We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ARC The Hotel

140 Slater Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1P 5H6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ARC The Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
ARC The Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

749 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    285
    264
    109
    68
    23
See reviews for
54
290
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (749)
  • Mar-May only
    (194)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (188)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (205)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (162)
All months
There are newer reviews for ARC The Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I stayed here the night after our wedding before leaving on our honeymoon. It was very nice- room was small, but very modern and extremely clean. Bed was comfortable. One thing my husband hated was that valet parking is mandatory- he hates letting service people drive his car, and had I known this I wouldn't have booked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of ARC The.Hotel. While we are delighted to hear that your overall stay was to your satisfaction we would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the delay in your check out. We do offer Video Check Out from the comfort of your guestroom as well as Express Check Out where we will email you... More 

Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

When we first arrived at the hotel we were assigned a room facing the same construction site that was mentioned in a previous review. We were told by the staff that they are working on a new parking garage for the very hotel we stayed in. However, we did of course reject this room. We were planning to have a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

ARC The.Hotel thanks you for your very detailed and complimentary review of our hotel. We apologize that the room you were initially provided was close to the construction next door. Unfortunately the information you were provided was incorrect. The garage that is being repaired does not belong to the hotel, it is a Government building on a adjacent property. The... More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Avoid this hotel if you want a nice stay in Ottawa! We spent one night in Arc the Hotel and the problems start from the beginning. The rooms are very small, so don’t go there is you have kids. In front of our rooms was a construction, and up to 9.30pm the rooms where very noisy. My car was full... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies with the mix up regarding the mini-bar charges. We certainly make efforts to avoid situations like this however, on occasion, mistakes do happen. When these rare occurrences do happen we try to make all efforts to provide a quick resolutions. Our Sparkling... More 

Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The staff was wonderfully helpful! The hotel's decor and cleanliness surpassed my expectations for the price and location. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

We are always thrilled to hear from our guests that have had great experiences with us and yours is no exception. Thank you for taking the time to review ARC the.Hotel and for making us your hotel of choice in Ottawa. More 

Calgary
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Great service - loved the champagne welcome.. Excellent restaurant with prompt and courteous room service, Convenient location for business meetings. Room was a bit small but well appointed and clean. Staff were well trained, professional and very helpful. This will be my base when working in Ottawa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recommendation of ARC The.Hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we are happy to hear that you would return on your next trip to Ottawa. We will look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Friendly and efficient check-in. Nice room, very modern and clean. The lobby and sitting area are very cool, modern. King-size bed very comfortable. For breakfast the next day I enjoyed the BEST eggs benedict I've ever had. Hotel is very close to the Ottawa Market area, so easy to get to hotspots and entertainment. The only down side was that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review ARC The.Hotel. We are glad you were able to enjoy all our hotel has to offer. Our front desk team would have been happy to assist with your challenges in setting the temperature in your room. We wiill ensure we are of service on your next visit. More 

Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel is in a great location to begin with, close to Parliament Hill etc. The hotel's lobby is inviting and modern. The rooms are well decorated but lack in closet space. Loved the bathrooms! The beds are comfortable and the staff is very friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Ottawa. It sounds like we were able to meet your expectations and we hope to have you return on your next visit so we can exceed them. Thank you for your business and we look forward to being of service again in the near future. More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Bed mattress was terrible, back was sore after sleep. It was like sleeping in a bowl. You have to pay to wifi, no big deal but ya think this would be free these days TV is old school. Star rate doesn't mate this hotel.unfriendly staff....Ottawa is amazing place to travel, just don't stay here

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you review on ARC The.Hotel. Please note that our management takes each issue very seriously and will be taking steps to address them. To that end, we replaced all of the Queen mattresses in the hotel last week. We have also replaced most of our televisions with flat panel TV's with the remainder to be replaced in... More 

Guelph, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

During my stay in May, we were very disappointed with our stay at the Arc Hotel. The beginning of the stay was off to an unfortunate start as even though we paid for valet, we needed to walk around to our car with the valet. We carried our own luggage, and while walking past the dumpsters in the side parking... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your candid review of ARC The.Hotel. It is always a great disappointment to hear of a guest that was not satisfied with their stay. We sincerely apologize that his incident occurred and have addressed the issue with the owner of the adjacent property to ensure that it was corrected. It was hoped that our efforts to correct... More 

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel was fantastic! It reminds me of a hotel I stayed in during a trip to Paris. Very cool, contemporary, chic, I loved everything about it. Wonderful boutique hotel right downtown near all of the government buildings - great location. The chocolate on my pillow and apples every morning sealed the deal for me. Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ArcGM, General Manager at ARC The Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your complimentary review of ARC The.Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel services, as well as, our unbeatable location. We would be honored to have you stay with us again in the near future. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

172 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (108)
Viewed
Room/suite (48)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (13)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay