We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ottawa

33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Ottawa
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    418
    165
    56
    22
See reviews for
187
236
75
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (850)
  • Mar-May only
    (168)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (240)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
Campbellton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Loved everything about this hotel. Beautiful suite!!!! Walking distance from the market and main attractions. i recommend this hotel. Staff friendly and bilingual. Smiling. Compares to any other hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Bernice L, Thank you so much for that wonderful review and your recommendation. I am delighted to read that you were satisfied with our friendly associates, that the accommodations that were provided to you meat your expectations and that our proximity to the best of what Ottawa has to offer. Once again, thank you for your great review! Sincerely,... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location, short walk to market restaurants and attractions and parliament hill. This hotel is not the clean modern Eurostyle hotel it once was. Our room (205) looked dated. Carpet is dirty and needs replaced - definitely would not step on it on bare feet. Bathroom needs a thorough cleaning - fingerprints on glass doors, floor looks dirty but that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Don_Falconer, Please accept our sincerest apologies if your recent stay did not meet your expectations. We are currently conducting a guestroom renovation program to update our "Eurostyled" modern look. As a TripAdvisor Senior Contributor, your opinion is very important to us. Rest assured I will have our Executive Housekeeper follow-up on room 205. I hope you will consider this... More 

Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
34 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned here because of the good location, comfortable and spacious rooms. I have to say I like the Novotels in general and this one is one of the better ones I have stayed at. Very fast, courteous check-in and checkout, reasonable rates compared to surrounding hotels. Airy and modern design throughout. Excellent food at the Albion Room restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear fearlessbob, Thank you for your wonderful review. It is such a pleasure to receive such a review especially from a returning guest and a TripAdvisor Top Contributor. It is always an honor to have you as our guest! Please do not hesitate to recommend us to all your colleagues, friends and family. Sincerely, Danny Ponte Front Office Manager Novotel... More 

ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a hotel "in the action". We went for skating on the canal, but this is close to everything in downtown Ottawa. The rooms were very clean, we opted for an on-arrival upgrade to a suite with a separate bedroom and breakfast. The breakfast was great! Only weird thing is the pool is in an adjoining hotel, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear ue1, Thank you for your great review. I am delighted that the accommodations and breakfast provided by Novotel Ottawa satisfied your expectations. Although our pool is shared with the neighboring property, it is a great feature that our guests appreciate when choosing accommodations for their travels to Ottawa. Sincerely, Danny Ponte Front Office Manager Novotel Ottawa More 

Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I recently stayed at the Novotel for three nights, for both pleasure and business (a mixed trip). The staff was wonderful however I cannot say the same about the hotel. I am not normally picky but there was just too much wrong to not say something. Check in was fine, staff was very knowledgeable and courteous. One complaint would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Carra M, Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I am very sorry that we were unable to satisfy your expectations. The room with two double beds has a maximum occupancy of four people. Had there been an emergency during your stay, you had potentially put you and your family in danger. Please accept my sincerest... More 

London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

perfect location near the Byward Market and Parliament.....clean, well appointed hotel.....staff appear happy and well trained.....this is your BEST bet in downtown Ottawa unless you are looking for bigger suite style rooms.....underground "public" parking but it seems OK.....$23 CAD per day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear johnbalmer, We are delighted to receive such comments, especially from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor. From the whole Novotel Ottawa team: THANK YOU SO MUCH! It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests, and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back once again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to recommend... More 

Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Similar to other Novotel properties in Canada, the Downtown Ottawa location has very basic, clean rooms, but a nice coat of paint, and reworking the bathrooms would make it more special. The cafe and bar of the The Albion Room was nicely laid out. I quite enjoyed the food served in the bar area and breakfast was good, but could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear MRSJ2MNL, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and bar, The Albion Rooms. Rest assured, I will share your comments about our breakfast offer to our Food and Beverage team. I am sure they will take your suggestions in consideration. Sincerely, Danny Ponte Front Office Manager Novotel Ottawa More 

Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time staying in a hotel in Ottawa; we were really happy with this choice, as it was really close to Byward Market, so there were dozens of restaurants to choose from and lots of nearby shops (even in addition to Rideau Mall across the street). We left the car in the hotel parking lot the whole time and walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear binq, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. Let me first start by expressing my sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered at check-in. It is essential that our front desk informs our guests about the different levels of parking and which ones have access to the hotel directly. I will follow... More 

North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

Located right next to the Rideau center, this is an amazing location downtown. Unfortunately, the hotel is clearly in need of updating. Worn, torn, and buckling carpets in hallway, uncomfortable beds, and wired Internet (with a unusably slow wifi connection) make this a less than ideal spot to stay on business. Staff were friendly but did not have any solutions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Ryan P, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies if your accommodations did not live up to your expectations. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, your opinion is of great value to us. We are currently undergoing a renovation program that will bring a cool, modern style to our guestrooms and corridors. We... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities