We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hamilton Guesthouse

2.0 of 5
Hotel website
158 Mary Street | 137 Victoria Ave N, Hamilton, Ontario L8L 4V8, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hamilton Guesthouse
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    3
    3
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
2
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (13)
  • Mar-May only
    (2)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (7)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (2)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

I stayed at HGH while apartment hunting in Hamilton. Everybody was friendly and I experienced zero problems. I stayed in the dorm to save money and there were no issues with anything. I could ask anybody if I needed help with anything and there was a large assortment of tea and coffee onsite which was really convenient. There's a little... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It’s great to hear that your stay was so pleasant. Our staff always enjoys putting together a movie night. More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

This hostel was dirty, unorganised and in a very bad location in town. When arriving the room I had booked had been booked out twice so ended up being put in a different room which had no air con or fan and was super noisy from the road. One night when coming back there was a random person on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

I’m sorry your experience was so unpleasant. The only explanation that I can offer is that you arrived a day earlier than your booked arrival date, and therefore there was no room for you. The room you booked was our shared dormitory, which is perhaps not what you were expecting. We always encourage our guests to inform staff if there... More 

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

We stayed here in August 2014. Firstly we arrived and paid in cash, the right amount which I was told online. But when it came to showing us to our room, we found we had been put in a dorm of 4. We had specifically booked a twin room as we were travelling for the start of term at university.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

That certainly does sound like a shambles, and I can only apologize profusely. The mix-up in your reservation was (mercifully for us, though I imagine it makes no difference to you) unique - it came through on our system as a dormitory booking rather than a private room. From there, it seems that things snowballed and your experience went from... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I stayed in the downstairs single bedroom for couples called the potter room. It had a double bed which was nice, it was also secluded from the rest of the guests which I liked because the other guests seemed rather strange. Getting to the point, I arrived thursday. When I awoke friday morning I had a series of small bites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi there. I would like to assure you that we have neither fleas nor bedbugs, and that we take these allegations very seriously. Our rooms are meticulously inspected between guests, and we take many measures to ensure that there is no chance of pests. Furthermore, our bedding is always washed, so the source of the smell you experienced is not... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We contacted Hamilton Guest House via email and Tanya replied very friendly. She explained everything very well and was honest with us about how transport was kind of hard and other inconveniences of the matter. Also, when we told her that we didn't feel comfortable with giving out our credit card information, she understood and she was ok with payment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Hi, and thanks for taking the time to review. We’re sorry you found us less than you expected on arrival - we always try our best to be as helpful as possible. Perhaps there was some strange event going on, but the online information for our nearest grocery store is that it is indeed open on Sundays. Our staff does... More 

Hamilton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Hamilton Guesthouse is one of those rare unexpected pleasant surprises you once every so often come across in life.From the very accommodating owners Tim and Tanya to the helpful staff Tom and Wayne, they cannot do enough to help make your stay a most comfortable experience.You are within walking distance of downtown or you can use the bicycles supplied for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! More 

Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I actually live in Hamilton but have a small apartment. When I have guests coming to visit I stay in the HGH with my guests! I've stayed in Hostels all over the world and the HGH has that great "road trip" feel of staying in a Hostel far, far away. The folks who run it are so helpful and fun... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
hamilton_guesthouse, Owner at Hamilton Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the review - you know we always love to see you here! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
Downtown Hamilton
Homewood Suites by Hilton Hamilton Ontario
Downtown Hamilton
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
Sheraton Hamilton Hotel
#5 of 19 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Staybridge Suites Hamilton - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#12 of 19 in Hamilton
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
Downtown Hamilton
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hamilton
Visitors Inn
#3 of 19 in Hamilton
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay