We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn

#8 of 19 Hotels in Barrie
Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
35 Hart Drive, Barrie, Ontario L4N 5M3, Canada
Special Offer
Get up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    64
    30
    16
    19
See reviews for
64
50
11
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (52)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (57)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Stratford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My friend, her husband and I were in Barrie to attend a memorial celebration for my friend's mother. Unfortunately there was a Pee Wee Hockey tournament going on in the city and the hotel was full of young boys and their parents. When we got there the kids were screaming up and down the corridor and the parents were all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Eganville, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice Hotel, all staff members seemed to be polite, a few things need some tender loving care, but all in all it was a good value, can really complain. Internet service in our room had great reception .

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I visit Barrie once a month for business and to visit family and we always stay at the Best Western. It has become our home away from home. The hotel staff are always friendly and helpful, our room is always problem-free, and the breakfast in the morning is perfect to get our day started.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

It is great to have such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff! We have an excellent team that strives to ensure our guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to your next visit to Barrie! More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent stay with no issues. Two kids can stay free which was a bonus for families. Breakfast was excellent and duration of availability was good whether you are an early or late riser. Close to all the ski hills - we went to Snow Valley. Front desk personnel was very courteous and professional. Pool and Sauna was good after a... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to have "excellent service". We have a central location in Barrie and easy access to Highway #400. It is great to know you were able to use our indoor pool after a day on the slopes. Our complimentary hot breakfast is a favourite for our guests! We hope... More 

Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love staying at this Best Western. The staff, rooms, pool, free parking, hot buffet breakfast - its all great. Even when there is a sports team or something going on, you can count on the staff to maintain the environment and ensure your stay is lovely. When in the Barrie area - stay here.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel! We have a great team at the Best Western and we always do our best to ensure our guests enjoy their stay! We hope to see you again soon! More 

manitoulin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used to stay at this hotel years ago. They added a new area to this hotel, but I can't say I have ever stayed in the new section. After a couple of years, stayed as this hotel was nice. I was so disappointed - first we stayed on the second floor and in the room the floor was weak,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

Your feedback is important to us. We apologize you did not enjoy your experience with us. We have an executive section available as an upgrade and I am sure you would have enjoyed this room. If we had known you were unhappy, our front desk would have been able to move you to another guestroom but understand you arrived late.... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My organization books a large number of rooms every year at this hotel and have always been treated great. They allow us to send our reservations by e-mail and have the check in packages ready as a group for when we arrive to speed up the process. Great hotel.

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

We value your continued business and enjoy having all of your guests stay with us! It is great to know that our reservation process works well for your multiple bookings and our check in procedure is efficient! It is always a pleasure to serve you and your organization and look forward to your next visit. More 

Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a kids' hockey tournament. This hotel is not new, but our room was comfortable and clean, and fairly large. Proper sized mini fridge and microwave came in handy. Staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant. We did not use the pool, but lots of other little kids did, and they seemed happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found it to be both comfortable and clean. We hope we have the pleasure of having your team return again next year! More 

Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked two rooms for two nights Feb 19th, and 20th 2015; rooms were dirty, peeling paint. One room smelled of stale smoke so was undoubtedly a smoking room at some point in the past. Heating in one room sounded like a plane taking off but did provide heat, however the room I stayed in the first night we woke small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We appreciate you informing our front desk of your concerns and we were happy to move you to another room. Each guestroom has a mini fridge, microwave and coffee station. We typically have packages with sugar and stir sticks... More 

st louis, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Poor facility, heater broken, dingy room- I would not stay here again nor advise anyone else to stay here either. Poor facility, heater broken, dingy room- I would not stay here again nor advise anyone else to stay here either. Poor facility, heater broken, dingy room- I would not stay here again nor advise anyone else to stay here either.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
Anil1964, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Royal Oak Inn, responded to this review

We value all of our guest comments and we are sorry we did not meet your expectations. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (91)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question