We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carriage Ridge Resort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
90 Highland Drive, RR#1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carriage Ridge Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Carriage Ridge Resort
Add Photo Write a Review

298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    161
    89
    27
    11
    10
See reviews for
129
95
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (298)
  • Mar-May only
    (66)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (67)
All months
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015

We are from the big city. Once in a while we come here for a short weekend getaway. In the last 5 years, we have been here about 5 times. Pro: Great location. Prefer the one/two bedroom suite with jacuzzi vs. Hotel Room. It is definitely worth the extra bucks. It is triple the size, much quieter when then place... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear FearlessNinja, Thank you for giving us the opportunity to welcome you back to Carriage Ridge Resort! Thank you for sharing your thoughts about why you enjoy the condo suites. We apologize for the limited wifi service and we hope this can be improved in the future. We appreciate your business and thank you again for posting your comments. Kind... More 

Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

We stayed in a one bedroom unit with a pull out sofa. The rooms were spacious with a nice size full kitchen and granit tops. Huge bathroom which included a jacuzzi tub & shower. The condo was clean and nicly decorated, but all of the exterior were in need of maintenance (paint that's chipping/ stairs in a bad shape etc...).... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear agatha w, We were delighted to recieve your review about your stay in January. Your comments about the size of the condo-unit and amenties are sure to be helpful to future guests. We understand your comments about the building exterior and we look forward to some projects getting underway this spring and further into 2015. Thank you agian for... More 

Whitby, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

What a wonderful place to stay, everything we could ask for. Rooms are spacious and huge. Pool and hot tub so great. Horseshoe Valley minutes away. The Crazy Horse Restaurant has fantastic food and you must have their sticky toffee pudding...outstanding..

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Hello AHB1961, Thank you for taking the time to post some comments about your recent stay and pointing out the size of the condo-unit, the pool and hot tub and how close we are to Horseshoe Resort. We hope guests will use your tip about the toffee pudding! We appreciate your business and hope you will return soon. Kind regards... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2015

The place is nice and convenient to get to. There are lots of activities and restaurants. Well mannered staff and great service. I stayed there a few times before. I especially like a full kitchen and a jacuzzi tub in the room. It makes the room a part of the vacation experience. The only thing I'm not too impressed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear Randy W, It was kind of you to post a review and share information about your stay. We are pleased you continue to find the condo-unit amenities really make a difference to your vacation experience. Your comments about the exterior are well founded and we look forward to improvement projects planned this spring and further into 2015. Thank you... More 

Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2015

Large well equipped rooms right there on the hill, it's just across the road to get to the Cross Country trail system. Super clean pool and games room, out door BBQ's You can rent skis and get a trail pass for under $40 We will be back next season, Thank You!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Hello 878HELP, Thank you for sharing comments about your recent ski getaway. We are pleased to know you enjoyed the great ski conditions at our ski in ski out resort. Thank you for visiting the pool and letting guests know about the BBQ's. We appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Tara More 

Burlington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

I rented a 2 bedroom unit here for a week in January. The description says there are 2 pull out couches, they are the worst pull out mattresses EVER!!! Basically just springs covered in fabric so putting the mattress on the floor wouldn't have helped. We called the front desk and they said they have mattress pads because this is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear Laura M, We are very disappointed to see your review with the numerious issues and concerns you have described. I welcome your call should you be open to giving a few minutes of your time. I can be reached directly at 705-835-5858 ext 2626. We are very sorry for the experience you have described here. Kind regards, Tara More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

We had a great weekend stay at Carriage Ridge Resort. We rented a one bedroom unit that had a fully equipped kitchen a separate bedroom with a king bed and a living area with a queen bed pull out couch. It is a little dated in decor and entertainment and the free WiFi was slow but it was clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear BJ-Canuck, Thank you for sharing a description of your unit and the resort location. We are sorry the wifi is quite slow but really pleased to hear you enjoyed the ski in ski out location to Horseshoe ski runs! Thank you for choosing to stay at Carriage Ridge Resort, we hope you will return soon. Kind regards, Tara More 

Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

Good location for skiing, good size rooms with kitchen utility. Clean rooms. Needed help on a couple of occasions regarding a date change and extremely slow wireless internet and staff were rude and not very accommodating. To claim they have wireless internet in the rooms is a big exaggeration. Heated pool not warm enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Hello TravellerTO101 and thank you for returning to Carriage Ridge Resort. We apologize for the poor internet service and the impact this had on your stay. Thank you for also sharing comments about your condo-suite. Thank you for being our guest, we hope to welcome you back again soon. Tara More 

Ottawa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2015

The accommodations look great, but as some earlier reviews have stated, the level of service from some members of the reception staff is below sub-par compared to many other places. When one lady (the nice one) is unavoidably busy on the phone, while the other two employees are glued to computer consoles with their heads down for 10 minutes ignoring... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear HockeyDad54, We appreciate that you shared comments but it is very disappointing to learn of your experience at Guest Services. We sincerely apologize for the lack of service and hospitality and will be following up with our full team immediately. Thank you for posting a review. Tara More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Positive - large units with well equipped kitchens - location at the top of horseshoe valley ski hill can not be beat - very close to many golf courses as well - nice pool - dvd rentals are available on site - fun activities during the week A few things that could be better - housekeeping could be a bit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Ridge Resort, responded to this review

Dear plph, Thank you for choosing Carriage Ridge Resort for your recent getaway. We appreciate your comments about your unit, the ski location and and on-site activities and areas where we can improve. We are very interested in pursuing your suggestion regarding stocking groceries. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and we hope you will... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
3:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay