We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 15 Niagara-on-the-Lake hotels

The Charles Inn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Savings in Niagara
The Charles Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Charles Inn to your Saves list
83%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
greenladybourne United Kingdom
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    37
    23
    7
    8
See reviews for
10
160
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (227)
  • Mar-May only
    (47)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (89)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (39)
All months
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was the Library room with a very comfortable king sized bed with luxury bedding. While the room decor was not quite to my liking, it was very clean. The room came with a fridge and two terry cloth robes. The windows have been blocked up to provide privacy that would normally be looking out on diners on the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
PA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff was very nice, the rooms were very clean.However probably one of the worst bed's I've ever slept,it was extremely firm. And our room was very nice but very dark.The only other problem was every morning the breakfast was the same,so I was a little disappointed but it's a great location within walking distance to the downtown village.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very charming. The service at this place was absolutely amazing- they went above and beyond to ensure a great experience. Very cute inn and truly the best burger in town. I stayed in room #8, the daisy room- 'cottage' feel to it with your own private screened in porch

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This Inn is old and beautiful. The ambiance very special and the staff so helpful and attentive. We only stayed one night but it was so worth it for the relaxing ambiance. The dining room exquisite and food delicious. The continental breakfast is so different from the norm. The flowers surrounding the hotel makes one feel that they are in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank so much for your review! This really is a special place, and our team is genuinely interested in providing the best experience; I’m really happy this was echoed in your stay. All of us look forward to welcoming you back to The Charles! Safe Travels. Sarah Legault Guest Services Manager More

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Charles Inn for two nights and had a fabulous and relaxing time! The Inn itself is gorgeous, charming and has so much history. We are a very young couple, and even for us it was truly a getaway. If you have mobility issues, I would recommend inquiring about a main floor room, as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your visit! It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have really taken advantage of all that ‘NOTL’ has to offer, and we are happy to have been a part of your experience. Our location is the best, not too close and not too far – the Queen... More

Palm Springs, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been in the hotel business for 28 years and this is one of my top 5 best hotel experiences ever! The Inn is decorated wonderfully. Our room (the Richardson room) was great with doors to a wonderful veranda. The bed was luscious! The food is terrific, and a nice continental breakfast that they will bring to your room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting your review; we are thrilled with the honour of being in the top 5! We really do offer a unique experience, and our staff is the best. All of us are happy you enjoyed Niagara, and especially your time with us here at The Charles. Thank you again, we can’t wait to welcome you... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful Inn, great service, amazing food, unfortunately the a/c broke in our room on our first night. As soon as we brought it to the attention of Sarah while we were being seated for breakfast the following morning she said she would have it looked into right away. Our server also informed us when we ordered our breakfast that our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! All of us truly regret that you weren’t able to stay, but really look forward to welcoming you back so that you can have the experience you were meant to have! It was a pleasure meeting you both, and I look forward to your return. Safe Travels. Sarah Legault Guest Services Manager More

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Charles Inn this past weekend to celebrate our first anniversary. We arrived at check in time and were warmly greeted and shown to our room, the Magnolia. A decent sized room with a large porch and nice view of the gardens. The room was very clean and the temperature (ac) was welcome as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for choosing The Charles to celebrate such a special occasion! I glad you enjoyed the room, and were able to take advantage of its fabulous verandah. We have twelve rooms in total, each of which is unique in size and decor with some brighter than others. Please feel free to contact me directly for... More

Caribbean
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We have been staying at comparable hotels in Portland, Seattle and Victoria on this trip. Our stay at The Charles Inn was the only one where we felt that the staff would do anything to make their guests happy. Every interaction with the various front desk and serving staff was polite, friendly and super helpful. We came in late for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your time with us. We really appreciate that you recognize our excellent team as they are an integral part of what makes The Charles stand out. I am happy you enjoyed your time with us, and will certainly take your comments about the lounge and the room into consideration... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

My partner and I have stayed at the Charles Inn several times now, and we wouldn't seriously consider staying anywhere else in Niagara on the Lake. The location of the Charles is perfect: a short stroll from the theatres, but not right in the middle of the pedestrian hubbub! It's a special, charming place. This time, we made good use... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah L, Guest Relations Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

A sincere thank-you from all of us here at The Charles! One of the things I love most about working at The Charles is getting to know our repeat guests and being able to welcome you back to your ‘home away from home’! This truly is, as you say, a special, charming place with personality and roots. Thank you again,... More

Do you own or manage The Charles Inn?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Charles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 209 Queen Street | Box 642, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario L0S 1J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara-on-the-Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Charles Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Niagara-On-The-Lake

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (80)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Charles Inn