We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Horseshoe Resort

1101 Horseshoe Valley Road West, Barrie, Ontario L4M 4Y8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Horseshoe Resort
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

576 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

Came up as a big group of 6 families. Rooms in the Inn were beautifully renovated (though friends staying in the condo-style units said their rooms were very drab and dated). Check-in and check-out was smooth and easy. Our rooms came with lift tickets for the next morning (advertised as 9-4pm passes but were printed for 9-10pm which was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dominique T
Windsor, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This past weekend I went to Horseshoe Resort with my boyfriend for a weekend away to ski and relax. We had an amazing time here! The rooms were beautifully renovated and spacious. They had a sunken living room with a fireplace and a comfy king size bed. The bathroom was a nice glass inclosed shower and a soaker tub (which... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cbear2016
ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I'm reviewing this in real time, we are here, its perfect for what we wanted and what we paid for! We were asked to check in online, we said we were going to be here between 3 and 4 pm, we got an email saying the room was ours at 1. Sadly, we got here at 5, got in with... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank lakidaca
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and your compliments on our friendly staff. Your comment on accommodation is important to us and want you to know that we are and will continue to renovate our condos. I was glad to hear that it suited your needs and that you were able to enjoy skiing as much as you did. I... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I drove our family up to Horseshoe from Toronto to take our children skiing for the first time on Saturday January 30, 2016. We had an amazing experience right from the moment we got into the parking lot. The food in the crazy horse was delicious also but the most memorable thing that happened during our day... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda J
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review and your compliments on our staff member Jamie. I was glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed such a special time together, skiing. We believe our resort is a family friendly resort that offers families a place to enjoy and connect together We do look forward to welcoming you back to the... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were emailed day before to check in and request a time. We requested 12-1pm. I called ahead of time to ask and was told that although they could not guarantee that they would do everything they could do accommodate early check in. We arrived at 1:30 and were told room not ready and they would see what they could... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TTCZ
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that your valued remarks will be reviewed by our Director of Hotel Services to ensure that we... More 

Barrie, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This weekend my boyfriend and I took my Dad to Horseshoe valley as he wanted to learn how to snowboard. As everyone knows it is difficult when first learning the basics of how to snowboard and you do often fall. My dad had fallen getting off of the lift and instead of slowing down the lift so that he had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Anne3264
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Feedback such as yours, is important to us and appreciated. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by our Risk Manager and Ski Patrol department. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the resort,... More 

Travelers are raving about these Barrie hotels

CONYERS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

So easy to ski, apres ski at the Crazy Horse, then walk to the room, wake up and do it again the next day. The pool area is clean and kid friendly. We used the Craighurst Foodland delivery service for a meal and beer! Highly recommend the stay, just wish we had more snow.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Andy F
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to ski. This year has been a challenge for most ski resorts in Ontario due to the lack of snow. We look forward to welcoming you back, soon. Regards, Wendy More 

Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, a good ski weekend, but not because of the resort. First, we booked through a third-party service and Horseshoe told us they didn't have a reservation for us, so we booked it again through the hotel...then when we got there, they had two reservations under our name. Then we had no hot water in the shower - for the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tolstoy8
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

First and foremost, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. Feedback such as yours, though critical is important to us and appreciated. I sincerely apologize for the poor impression we made and for failing to meet your expectations. I do hope this one experience will not deter you from returning to our resort in the future. Should... More 

London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived Friday night and there was some issues finding our room. Joanne at the front desk was pleasant the entire time and worked hard to figure out what went wrong. Once the room was found and we were given the cards we went into a beautiful room with a king size bed and sunken living room with a fireplace.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Martha H
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking time to post your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the room was beautiful as you mentioned, that our staff were very helpful. I am so sorry to hear that your husband became ill, that you were not able to ski the next day. I would like... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely RUDE and unhelpful employees especially the front desk people and the bartender. Their rooms that overlook the ski hill are awful, outdated, paint peeling disgrace. Rooms in their main hotel are were a little nicer. No convenience store to buy water or snacks, one vending machine that was broken, no business center! Snow and ice everywhere around the entrances... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Barkley321
Wendy D, Guest Relations Manager at Horseshoe Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review concerning your recent stay at Horseshoe Resort. I would like to apologize for the areas where we fell short in our service and product during your stay. I appreciate your comments and want to assure you that each of your valued remarks will be reviewed by the team... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

268 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (145)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Family/play areas (8)
Viewed
Other (72)

Expert photos: Taken by TripAdvisor travel experts

Viewed
All expert photos (103)
Viewed
Amenities (38)
Viewed
Double Queen Horseshoe Room (25)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Outdoor Pool (9)
Viewed
Restaurants and Bars (2)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barrie
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Barrie
12.1 mi away
Monte Carlo Inn - Barrie Suites
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Barrie Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Super 8 Barrie
Super 8 Barrie
#2 of 19 in Barrie
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
12.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
12.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 19 in Barrie
3.5 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay