We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ottawa

3.0 of 5 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Offers & Announcements
20%OFF + room upgrade
#29 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
713 Reviews 4 of 5 stars
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Ottawa
  • Overview
  • Reviews (713)
  • Photos (183)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (72)
  • Location
  • More
Save Saved
You added Novotel Ottawa to your Saves list
true
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    358
    133
    43
    18
See reviews for
157
201
67
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our bed mattress smelled of Urine , I called and complained to the front desk and was told that housekeeping will take care of it . which did not happen , So I called and complained again at least 3 times . Finally one of the front desk employees offered to move us to another room which we accepted as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a tour of Ontario . The room was small and had only one king sized bed for myself my husband and my 9 year old son, we managed but did not request an extra bed as there was no room for it anyway. Every where else had provided 2 queen sized... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear matronmum, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay, I am sorry you were placed in an awkward position having to share a king size bed with your spouse and nine year old child. I'm sure there must have been some miscommunication about the number of people travelling with you. I'm sure that we had a room with two double... More

Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

After a heavy jetlagged day we arrived here by 9pm. Receptionist was courteous and very quick to check us in. Also informed us about eating options nearby but we opted for the pub downstairs, called Albion Rooms. Here, I personally reached nirvana eating their elk burger. Highly recommended (see reviews on the pub itself) The room was small-ish though our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear ka0z, It is with great pleasure to read a fantastic review, especially coming from a Senior Contributor. I will pass along your comments to our Chef Stephen LaSalle on the elk burger and the effect it had on you. I trust that this will not be your last visit at Novotel Ottawa, as your return will be always welcomed... More

Vancouver
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

There is generally nothing wrong with the room itself but walking the hallways and corridors you suddenly get a sense that this hotel is in dire need of a renovation, carpets are really old and it smells, the walls are yellowish and it just looks very worn out. Am not even sure if this should qualify as a 3-star hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear sandman8888, Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay with us. Rest assured we are in the process of planning a renovation project that would include guest rooms and corridors. Our plans indicate that this could start as early as December of this year. In your comments you mentioned us having a great location. You forgot to... More

Goffstown
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We recently visited Ottawa, Canada. We stayed at the Novotel Hotel in downtown Ottawa. We found the accommodations very pleasant. The room was great. The hotel is pet friendly and close to everything downtown. The only drawback is the parking. Parking was expensive as you have to park in a private parking garage next to the hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Birdman45, Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments from our guests, especially when they are classified by TripAdvisor as a Top Contributor. Please note that parking, when purchased through the hotel, provides our guests the possibility of using their car during their stay for one set fee... More

Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a nice stay in this hotel with very attentive staff, a very nice suite room, very good breakfast and nice bar. Only minus point is that the IT corner is rather focussed for tourists than for business. Close to By-market makes walking around in the evening requiring some attention.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Belgium412, Thank you for commenting about your recent stay with us. Our Web-Corner is quite in demand especially in a busy leisure period that we are currently going through. I'm sorry if you though that this facility did not cater to your needs as a business traveler. I trust you requested help from one of our associates to help... More

Salerno, Italy
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was excellent: few minutes walking from parlament hill and market area. Room has space also to relax on 2 sopha. Staff was very gentle and prepared on the city events. Negative points: pool was noy very clean (shared with another hotel) and the parking was a private structure (with access to the hotel hall)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear marilu_basso, As a Senior Contributor for TripAdvisor, it is a pleasure to receive your very good review. Thank you for advising about the cleanliness of the swimming pool area, we will be keeping a close eye to make sure our partner maintains this area continuously clean. In the same way, everyday we are in communication with the parking operators... More

Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there on Canada Day, when it is a madhouse. The hotel however provided excellent service, although their restaurant menu was necessarily revised just for the special day. The rooms are well furnished and roomy. We asked for and received a room which provided an excellent view of the fireworks performance nearby. It was raining so that was an... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Ron W, Thank you for reviewing your stay at Novotel Ottawa back on Canada Day. It is always a pleasure to receive positive comments, especially from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor. If you travel plans bring you back to Ottawa for Canada Day or any other occasion, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again. Best Regards,... More

Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were there last week. Good location but that's all I can say. Not Worth 200$ a night, that's for sure!!! Room is basic, pool is located in another complex (5 min away but still)... We did not enjoy our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Joe11e, Thank you for sharing your experience of your last stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies if you did not find your experience with us satisfactory. I hope you shared your concerns with one of our associates, as they would have surely gone out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. Please feel free to... More

Roydon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Well positioned and just 7 or 8 minutes walk from Parliament Hill and across the street from the main shopping mall. A classic Novotel, simple clean décor, nothing fancy. The rooms, the bar/restaurant are all fine, not exceptional but perfectly O K. The staff are well trained and helpful and car parking is available under the hotel. If you want... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear RodneyT513, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from out guests. Customer service is very important to us, so I am very happy to hear that you found our staff to be helpful. Best Regards, Tanya Constantineau Lead Guest Service Agent Novotel Ottawa More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Novotel Ottawa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Novotel Ottawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ottawa

Address: 33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa > Byward Market Area
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Ottawa 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Ottawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ottawa Hotel Ottawa
Ottawa Novotel
Accor Ottawa

183 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (148)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (43)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Ottawa with
any amenities

Amenities

Hotel Style
#23 Business Hotel in #24 Romantic Hotel in
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of downtown Ottawa, business travelers are a short walk from the business and government districts and across the street from the Ottawa Convention Centre. With nearby attractions like the Rideau Canal, ByWard Market, Canadian War Museum, and Parliament Hill and located within walking distance of the Tulip and Winterlude annual festivals, Ottawa hotel guests enjoy comfort and relaxation in our modern design. Featuring a full buffet each morning and all day service, Novotel Trio restaurant is a great way to start or end your day. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
282

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Ottawa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer