We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls

Hotel website
Hotel packages
6546 Fallsview Blvd, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3W2, Canada
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    656
    367
    238
    242
See reviews for
473
1,095
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (2041)
  • Mar-May only
    (469)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (701)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (485)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (386)
All months
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I book this hotel at least twice a year and can't believe what a great deal they offer with their packages. I've continued to be impressed with the quality of the room, the delightful and helpful staff always greet me with a smile! The package includes dinner at Remington's and their food and atmosphere are terrific. Free shuttle to the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear loyal guest, Thank you for the warm and delightful review. We sincerely appreciate you kind words and love for our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Sincerely Nicole More 

L'Ile-Perrot, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Overall, the room was ok; good size, great location! However, $20 a night for parking! I paid $20 to park next to a garbage container! Wifi wasn't free, $10 a day! Who charges for Wifi anymore???Its offered for free in restaurants and malls....

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay with us at the Oakes Hotel. We do have a daily parking fee of 20.00 per night plus taxes. this is on-site and is self parking only. Our parking is located directly behind the hotel and also have an overflow lot when this is full. Our wifi... More 

lisburn
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we entered our room to discover that the bathroom was so small you couldn't turn round in it, even worse the sink is outside the bathroom effectively in the bedroom, the first thing you see on entering the room. No wardrobe what looked like scaffolding opposite the sink, damp clothes. The view from floor 3 not great, no leaves on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear disappointed traveller, Firstly please accept our sincerest apology for the displeasure you had with the first guest room. I have conacted the director of maintenance to immediately look in to this for us. We have and continue to remodel our guestrooms so that we may better serve our guests. Thank you for your review, through your opions and comments... More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: excellent views, location is very good, Remington is good food, good experience, Casino is close by, nice rooms, kind receptionists Cons: Applebees is very bad and expensive for what you get, pillows are horrible, there were suspicious origine stains here and there, Took pics but never showed management. Also, when I told them about my sh...y nigh they were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write to us to let us know where we can improve, I will forward along your comments to the housekeeping department in regards to the in room pillows. We always suggest to our guests that if the stay was not satisfactory to please speak with management during your stay. We never... More 

Port Perry, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very pleasant staff and so patient seeing as it was a cheer leading weekend and the hotel was slammed. Rooms were very clean and spacious and house keeping were very obliging. Parking was right at the hotel but was $20 a night. Very conveniently located close to the falls. Super comfy beds. Would stay there again in a heartbeat as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful and pleasant review, we greatly appreciate your comments and hope to welcome you back again in the future. Sincerely Nicole More 

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For our yearly get away, my sister and I booked the Oakes. For the first night, we had found a Groupon with vouchers to restaurants. Since we needed a second night I called the hotel directly. To my surprise, the price is cheaper when you call than booking online. We had the Gourmet package with supper at Remington included. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We appreciate your comments, through this we are able to make the changes necessary to accommodate our guest with a higher level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely Nicole More 

Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

View over the falls was great, we cannot deny that. However, we got booked in connected rooms with another family. Although communicating doors were locked, they weren't sound proof and we were therefore being waked up every morning by a mom and dad yelling after their kid. For what was supposed to be a "relaxing vacation", the purpose was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. We assign rooms at the time of check in highest to lowest and as they become clean from the housekeeping department. We will note your comments in regards to assigning connecting rooms to non family, as on busy weekends this at times can not... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was a little apprehensive about staying here after the reviews, but decided to give it a go as it was the best rate for a fallsview room. Check in was nice, friendly and efficient. Upon entry to the room, I discovered I had been upgraded to a jacuzzi room and I was very impressed with the size of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to write to us in regards to your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, whether good or bad. through our guests comments we able to improve our overall quality of service. We do offer an amazing range of rooms to suit any budget. From our traditional guest rooms with no view... More 

Macclesfield
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I cannot praise highly enough this Hotel, it has it all including the wow factor. My wife and I checked into this hotel on the 2nd April for 3 days for our visit to Niagara Falls. Upon arrival we were explained everything from the polite and friendly receptionist, who informed us that the Wi-Fi was free (and it worked perfectly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear Mark and Michaela, Thank you for choosing the Oakes Hotel for your trip to Niagara Falls. We are the closest hotel to the brink of the falls with the greatest views. We are thrilled that you liked your room and all of our amenities that we have to offer. We also have an observation area on the 14th floor... More 

Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here in February hence it was very cold but our room was everything we hoped for. First of all the view of the falls was spectacular, even if they were rather frozen over !!! The room was one of the older rooms, very 70s in decor, however I found this actually added to the whole experience since I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
nicole g, Front Office Manager at Oakes Hotel Overlooking the Falls, responded to this review

Dear Mark, Thank you for your review, we appreciate all our the comments we receive from our recent guests. Your feedback is what helps let others know of the great location and service that The Oakes Hotel has to offer. sincerely Nicole More 

Hotel Review Summarization

What travelers say

  • Great view(24)
  • Parking lot(10)
  • Very clean(9)
  • Wine tasting(7)
  • Jacuzzi suite(5)
  • Hot tub(4)
  • Friendly and helpful(4)
  • Casino next door(3)
  • Front desk staff(3)
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

805 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (775)
Viewed
View from room (192)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Room/suite (256)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (100)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (170)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question