We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Lord Elgin

#17 of 67 Hotels in Ottawa
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
100 Elgin St, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5K8, Canada
Special Offer
Stay & Save-up to 25% off
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lord Elgin
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Lord Elgin
Share an Experience

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    594
    238
    74
    31
See reviews for
288
492
86
378
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1456)
  • Mar-May only
    (256)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (498)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (419)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (283)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Lord Elgin on a recent business trip to Ottawa. The location was superb within walking distance of parliament buildings and the hotel looks very nice from outside. Check in was very fast and staff at the front desk very efficient and friendly. The room was nice size with two large windows. Comfortable king size bed, but with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear awningsman, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the staff are living up to our patron’s expectations, and we plan to keep it that way! We actually are in the midst of planning a major renovation for our guestrooms and hallways. We are very... More 

Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Average experience, but good location. Contrary to what I have read in past comments... no the beds are not awesome, they were too firm - not for making a very good night's sleep. Small pool area (for such a large hotel) and only 4 feet deep. Wasn't aware of the $28 parking per day (valet). A valet took our bags... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear liketotravel777, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. We take all feedback we receive under advisement in an ongoing effort to better our services. In each of our guestrooms we have the Simmons Beautyrest mattresses. As you point out, most of our guests do find these very comfortable and as... More 

Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looked so forward to staying at the Lord Elgin but was very disappointed. Helpful door men are there to great you. Check in was not as great, clerk lied to me about being to move me to a higher floor. The bed was "comfortable",the pillows awful. Pool wasn't heated (71 & 72dgr). Downtown, close to Rideau Mall & Parliament Hill.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear Debbie K, Please accept my most sincere apology if you were left feeling anything less than special at the Lord Elgin Hotel. I assure you that we take customer service seriously and make a concerted effort at making everyone feel welcome and at home. Might I ask that you contact Mandi McBeath, our Guest Services Manager, to further discuss... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Despite arriving late all went very well. The room was at an appropriate temperature as it was a cold evening. Amenities in the room were more than adequate and Starbucks coffee shop on the premises.Thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Thanks Srini C, for the great review - We hope to see you again when you are next in town! Best regards, David Smythe General Smythe More 

Montreal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a short visit in March 2015. We got a good rate so we tried it. If you have a car, factor in extra costs. Location very central to parliament, concert hall, byward market, easy walk for most people. Museum of Nature is at opposite end of Elgin street. I'd say fit adults could walk to it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Lord Elgin for 6 days. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location, can walk to most attractions and restaurants. Would avoid taxi service - very expensive and not reliable. Pool and hot tub were great. Hotel is well maintaned and clean. Wish breakfast was included food was expensive.

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the kind words tappygirl. That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your tips for the hotel and the city! We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit the next time you are in town! Best regards, David Smythe General Manager More 

Guelph, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I traveled to Ottawa and stayed at the Lord Elgin in February of 2015 for a romantic weekend away. The outside (the historic architecture) is absolutely gorgeous. However, the inside was kind of tired (both the guest room we were in and the pool area had a 1980s feel - i.e. neither historic or updated). The location... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear Alysha M, Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions following your recent stay with us. We take all feedback we receive under advisement in an ongoing effort to better our services. We are planning a massive renovation of all of our guestrooms, and are very excited for this project to move forward. I invite you to... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A short weekend getaway to Ottawa to skate on the canal and see some friends was made very nice by the convenient location of the Lord Elgin. The hotel was clean and comfortable and service was for the most part excellent. Minor complaints regarding how loud the fan on the heating system is, the tv froze a few times and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

It really is great to hear from our guests directly! And is certainly sounds like you were able to take advantage of our great location to make the most of your visit to Ottawa. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Best regards, David Smythe General Manager More 

Queens NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent nine nights at Lord Elgin last summer and it was a" triumphant entry" into Ottawa which has become my favorite vacation hot spot ever since. I stayed in a Parkview Queen Room and it was the best because it compensated for its size. I was able to watch the guards every morning around 9 am from my window,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Thanks Winsome W, for the great review - we're glad you found us! The daily Changing of the Guards ceremony is immensely popular during the summer months, young and old from all over the city enjoying listening to the band as they march to and from Parliament Hill. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again when... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you to the entire team at the Lord Elgin hotel for the wonderful service and hospitality we received during our stay. Check in was smooth and easy and our room was available before 3pm! The staff took the time to answer questions regarding local restaurants, walking distance to attractions as well as providing options for getting to the Senators... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DSmytheLE, General Manager at Lord Elgin, responded to this review

Dear Regcanadiantraveller, Thank you so much for the kind words. That's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that you will be back. We love to hear that Lord Elgin is living up to our patron’s expectations, and we plan to keep it that way! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

294 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (247)
Viewed
View from room (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (72)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
1:50
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (20)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question