We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sands Motor Inn

366 McIntyre Street E., North Bay, Ontario P1B 1C8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Bay
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sands Motor Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

19 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    0
    19
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (19)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (8)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (5)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
Mendocino, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

All of these reviews are spot on and not lying a bit. This is a crack house/flop house of a disaster of a place. Sadly, my husband and I were driving across country and hit North Bay blindly at a time when there was a music festval happening and there was nary a room to be had for miles in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
New Liskeard, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

He put us in his "Best" room. Plaster spots everywhere, dirt under everything, dust and dirt on everything, holes in sheets, horrible pillows, the tenant next door began playing guitar at 10:30 and so my son, who booked the room, went to tell the owner we were leaving and he started to yell at my son to shut up and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6

Travelers are raving about these North Bay hotels

Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

When I walked in it felt like I had sunken into the tenth level of hell. The bed was covered in semen stains, there was also some really creepy dolls left in the room and they also have semen stains on the faces and the dresses of them. The washroom floor was rank with urine, and the floor was continually... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Smooth Rock Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Booked online from Ottawa and when we got there at 4pm the room wasn't done yet.We could see big spots on the matress and the room had a smell i could not describe.Went for supper and came back and told manager that we wouldn't be staying and wanted my money back.Was told he would credit my card if he could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

WOW, I have never seen such a complete dive, it's like a crack house. Unbelievable, the room was dirty, the bed sheets were so old that you could see right through them and had holes everywhere. The door would barely close and the headboard had fallen off the bed and wasn't repaired. It is run by East Indains who don't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We needed a hotel room last minute and looked what was around North Bay on our GPS. We called the Sands to reserve 2 rooms for 6 guys after camping in Algonquin back country for a week. Let me tell you, I would have rather stayed in the woods with no tent overnight then to sleep in this dump. This... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
THESANDSNORTHBAY, Public Relations Manager at Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review

we do apologize for your group stay at the inn, as the information you gave has been evaluated your group member brought individuals to the inn from elsewhere as management had seen people with your group. as at time of check in there was not a true understanding of why you had decided to leave.. either way i regret that... More 

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We actually just finished up our annual canoe trip and decided to stay one day in North Bay to end the trip. This place sounded good on paper, but definitely didn't live up to the hype. We paid, went to the room and walked back out and asked for an immediate refund. Not only was the area unsafe, but was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THESANDSNORTHBAY, Public Relations Manager at Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review

dear guest, the inn does regret your experience you had at the inn, and we do not discriminate on guest and as all places we do have those who live a lifestyle and might be a guest at the same inn as one might stay.... as your room was not completed at check inn there was no cleaning that had... More 

Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

When we arrived the manager had stepped out to go to the bank so we had to wait nearly half an hour for him to return to check us in. They still hadn't made our beds and when they finally did there were no pillowcases. They said they'd bring them in an hour. They never did. Throughout our stay our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
THESANDSNORTHBAY, Public Relations Manager at Sands Motor Inn, responded to this review

dear guest, i apologize for the time you became a guest at the inn, as there was a transition in housekeeping and maintenance unfortunately your unit had damage from guest prior to your stay the fittings and fixtures were displaced And as we as any hotel have guest that do make damage in a room, for there stay. the room... More 

Terrace, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Pulled in here because it was the first place we saw after driving all night... Crackheads everywhere. Felt completely unsafe. The door of our room was actually standing ajar and when we notified the manager he seemed indifferent about it. Once we got into the room I was appalled at how dingy and shabby it was. There were cigarette burns,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
Management response:

Dear customer, We would like to sincerly apologize for the inconveniences you may have had at the sands north bay inn, but as time has past almost a year the property has went through a major uplifting in management and structurally the hotel has made major changes. The area of the property has developed new real estate and the overall... More 

W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

First let me explain that I was only in North Bay to visit my Granfather in the Hospital. My first visit to North Bay was awful and the motel has tarnised my view of the city? Its disgusting!!! Upon arrival, I found out that they only accept cash, and the rate changes depending on where you are from?? My first... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
Management response:

Dear customer, We would like to sincerly apologize for the inconveniences you may have had at the sands north bay inn, but as time has past almost a year the property has went through a major uplifting in management and structurally the hotel has made major changes. The area of the property has developed new real estate and the overall... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these North Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton North Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites North Bay
0.5 mi away
Howard Johnson North Bay
Howard Johnson North Bay
#13 of 26 in North Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport (North Bay)
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Lakeshore - North Bay
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites North Bay
Days Inn & Suites North Bay
#17 of 26 in North Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities