We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Hamilton hotels

Howard Johnson Hamilton

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Hamilton to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hamilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
32%
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    39
    28
    37
    86
See reviews for
45
41
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ny usa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms tiny, hallway stinks of urine, no restaurant, horrible parking lot and overall not up to howard Johnson's standards. Stayed one night before a flight thinking it would be Bette than super 8 and boy were we wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We are disappointed that you were unsatisfied with stay. Yes, we do not have a onsite restaurant, but we are located in restaurant alley. Turtle Jacks, the Keg are within a 2 minute walk. Also an abundance of dinning, buffets and all day breakfasts are all down the road. Regarding our parking area. Our parking... More

Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was in Hamilton on a business trip and stayed for a whole week, my accomidation was at Howard Johnson motel. First of all, the location was a perfect nice and quiet part of Hamilton. Although the establishment looked modest in size and scope I was quiet thrilled and suprised at the level of customer service experience. Starting from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Dado D, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. Thank you for your complement on our staff,and the service they provided you. We take pride in providing great service to all our guest, and staff. We are glad you enjoyed your week stay with us, and hope to have you again here if you return to... More

Mississauga, Ontario
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was filthy, decrepit, literally falling apart. I can't believe Howard Johnson and wyndham would attach their name to such a place.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Scott B, I would like to take this opportunity to apologize on your recent stay. Our ceiling in our stairway was leaking, due to a roof leak, but is now in for repair.. Our hotel is an older property, there for it gives us the advantage to set our price's very competitively. More

Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was very helpful. Our room was large as well as functional. The morning breakfast was good and included coffee, juice, cereal and pastries. It's a great value for the money it costs to stay there and a perfect location. We will definitely stay here when we next visit Hamilton.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

ravelchick501, Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear from our guest who enjoyed their stay. We are glad we met your accommodation needs, and you enjoyed your time in Hamilton. We hope to see you again. Howard Johnson Staff More

Guelph, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I recently stayed here for business and was very pleased with the service. The staff was very friendly, and management ensured that I had everything I needed. The room was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is also in a very accessible location. I would definitely return to this hotel, as well as recommend it to others.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Heavy-chevy92, We are always pleased to here from our happy customers. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. On behalf of our staff and I, we hope to see you again in the future. More

Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel was ok for a quick place to stay, but bleak. The hallway had a leaking ice machine and the room needed updating. The breakfast was spartan. A positive thing was that the wireless came with the room. Wireless charges should be free in all hotels. not just places like this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Christopher A, Plain but functional is correct, we are an older building, but that gives us the opportunity to provide competitive price's along with great service and amenities. We are in construction in repair the ceil leak and looking to upgrade our ice machine. We hope to see you once again in the future. More

Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value, friendly staff, bed was clean and comfortable, Hamilton Mountain location overall average/good rating, stay was Feb/March 2014 - I think it is prime location it just needs the right banquet/restaurant to move in to provide weddings/full service. Catherine Johnstone

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you C_Johnstone2014, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are always happy to hear from our happy customers. You are absolutely correct, is would be great to have a large banquet facility for all types of events here. With our large free parking area, it would be great and convenient. We hope to see you once again in... More

Been to Howard Johnson Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hamilton

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel
Howard Johnson Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Hamilton Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hamilton Ontario
Address: 1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Hamilton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hamilton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Howard Johnson Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hamilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.