We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 66 Ottawa hotels

Chimo Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1199 Joseph Cyr Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Chimo Hotel to your Saves list
Chimo Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
44%
Ranked #50 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
CommanderRyker Charlottetown, Canada
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    104
    99
    62
    51
See reviews for
90
76
33
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

It's not often that I will log on to a website for the express purpose of slagging a business, but this place just plain sucks. Avoid at all costs! The carpets in the hallways wreak of smoke as did my room, even though the hotel has a no smoking policy and makes you sign an agreement at check in stating... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really dirty hotel. Dirty bathroom. Toilet not cleaned. Hair on furniture not vacuumed I was lucky I spotted the bug on the bed before I unpacked. I left immediately. Do't stay here unless you want to bring bugs home.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MW Unfortunatly there are stricked rules on how a hotel can reply to comments on this site. While no one is 100 % immuned from any type of pest activity, we at Chimo can say that we have clean and up to date records in preventative efforts in addition immediate inspection reports from recognized specialized firms. Further more, should... More

Charlottetown, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at this location over Valentines weekend 2014. We booked a one bedroom suite for 3 nights. The hallways and carpet on the way to the room are in serious need of a facelift. The hall carpet is very worn and dirty looking. At first I thought they never vacuum, the carpet is just so old... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear CommanderRyker Thank you for your recent post, we look forward to your next visit Regards Your Chimo Team More

Ajax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well we had great difficulties with check-in which was not impressive, the front desk clerk refused to check my confirmation number because the reservation, for whatever reason, was not listed under my name. So I was cut off once and on hold for 8 minutes with hotels.com trying to get it sorted out. Checking the confirmation number would have made... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christine W : Thank you for your recent post, Our apologies for the incident as described upon Check in. We sometimes forget that common sens is a great cpmpliment to Policies and Procedures. We were especially appreciative of the positive comments beyond your check in experience. most would have left it at the opportunity comment For the benefit of... More

Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I got a Groupon for the Chimo Hotel for my boyfriend and me in February. It was a pleasant stay for us. It's not a glamorous place, but it's clean and the staff is very friendly. Breakfast buffet is included and is pretty basic with scambled eggs and fried potatoes, cereal and toast,but it's a nice change from continental style... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you over and more so looking forward to your next visit Regards Your Chimo Team More

Inverary On
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here because our friends wedding and reception were here. The room was a great price and included breakfast. The room was spacious and clean but the furniture and décor was a little tired looking. There is a pub on site for dinner and the service was good and so was the food. Breakfast was buffet style and included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing.... Regards Your Chimo Team More

Kingston, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Upon Check in we noticed only one person at the desk for quite a while and so we had to wait in line. During this time the phone rang continuously but the poor desk person was trying to manage phone and guests very unfair to employee and guest. Finally second person came out of nowhere stepped in to help but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "shemoore" Thank you for your comments, We did investigate and made adjustments to staffing and service exoectations from the people concerned. Thank you Your Chimo Team More

Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have stayed in the Chimo Hotel many times on trips to Ottawa. The hotel rooms are getting very run down. I was hopeful at check in that they have been updated/renovated as the lobby has definitely been updated recently: no such luck. There room was worn out: holes in the curtains, crummy looking carpet, stains in the sink and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear "Famtastictravel " Thank you for sharing your toughts, Good or Bad we appreciate your comments. We are sorry to learn that you were disapointed with this particular stay. We host dozens of tournament every year and will do whats required to prevent reoccurence. As for renovation plans, we are working on potential projects now and look forward with our... More

Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

The Male manager at the Chimo property in Ottawa was extremly rude over the entire course of my three night stay. Upon check in he actually bad mouthed one of his employees in front of a line up of people waiting to check in as well as myself. As well as over the duration of my stay I found myself... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

Our Apologies...Would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personaly aiming to secure more information and respond accordingly Thank you JP Benjamin, GM 613 744 1060 or 1800 387 9779 More

Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great location, free parking, free wifi. I always book this hotel when I'm in Ottawa. Very comfortable beds and pillows this visit. They are always decent, but I slept like a baby this past weekend! One thing I hate about some hotels are their heaters. If I need to sleep, it has to be quiet, and this hotel's heater/AC units... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
YourChimoTeam, General Manager at Chimo Hotel, responded to this review

THANK YOU ! Glad to read you enjoyed...Same great quality FRESH food except now...its FREE We look forward to your next visit Your CHIMO Team More

Been to Chimo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chimo Hotel

Also Known As:
Chimo Hotel Ottawa
Address: 1199 Joseph Cyr Street, Ottawa, Ontario K1J 7T4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Ottawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 66 hotels in Ottawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chimo Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Chimo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.