We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Howard Johnson Hamilton

1187 Upper James St, Hamilton, Ontario L9C 3B2, Canada (Formerly Airport Inn)
Hotel amenities
Howard Johnson Hamilton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Hamilton
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    43
    39
    51
    117
See reviews for
69
56
25
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (259)
  • Mar-May only
    (67)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (68)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (88)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (36)
All months
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This is, by far, the sketchiest hotel I have ever stayed in. A few things: 1) It is no longer a Howard Johnson. It is called the "Airport Inn." I can only guess that it dropped below the HoJo's already rather low standards. They have just torn the logo off the front. 2) It is half abandoned. The restaurant beside... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

I stayed 4 nights, one of which had no hot water at night (which is when I usually take my shower, before going to bed), and in another, I ordered in food, and left the pizza box on the floor. Next morning, I opened it and it was full of ants! I've never seen soo many ants in the 21... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2

Travelers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

The hotel was dirty, the staff slow to check in and check out and my credit card information was compromised in the process.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Welland, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Room was simple, but clean. Room was large, but chilly. Hotel is old, but acceptable. If you're looking to pamper yourself or sink into luxury, go somewhere else. If you need a bed to sleep in on a budget, come here. You get what you pay for, people. This is exactly what I expected for $65 per night. Would stay... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes, we are a simple, clean hotel. It is what we strive for on a daily basis. We hope to see you once again in the future. Merry Christmas, General Manager More 

St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Plaster & paint had large cracks on one wall, old electrical pipes were exposed on the ceiling, where there was also the roughest job of plaster or drywall patching I have ever seen, the drapes did not cover the entire this problem. When I persisted I was offered paper clips which they never brought to the room. I used the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for your unpleasant experience as a guest of the Howard Johnson of Hamilton. I appreciate the time that you took to bring this matter to our attention. I assure you that the matter will be looked into. More 

Welland, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Motel was filthy. People living & smoking in room below us. Fridge leaking, room was hot & stuffy. Towels & bedding stained. Unclean... I would never recommend to anyone. Can't believe I paid $85 !!

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at hour hotel of. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room.All rooms at the Howard Johnson of Hamilton are non-smoking, there is a $100 penalty fee if smoking occurs at our Howard Johnson. We take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness. Unfortunately, you experienced... More 

St. Catharines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

If you desperately need a bed and really have a terrible issue with sleeping in your car, well, I guess it's a bed. Rooms were very poor looking, parents room had holes in the walls ceiling was terribly repaired. Personally I've stayed in hundrends of hotels all across this country from big cities to holes in the wall in the... More 

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your letter expressing the problems you encountered during your stay at the Howard Johnson of Hamilton. We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At Howard Johnson of Hamilton, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanliness, Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards. We certainly to... More 

Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

this was not a very nice place at all it is very run down and the bath room was very dirty the rugs were dirty i would not bring a dog to this place it is very old the room need a lot of work i had know heat in my room

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are sad to here that you had such a negative experience on your recent stay. I do recall speaking with you quite a few times at the front desk, with such positive conversations we had on the accommodation industry. Any issue's that came up, I along with our departments handle... More 

Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

Other than the staff being most friendly, the condition of the hotel is what one would expect in a third-world country inn. The carpets were ragged and creased so that a fall could easily happen. Everything looked so old and drab.The electric sockets were dangerous and the A/C did not work.WQalking along the corridors seemed eerily dangerous to me.

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HojoHamiltonON, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hamilton, responded to this review

Thank you for your opinion on your recent stay. We thank you for booking with us, and are pleased to find out your stay moderate. As I mention in some of my responses, Yes, we are an older hotel, there for; we must provide cleans room, with good service at a great rate. Those are two of our most important... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities