramada Ottawa On The Rideau, responded to this review

Dear Witz17, Thank for taking the time to review your stay. We appreciate your honesty, the amount of detail and thought you put into what you wrote. We now have our dock in the water with canoes that guests are able to rent. Our pool is currently being prepared to open and should be open by mid June. We hope... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ottawa hotels
1.1 mi away
Days Inn Ottawa Airport
Days Inn Ottawa Airport
#25 of 68 in Ottawa
4.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ottawa Airport
7.5 mi away
Travelodge Ottawa East
Travelodge Ottawa East
#43 of 68 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Southway Hotel
Southway Hotel
#6 of 68 in Ottawa
4.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ottawa Airport
6.5 mi away
Days Inn Ottawa West
Days Inn Ottawa West
#40 of 68 in Ottawa
3.5 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay