We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Novotel Ottawa

33 Nicholas Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1N 9M7, Canada
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Ottawa
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Novotel Ottawa
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    413
    163
    56
    22
See reviews for
184
233
74
261
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (841)
  • Mar-May only
    (159)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (288)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (240)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (154)
All months
ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a hotel "in the action". We went for skating on the canal, but this is close to everything in downtown Ottawa. The rooms were very clean, we opted for an on-arrival upgrade to a suite with a separate bedroom and breakfast. The breakfast was great! Only weird thing is the pool is in an adjoining hotel, and a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I recently stayed at the Novotel for three nights, for both pleasure and business (a mixed trip). The staff was wonderful however I cannot say the same about the hotel. I am not normally picky but there was just too much wrong to not say something. Check in was fine, staff was very knowledgeable and courteous. One complaint would be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Carra M, Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. I am very sorry that we were unable to satisfy your expectations. The room with two double beds has a maximum occupancy of four people. Had there been an emergency during your stay, you had potentially put you and your family in danger. Please accept my sincerest... More 

London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

perfect location near the Byward Market and Parliament.....clean, well appointed hotel.....staff appear happy and well trained.....this is your BEST bet in downtown Ottawa unless you are looking for bigger suite style rooms.....underground "public" parking but it seems OK.....$23 CAD per day

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear johnbalmer, We are delighted to receive such comments, especially from a TripAdvisor Top Contributor. From the whole Novotel Ottawa team: THANK YOU SO MUCH! It was a pleasure to have you as one of our guests, and we hope to have the honor of welcoming you back once again in the near future. Please do not hesitate to recommend... More 

Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Similar to other Novotel properties in Canada, the Downtown Ottawa location has very basic, clean rooms, but a nice coat of paint, and reworking the bathrooms would make it more special. The cafe and bar of the The Albion Room was nicely laid out. I quite enjoyed the food served in the bar area and breakfast was good, but could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear MRSJ2MNL, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed our restaurant and bar, The Albion Rooms. Rest assured, I will share your comments about our breakfast offer to our Food and Beverage team. I am sure they will take your suggestions in consideration. Sincerely, Danny Ponte Front Office Manager Novotel Ottawa More 

Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time staying in a hotel in Ottawa; we were really happy with this choice, as it was really close to Byward Market, so there were dozens of restaurants to choose from and lots of nearby shops (even in addition to Rideau Mall across the street). We left the car in the hotel parking lot the whole time and walked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear binq, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. Let me first start by expressing my sincerest apologies for the issue you encountered at check-in. It is essential that our front desk informs our guests about the different levels of parking and which ones have access to the hotel directly. I will follow... More 

North Bay, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located right next to the Rideau center, this is an amazing location downtown. Unfortunately, the hotel is clearly in need of updating. Worn, torn, and buckling carpets in hallway, uncomfortable beds, and wired Internet (with a unusably slow wifi connection) make this a less than ideal spot to stay on business. Staff were friendly but did not have any solutions... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Danny P, Front Office Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Ryan P, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies if your accommodations did not live up to your expectations. As a TripAdvisor Top Contributor, your opinion is of great value to us. We are currently undergoing a renovation program that will bring a cool, modern style to our guestrooms and corridors. We... More 

Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice clean and friendly hotel with small rooms. Tw double beds just fit in. Nice decor? Pool was fun for the kids. Great locatin. Close to Byward market, Rideau mall and short walk from parlement. Would recommend this location. Buffet open early for those who are up early.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Stephane F, Thank you for sharing your experience at Novotel Ottawa. It is such an honour to receive such positive feedback from a Senior Contributor. I am very glad that the location was suitable to your needs and that you were able to enjoy your time spent in Ottawa. Thank you very much for recommending us to your family... More 

Milton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from our first visit to Ottawa over Easter Weekend. The location was great within walking distance to all the main attractions and By-ward market with great restaurants. The hotel was clean with a cozy bar in the lobby. We upgraded to the larger suite upon arrival as the rooms are double beds not 2 queens. We got... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Rosemary D, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. Let me first start by apologizing for the incident with the noise in the hallways that you encountered during your stay. I am very glad that our Front Desk was able to resolve the problem quickly for you, but I still... More 

Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Considered as a whole, the price, location, and amenities of the Novotel Ottawa hits that sweet spot which savvy travellers should be looking for. The fitness centre is open 24 hours and the equipment was completely functional, if a little old. I didn't have the need to make extensive requests of the hotel staff, but from the interaction I did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Raheem S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. I am very glad to hear that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. I will share your wonderful comments with the staff; I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we... More 

Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Recently stayed at the Novotel for business. Rooms were clean and service was friendly and efficient. It's definitely worth the extra money to upgrade the rooms, I really enjoyed my separate sitting area and private bedroom. Room service is only available until 10 o'clock, so keep this in mind if you have a late meetings. Enjoyed my stay and will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rafael B, General Manager at Novotel Ottawa, responded to this review

Dear Karpedmgirl, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your recent stay at Novotel Ottawa. It is such a pleasure to read such positive feedback. I am very glad that our Executive Room accommodated your needs and that our staff treated you excellently. We are very much looking forward to your return to Novotel Ottawa. Do not forget to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

190 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (153)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (64)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question