We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carriage Hills Resort

Hotel website
Hotel deals
90 Highland Drive | RR 1, Barrie, Ontario L0L 2L0, Canada
Carriage Hills Resort
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
tori700 Barrie, Canada
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    26
    20
    19
See reviews for
96
75
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (242)
  • Mar-May only
    (41)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was a nice room, the bathroom was a bit outdated but overall a nice stay. The staff was friendly. It is a little far out from the main things so you have to drive to get anywhere which is a bit of a bummer. We went to Moonstone to ski that weekend and it was about a 15 minute... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear tori700, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay in January. We hope you enjoyed the great ski conditions at Mount St Louis Moonstone. We certainly hope you will choose to stay at Carriage Hills Resort again soon. Kind regards, Tara More 

Sudbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite (actually neighbouring studio suite + 1 bedroom suite combined). 1 couple + another couple with their 2 kids. The kids slept on the 2 sofa beds (note that if people sleep on sofa beds, there is actually only one bed that is in its own room with a door) and adults slept on 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear Lisa L, Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent ski vacation. Your tips are fantastic and it looks like you are commenting about Carriage RIDGE Resort with a suggestion to stay in the 'middle building' for skiers. The Stagecoach building at Carriage Ridge Resort has the shortest access to Horseshoe ski runs. Thank... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the resort this weekend and are leaving exhausted. This resort advertises itself as family friendly and yet they do very little to ensure that your family has a good stay. On both Friday and Saturday night we filed noise complaints against our neighbours at 10pm. We were told that they couldn't do anything until 11pm. They seem... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear Heights2, We are very sorry to learn of your experience and welcome an opportunity to speak with you at your convenience anytime at 705-835-5858 ext 2626. Thank you Tara More 

Georgetown, Canada
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

We wife and I spent 2 nights here with our boys aged 5 & 8. We arrived saturday at about 1:00 and went to check in but the room wasn't ready, we were told it would be ready for 4:00 and given keys that would activate at 4:00 and a handout with the weekly activity calendar and a list of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear DXB538, Thank you for choosing to stay at Carriage Hills Resort for your winter vacation getaway. We are very sorry you were not offered a ready unit at 1pm or at 4pm. We agree it is a problem when your room is not ready at check-in time. However we are pleased to learn you enjoyed your unit and your... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

My children went for the March break camp two years in a row at horse shoe resort. They learned to ski and snow board in the week!!! Stayed at Carriage Hills Resort which is just around the corner from Horse shoe resort. Rooms have a kitchenette and lots of space. Had a great time! !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear Cynthia M, Thank you for sharing some details on your past stays during March break. Skiing at Horseshoe and staying at Carriage Hills Resort is an ideal combination and we are thrilled to learn you have enjoyed a vacation here several times. Thank you again for taking the time to post your comments and we hope to welcome you... More 

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed here with 2 families in March and had booked the single queen rooms. The rooms were big and had very good interiors. The bed and furniture were lavish and comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and sparklingly clean. We like the concept they had provided the muskoka chair and the balconies to sit and enjoy the view. Kitchen in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear Ruchir_Agarwal_, Thank you for taking the time to share comments about your stay last winter. This is great timing for guests who are planning to visit this season and we hope to welcome you back. Thank you for pointing out the indoor/outdoor pool. There are hot tubs both inside and outside all year long. Thanking for choosing to stay... More 

Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

Great family resort which is within half an hour to many local destinations, like Barrie, Collingwood, Midland and Wasaga Beach. The resort grounds and suites are very well maintained. The staff is always cheery and helpful. The resort has a combination indoor/outdoor pool which is heated so it can be used in all seasons comfortably. Many planned activities each week... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear red86zed, It was very kind of you to post a review of your stay in the summer. We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed the 'zoo to you' activity as this helps us plan for next summer. Your comments and tips are sure to assist future guests with their plans. Thank you again for your post and for... More 

Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2015

We stayed in a studio room with two queen and a pull-out couch from Dec 26-28. The room was adequate in terms of sleeping space (2 adults and 2 pre-teens). Quite dated interior and furnishings. Still had a tube TV and the bathroom had semi-peeing wall paper. Semi-private laundry facilities (shared with the adjacent 2BR unit) was a bonus. Very... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear rolliecoaster16, Thank you for posting a review and sharing comments about your unit, our location and associates. We hope your next stay changes from 'okay' to 'great'! Thanks again for taking the time and for being our guest. Tara More 

1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2014

Dear Wyndham resort/Shell v Vacation Club I want to thank Carriage Hills for ruining my kids and our family Christmas vacation. We had booked 1 week at this resort, Carriage Hills from dec 27 to Jan 3. We made the booking in Dec 2013, well over a year in advance. Yesterday we got a call from the resort saying that... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear Amavadia, We are very sorry for the experience you describe here and I welcome your call at 705-835-5858 (ext 2626). Thank you Tara More 

Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We had the big suite with two rooms and had about ten people stay there it had two kings I think and pull out couch. We went skiing and several of us crammed into the jacuzzi in our room. So much fun and we loved the kitchen and making a big meal together. Very affordable!! We had to wait for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tara W, Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this review

Dear JeniaToronto, We are pleased to hear from you and thank you for taking the time to share comments about your recent stay. We apologize for the wait during check-in, this is a challenge we continue to struggle with on weekends particularly in November. Thanks for letting us know you enjoyed your full condo-suite and great early ski conditions! Thank... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities