We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites

Hotel website
Hotel packages
1515 South Park Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 2L2, Canada
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

861 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I travel to Halifax frequently for work and this was my first stay at the Lord Nelson. Front desk staff was incredibly friendly and welcoming - check in was a breeze. Beds are very comfortable, and I did not realize there was a mini-fridge in the room which is an added plus. (also a small coffee maker for instant coffee).... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steph S
Stratford, PE
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Rooms are clean and very spacious. Lisa at the front desk was amazing from taking my reservation to ensuring that I was well looked after. The bad experience that I had in the dining room previously was totally improved upon this time. (Previous -2 months ago- eggs benny were over cooked with egg shell - this time absolutely perfect!). The... More 

Helpful?
Thank mhorne1h
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hubby and I enjoyed a comfortable stay at the lord nelson. We stayed in a Suite and it was beautiful. The beds were so comfortable that I didn't want to move. The room was very clean with a elegant and modern decor. The hotel staff was pleasant and our stay was a very positive experience. We have stayed at The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquelyn M
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I started writing this review I had to really think about what rating to give it. I feel the hotel itself deserves a 3 star review. However, the staff and the way they handle problems is what made me bump this up to a 4 star review. With that being said - this was our experience: I had booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brooklet425
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel reminds me of the historic Omni hotels in the US. Lots of granite marble and dark wood. Our room was average size but very comfortable. Parking was in and out too. There is a beautiful community garden park across the street. When in Halifax I will stay here.

Helpful?
Thank st8dthere2
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I love this area of Halifax and have stayed at the Lord Elgin many times. I enjoy the service and the quality for the price point. I generally stay here on business but would also consider it if I were making a personal trip to Halifax as well.

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Received an offer through a travel site of a special deal at the Lord Nelson so I booked it for my hsuband's birthday. I upgraded to the Studio Suite for only a few extra dollars and on this special deal, parking was included. Our check in was quick and easy. The hotel is in the process of renovating their rooms,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Katrina W
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice, old world ambience in the heart of town. Restaurants, universities, and hospitals are all close at hand. Pleasant staff, modern clean rooms and very reasonable prices. Didn't use the restaurant/pub but it appeared busy and very charming. Good experience.

Helpful?
Thank MorseB
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Well thank you for your kind words MorseB! We definitely pride ourselves on our great staff and ideal location. We hope to see you again! Thank you. More 

St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed for one night on business. Though the room was clean, it was quite small and dated. There was no fan to be used in the (tiny) bathroom. Breakfast is included, but is only available from 7-10am. Unfortunately, my work requires me to be en route well before 7am and so I would not be able to comment. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Awoodman87
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Ouch Awoodman87, that review hurts but the onus is on us. We apologize your stay wasn't quite up to your standards. I am pleased to inform you that we are currently renovating every room in the hotel with a more modern feel. I also apologize that you were unable to grab breakfast before you hit the road. I know you... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016

Myself, the Wife and our 15 month old baby visited the Lord Nelson in late November 2015 on a business trip. We were lucky to have a corner suite with separate bedrooms/sitting rooms, this allowed us to put the baby down at night and for naps whilst still being able to relax ourselves. The rooms were modern and well maintained,... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholasgoodger
Jasper G, Guest Relations at The Lord Nelson Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

The cheese! Sorry this was the one thing holding you back from having a perfect stay. We thank you for your review and for staying with us. We would love to see you return to Halifax and to the Lord Nelson. If and when there is a next time, do not hesitate to call for housekeeping to come by your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

184 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (138)
Viewed
Room/suite (45)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
0:30
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Halifax hotels
Downtown Halifax
Prince George Hotel
Prince George Hotel
#2 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 stars 1,814 reviews
Downtown Halifax
Cambridge Suites - Halifax
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Halifax
Hampton Inn by Hilton Halifax Downtown
The Westin Nova Scotian
#19 of 28 in Halifax
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
The Halliburton
#7 of 28 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay