We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseshoe Resort

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Special Price
20% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Horseshoe Resort
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Horseshoe Resort
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    136
    70
    66
    64
See reviews for
235
118
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (455)
  • Mar-May only
    (77)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (142)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (142)
All months
Thornhill
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked one night at Horseshoe Valley since there was a web special, $200 for a 2 bedrm suite for the last day of March break, which seems quite reasonable. Check in was fast. Room was a bit dated, but big. However, for some reasons, the AC unit was set on Cool which was strange. There was 2 bathrooms which... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to spend a night with us at Horseshoe Resort! I am pleased to read of the positive experiences and your personal recognition of Alexis for delivering great service. We will ensure she is recognized via our formal employee recognition program. I sincerely apologize for the challenges you experienced in your room and that some items were... More 

Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We spent the first half of March Break, at Horseshoe Valley Resort. My parents are Skyline members, so we stayed in the Condos on the 5th floor. We had units 505 and 504. Both condos were completely renovated and gorgeous. I will say, however that the pull out couches were unbelievably uncomfortable. I could feel every spring in my back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your renovated accommodation and ski getaway over March Break at Horseshoe Resort and appreciate the time you have taken to share you feedback as we continue to monitor our customers' thoughts, comments and feedback in order to adjust our operations and communication. We want you to know that each year we invest a considerable amount... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My family went for 3 days mid week and although the place was bustling with business every staff member greeted us with enthusiasm and professionalism The line ups for the lifts were quick and the hills well groomed For a treat we went to Senses for a fancy dinner the first night that did not disappoint The entrees were out... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for giving us a try! We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review - especially our kitchen brigade in Silks Dining Lounge & Crazy Horse Restaurant . It will be my... More 

Brantford, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A group of 6 went here to celebrate a 40th Anniversary. It was a change of pace for all. We all enjoyed watching people ski, and tube. They had a nice pool, that would have been more enjoyable if some people had made their children, not jump off the wall between sitting pool and swimming pool. This was clearly posted... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are glad you were impressed with our hospitality and appreciate you sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. We definitely recommend you come back to enjoy our summer season. Our resort offers a variety of activities from Mini Golf, Large Outdoor Maze to TreeTop Trekking, Biking, Horseback Riding, Golf and more. We look forward to return! More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that i never write reviews and am not much of a complainer but this is beyond words. We checked in on Friday, March 13 without a problem as we arrived later in the evening. The next morning i went to the washroom only to have the access panel from the ceiling fall right on top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

As the safety and well-being of our guests is a priority for us we appreciate you bringing this to our attention and apologize that our staff were not more responsive to your concerns on site. Our Executive Office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in order to gain additional information so we can investigate your concerns and personally offer an... More 

1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Several glitches At the hotel which could be overlooked if the customer service hadn't been so bad. Complete power outage losing us a day of skiing - wouldn't even give a late check out the next day so that we could store our stuff and get changed after our replacement day skiing in some comfort for the drive home. Offered... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We apologize that your stay was impacted by the power outage, which was out of the resorts control. I am pleased to read that our team did extend a replacement day of skiing and sorry we were not in a position to extend a late check out due to arriving guests. Ultimately your stay should have been a seamless one.... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Checked in on 12th and checked out on 13th. Room status: Found a dead fly in the ledge of window behind the blinds. Caught one myself. Dust settled on the blinds and on the guest phone handset. Called the front desk about it but the person who took my call(sounded like 'Shift supervisor') wasn't empathetic at all about the situation... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Sorry to read about your disappointment. Our Executive office has direct messaged you via TripAdvisor in hopes to personally connect with you, offer an apology and extend an invitation to return. We remain hopeful we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point and ensure you have a more positive experience with us, which we are known... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Horseshoe is a good place to hang out with the family and relax for a week or so. The ski runs are not bad and good for the mid range ability - the ski coaches are super friendly like most of the canadians. The food overall is good although when the resort is busy the service is obviously streched. But... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Sincere appreciation for posting a review and the compliments. Whether you are new to the sport or an advanced skier or boarder looking to continue to improve, the Ski and Snowboard School at Horseshoe has the right lessons waiting to help you reach your goals and we are pleased you were impressed with their friendly service. We do apologize for... More 

Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 3 days with my family, 3 young kids and 2 seniors. Arrived and found the place pretty dated. Considering this is the only hotel, was hoping for a more grander entrance. The rooms were pretty good and the washrooms were nicely updated! Having said this, there were some great things and some things that could be better. If this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay & skiing at Horseshoe Resort. We are indeed fortunate to have the caliber of employees we have as you noted in your review. It will be my pleasure to pass along your comments to our team as this kind of feedback means a great deal to us all. Horseshoe does... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Much like a previous comment, after booking online I was surprised to see the $25 amenity charge. they say for parking and yet no other customers are charged for parking - not clients for skiiing, spa nor the restaurants. In addition, the shampoo dispenser was empty, remote control for bedroom tv does not work. Batteries in one of the remote,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Teamdeerhurst, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review. We sincerely apologize that our housekeeping team missed those important steps while cleaning \/inspecting the room. This is not the norm or level of service we are known to provide. Your comments are important to us. The Resort fee has been in place at our resort and is common within the resort industry in... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

150 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (119)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question