We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseshoe Resort

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horseshoe Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horseshoe Resort
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    137
    70
    67
    64
See reviews for
238
118
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (458)
  • Mar-May only
    (80)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

A wonderful resort. Great Beds, so comfortable. The pool and hot tub are in beautiful shape. So nice to visit for a dip in the morning! Room Service menu as well. A truly wonderful experience! We didn't try it, but they also have a golf course on the hotel grounds and many cool attractions near by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to say this is my first time writing a review and I wish it could be on a more positive note. Let me start off with a couple of positive points. Positive: The pool, its one of the best in the area. I've stayed at Carriage Hills and Ridge and this by far the best! and the open... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and the compliments on our rejuvenation of the indoor pool. Since this project was completed, we have been receiving very positive feedback from our guests. We sincerely apologize that our housekeeping team missed an important step while cleaning your room. This is not the norm or level of service we are known to provide.... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We moved to Canada in 2012, and have been skiing at horseshoe since the 2012-13 winter. We have always found the snow in great condition, the people who work there are incredibly friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is always friendly too, which is a nice change from some of the other skiing resorts in the area where people can have... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your skiing experiences at Horseshoe Resort. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to our team as this kind of feedback means a great deal to us all. We hope that... More 

Thornhill
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked one night at Horseshoe Valley since there was a web special, $200 for a 2 bedrm suite for the last day of March break, which seems quite reasonable. Check in was fast. Room was a bit dated, but big. However, for some reasons, the AC unit was set on Cool which was strange. There was 2 bathrooms which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to spend a night with us at Horseshoe Resort! I am pleased to read of the positive experiences and your personal recognition of Alexis for delivering great service. We will ensure she is recognized via our formal employee recognition program. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced in your room and that some items were... More 

Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent the first half of March Break, at Horseshoe Valley Resort. My parents are Skyline members, so we stayed in the Condos on the 5th floor. We had units 505 and 504. Both condos were completely renovated and gorgeous. I will say, however that the pull out couches were unbelievably uncomfortable. I could feel every spring in my back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your renovated accommodation and ski getaway over March Break at Horseshoe Resort and appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations and communication. We want you to know that each year we invest a considerable amount... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My family went for 3 days mid week and although the place was bustling with business every staff member greeted us with enthusiasm and professionalism The line ups for the lifts were quick and the hills well groomed For a treat we went to Senses for a fancy dinner the first night that did not disappoint The entrees were out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review - especially our kitchen brigade in Silks Dining Lounge & Crazy Horse Restaurant . It will be my... More 

Brantford, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A group of 6 went here to celebrate a 40th Anniversary. It was a change of pace for all. We all enjoyed watching people ski, and tube. They had a nice pool, that would have been more enjoyable if some people had made their children, not jump off the wall between sitting pool and swimming pool. This was clearly posted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We definitely recommend you come back to enjoy our summer season. Our resort offers a variety of activities from Mini Golf, Large Outdoor Maze to TreeTop Trekking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Golf and more. We look forward to return! More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Let me start by saying that i never write reviews and am not much of a complainer but this is beyond words. We checked in on Friday, March 13 without a problem as we arrived later in the evening. The next morning i went to the washroom only to have the access panel from the ceiling fall right on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

As the safety and well-being of our guests is a priority for us we appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize that our staff were not more responsive to your concerns on site. Our Executive Office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in order to gain additional information so we can investigate your concerns and personally offer an... More 

1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Several glitches At the hotel which could be overlooked if the customer service hadn't been so bad. Complete power outage losing us a day of skiing - wouldn't even give a late check out the next day so that we could store our stuff and get changed after our replacement day skiing in some comfort for the drive home. Offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was impacted by the power outage, which was out of the resorts control. I am pleased to read that our team did extend a replacement day of skiing and sorry we were not in a position to extend a late check out due to arriving guests. Ultimately your stay should have been a seamless one.... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Checked in on 12th and checked out on 13th. Room status: Found a dead fly in the ledge of window behind the blinds. Caught one myself. Dust settled on the blinds and on the guest phone handset. Called the front desk about it but the person who took my call(sounded like 'Shift supervisor') wasn't empathetic at all about the situation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to read about your disappointment. Our Executive office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in hopes to personally connect with you, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive experience with us, which we are known... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question