We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 36 Kingston hotels

First Canada Inns

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 First Canada Court, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added First Canada Inns to your Saves list
First Canada Inns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
41%
Ranked #28 of 36 hotels in Kingston
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Fred201408 Ottawa, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (132)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    29
    19
    36
See reviews for
45
33
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed August 29 - 31 and was impressed with the service cleanliness of this hotel. Its location is perfect and only minutes to downtown (wharf area). You can leave you car at the hotel and take a shuttle throughout the day. Indoor pool, breakfast items include cereals boiled eggs, bagel, toast, yogurt, fruits, juice and good coffee. A pool table... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I rented a room on Aug 23 and it was clean, tidy and just fantastic. the check in was seamless. The bed was very comfortable and I felt like I was on a cloud. The superior room is the way to go. Great value for your money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A friend had arranged for our stay at First Canada Inn. He had stayed there in the past. Our room was average. There were burn marks in the blanket, but the room was generally clean. The bathroom was a mess. The toilet tank had a crack in it, and due to the high humidity, the toilet sweat a lot, making... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This place should be shut down! I stayed there on a soccer tournament and the whole group could not believe just how disgusting this place really was, the sheets on the bed were the most disgusting i've ever seen, I had to go buy sleeping bags to actually sleep there. DO NOT GO THERE!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
dublin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Conveniently close to the highway but a long walk to town. Very comfortable beds, great black out blinds, spacious room but very noisy early in the morning, being woken by other guests at 6am. Breakfast would be acceptable if Delphi was provided rather than polystyrene cups and bowls. Starbucks located across the Rivas though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your comments. They are very important to us to ensure we are delivering great quality and great value. I'm sorry that some of our other guests did not let you receive the sleep you deserved. I hope though that your time spent in Kingston was a delight and we are very pleased to have you as... More

Cobourg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Arrived a little after check in time of 3 and the room was ready. Older hotel with two floors. No elevator so if you have mobility issues make sure they know to put you on the first floor. Pet friendly with ample green space to walk your pets. Room was large with a king size bed and had a firm... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We appreciate your compliments and we will also take your suggestions and see what can be done to make your next stay 100% delightful! it's great that you have found a preference in room location and we will always strive to accommodate your requests. Feel free to email me personally when coming back to Kingston.... More

Oshawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was embarrassed being the Manager of our soccer team to have booked this hotel. These are the issues I emailed to our booking agent so they are aware to take this hotel off their site. We would NEVER, EVER recommend First Canada Inn for this tournament and as a Manager I would recommend you take this hotel off of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit recently and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you if you wish. It is First Canada Inns policy to take payment upon check-in so there is no need to check out in the morning, you can just leave at... More

CANADA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This may be the worst hotel we have ever stayed at. I wouldn't know where to start with the complaints...dirty,smelly,horrible service and excuse after excuse for everything....All for $115 night? Ridiculous! This "hotel" is MARGINALLY $60/night. If you want to waste your money, stay here. If I could rate a -10 on it, I would! Do yourself a favour, if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. Unfortunately the weekend you stayed with us was very busy in Kingston and our price was very competitive. All... More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here with team during soccer tourney. Rooms are old and dated with the exception of new televisions. Cleaning is non existent in rooms. Complaints were made about blood stained sheets that stuck together. And moldy sheets. Numerous beer cans found in room we just arrived in and a layer of crud on floor. First hotel I have ever stayed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you very much for posting your review. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your visit recently and would like the opportunity to discuss this with you if you wish. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We have also addressed the cleanliness issues you have described, and assure... More

Cornwall
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed for a hockey tournament June 2014 Dryer caught on fire, halls stunk of smoke. Staff argued that the smell wasn't that bad. Several fruit flies in the room, dog foot prints on the bed sheets (we don't have a dog). Took dirty towels and didn't leave any clean ones. No room service unless asked for. Overflowing garbage in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HotelManager44, Manager at First Canada Inns, responded to this review

Thank you for taking a moment to express your concerns. I would have loved to have had the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here with us, however, I would still love to explore them with you further. Certainly what you encountered is not the norm at our property. Please be sure to email me personally. Sincerely, Taylor... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage First Canada Inns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to First Canada Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Canada Inns

Address: 1 First Canada Court, Kingston, Ontario K7K 6W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — First Canada Inns 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your First Canada Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Canada Inns Hotel Kingston
1st Canada Inns
First Canada Hotel
First Canada Inns Kingston, Ontario

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Kingston with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from First Canada Inns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer