We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 138 Niagara Falls hotels

Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #28 of 138 hotels in Niagara Falls
GreenLeadersBronze level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Timothy J Pittsburgh
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,075)
  • Photos (121)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (77)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    399
    216
    64
    97
See reviews for
415
457
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed Sat thru Monday Jul y 26 - 28.fast and friendly check in,Clean well stocked room had King with Jacuzzi 3rd floor had street noise but was tolerable have had worse at other places.Nice mix of toiletries.Staff we dealt with pleasant friendly and helpful.the price for parking is 9.00 a day better than the 25 to 30 at other places... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments of the staff and facilities. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We hope to see you back again soon, thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. More

Toronto, ON
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My stay at the Howard Johnson by the Falls was from Saturday, July 26th and checkout July 28th. I had originally booked the hotel room from the 1-800 phone number who was able to give me a corporate discount. The reason I chose this hotel was because of the significant price difference for the 2 nights we stayed. We paid... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your perspective on your recent stay. I am sorry that central reservations dis not provide you with the correct information, some hotel do provide continental breakfast but as we have a 24 hours Denny's restaurant on site it is not included. Our rates for parking are posted online and central does have this information. We do take... More

Macomb, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed in that hotel in June of 2007, room was good, my dad smelt little bit of smoking, I sometimes get woken up by the A/C kicking on, Denny's was good but I didn't like the spicy breadsticks. Staff was good. No people or kids were running down halls. Marineland theme park was good. I will stay in that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. we hope to see more of you than just every 7 years. It is always nice to hear from our repeat guests. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson and for coming back for another good stay. More

London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a family of 2 kids 2 adults,we stayed on july 4/14, place was clean, parking was easy on site, it is close to walking distance to attractions. Theres a variety of restaurants around. Service at front desk was ok do not expect a smile. Shower sounds lime your ceiling is going to fall when using it and I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the informative notations. It is nice to hear that our guests do have a pleasant stay overall. I do apologize if the impression you got of the front desk was no one smiling as that is uncharacteristic of the staff. Your comments about the pool were noted and checked and it appeared that someone had knocked it... More

Tennessee, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for four nights on floor 5. We looked at other hotels, but stayed here to fit into our budget. The wifi from our room was quite excellent compared to other hotels I've stayed at before. The pool is indoor/outdoor connected and has a water slide. The hot tub is larger and indoors. We didn't use the pool but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments to our staff and facilities. We are pleased to hear that you not only enjoyed the room and your stay but sampled some of the local establishments and found them to your liking. We hope to have the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. More

Parlin, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was terrible, from the minute we arrived. The room smelled musty, and was dirty. The towels were small and felt like sand paper. The elevator was always packed. We had to pay for parking and many times there were no spaces available. Beds were hard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was horrible. From the minute we checked in, there were issues. Our room was dirty, they had to switch us. The new room was not much better! My husband went to towel off after a shower, and his towel had a bunch of long dark hairs on it. When he complained , the clerk said nothing, just gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kentwood, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location was super convenient. It was close to restaurants, activities on Clifton hill, shopping and about a 15 minute walk to view the falls. There were 5 of us and 2 small pets. The room was quiet and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Too bad breakfast was not included and the rear door key pad did not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for your perspective as to the convenience of our location. Hopefully your stay as a whole was a positive one. As we do have a 24 hour Denny's restaurant onsite we do not offer breakfast. We apologize for the issue with the back door as we were waiting for parts to affect repairs to the unit. Parking is... More

Antioch, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family stayed at this hotel for 3 days. We were pleased with the service, cleanliness, and pool at the hotel. The location is great, not far from the falls and Clifton Hill, but not in the middle of the loud craziness of Clifton Hill. There's a WEGO (public bus that goes to a lot of tourist areas) stop right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HJ Manager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, responded to this review

Thank you for the compliments, we are happy to hear that you found your stay to be of good value. We hope that you did enjoy your stay and that you will consider visiting with Howard Johnson again on your next trip to Niagara. Thank you for choosing Howard Johnson. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls

Address: 5905 Victoria Avenue | 1 Block to Clifton Hill and Attractions, Niagara Falls, Ontario L2G 3L8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Niagara Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Niagara Falls
Niagara Falls Howard Johnson

121 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (90)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (34)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#1 Green Hotel in Niagara Falls
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Niagara Falls Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls is a 3 Key-Green Certified family-oriented, pet-friendly, full-service hotel that offers you wonderful Niagara Falls Hotel Accommodations consisting of 198 newly renovated spacious guest rooms including Family Suites, Whirlpool Guest Rooms and Traditional 2-Queen Bedded Guest Rooms, as well as our Balcony Rooms overlooking all the action below along the Clifton Hill District. The hotel also offers plenty of on-site above ground and under ground self-parking for your convenience as well as an on-site WEGO Stop to let you get around town without having to move your car. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
198

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Howard Johnson Hotel By The Falls and other travelers.
1 question
20 days ago

See all questions (1)

See which rooms travelers prefer