We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 68 Ottawa hotels

WelcomINNS

2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Hotel amenities
WelcomINNS
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added WelcomINNS to your Saves list
Ranked #43 of 68 Hotels in Ottawa
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
aka_space Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    27
    7
    3
See reviews for
30
22
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (99)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (44)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I were on a road trip and had not booked in advance. We arrived quite late, tired after a long drive. The lady on reception was helpful and pleasant. The room was comfortable, clean, reasonably spacious and well equipped. Very good en-suite shower room. We were on the top floor and had great views over the city... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Smiths Falls, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

The hallways have a funky smell. My room had a strong cigarette smell despite being a non-smoking hotel. The TV in the room didn't work. Like most hotels there were no accessible electrical outlets near the bed. The room was clean however. Checkout time of 11 is earlier than some hotels. The hotel would be a deal at half the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wade k, Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear Mark613, Thank you for taking the time to review the WelcomINNS Hotel Ottawa; your feedback is much appreciated. We are terribly sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our hotel during your visit. It is discouraging to hear that experiences an odor while at the hotel. In an effort to fully address your experience, additional details would... More

Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

Another local hotel that I like to stay at was booked up - so I booked into the Welcome Inns in Ottawa. It's "ok" but lacking in many of the elements that I like for business travel. The walls are thin - I could hear people talking in the next room; a carby continental breakfast is included (yuck). It was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wade k, Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear Jstead, Thank you for taking the time to review our property with for TripAdvisor audience. We are pleased to hear that you would stay at our hotel again however, we are sorry that you were not pleased with the continental breakfast that we offer. Please know that we take all comments and suggestions seriously and we have noted your... More

prince edward county, ontario
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

We booked this hotel through Hotwire- we needed a room before heading out on the train- so we weren't looking for much. We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was a good size, had a microwave and a mini fridge; wifi worked well, free parking and continental breakfast were nice inclusions. No, the breakfast area is not big and it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
wade k, Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We love knowing that our guests find our spacious rooms comfortable and livable. We greatly appreciate your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again whenever your travels bring you to the Ottawa area. Sincerely, Manager More

Kitchener
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Has a weekend in Ottawa and ended up staying here for the last night. The accommodations were adequate for our needs, which was really just a room to stay in before heading out. The beds were comfortable, the service was quick and the continental breakfast in the morning was appreciated before getting on the road. It was a little strange... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
wade k, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are reviewing your comments regarding coffee machine location as it is our goal to provide excellent service to all guests. Thank you for choosing the WelcomINNS Hotel Ottawa, we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely,... More

Mascouche, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Unsanitary. Disgusting bathroom. Hair on the shower walls, not ours. Poor service. Breakfast barely edible and no dinning room, the breakfast is served in the lobby. The toilet was clogged and overflowed. Really bad experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear Véronique L, Thanking for taking the time to review our property, your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are shocked and terribly sorry to hear that you were unsatisfied with your stay. We take guest concerns very seriously and would like to discuss the issues expressed in your review with you. Please feel free to contact us upon your earliest... More

Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This hotel is close to the Ottawa city, located near the exit. Easy to get to city and access all popular places. It is situated at a nice quite place. Check in and Check Out was easy and - Breakfast was free. - WiFi speed was really good. Better than so many good hotels. - The front desk service was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear Waqaslone, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we thank you for the compliments on our amenities and the sleep quality of our property. We are reviewing your comments regarding front desk wait times as it is our goal to provide excellent... More

Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Really bad choice of hotel!! We arrived exactly at 3pm(check in time)to be told that we had to wait approx 1/2hr because the room was not yet ready. Around 3:30, my husband went in the room and to his dismay,it was still in a total state of disarray with food, cake etc all over the floor.Needless to say,we requested another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear F and F A, Thank you for reviewing our property with our TripAdvisor audience. We are very shocked to hear about your negative experiences and we are terribly sorry that this occurred during your visit. Your concerns have been brought to the attention of the housekeeping manager, the front desk manager, and the general manager of the property, however,... More

Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Booked through hotels.com. Watch it. Booked on 5th of month for 6th stay with promise of easy cancellation. (In fine print,"No cancellation after the 4th!) With taxes, over C$150! Location well outside Parliament/downtown district. Front desk staff very accommodating.The one bright spot! Housekeeping poor. One mug for 3 adults. Flimsy towels. Had to ask for towels for 4 persons. outfitted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear QuebecoisFrancophile, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are so sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with us during your recent visit. We are very proud of our product and we were shocked to hear about the problems you encountered here. We would greatly appreciate it if you could please contact us... More

Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit to ottawa. The beds are comfortable. The AC works even on the hottest days. The rooms are spacious, with good workspace room. It's a five minute drive to downtown, and reasonable access to all museums. Parking in Ottawa is expensive, but the room rates here with free on site parking help to compensate for having to drive... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WelcomINNS, General Manager at WelcomINNS, responded to this review

Dear Miranda C, Thank you for taking the time to review our property; we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We love knowing that our guests find our spacious rooms comfortable and livable. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our breakfast and you found our front desk team to... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to WelcomINNS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomINNS

Address: 1220 Michael Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — WelcomINNS 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your WelcomINNS reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welcominns Hotel Ottawa

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay