We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 29 Halifax hotels

Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1919 Upper Water Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Y5, Canada (Downtown Halifax)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save 10%
Save Saved
You added Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel to your Saves list
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
81%
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
937darcy123 Maui, Hawaii
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    230
    82
    20
    19
See reviews for
100
209
31
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had two nights in Halifax and decided to go big or go home! This is the only hotel right on the boardwalk on the waterfront in Halifax. With taxes it was over 300 bucks a night but man, we loved it! We had a great view of the ocean and boardwalk from our room on the 4th floor. You... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for so much for the awesome review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us relaxing and exploring the Halifax waterfront. Thank you for recognizing our efforts in maintaining our property’s cleanliness. We pride ourselves on providing brilliant service for each and every one of our valued guests; we are so delighted to hear that... More

Blythewood, SC
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great location, can walk to everything in Halifax. Right on the harbour walk, and connected by a covered walkway to the casino. Parking is easy. Staff was pleasant. Room was clean and comfortable. Ask for Harbourview room -- Worth the money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. More

Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Location is great, restaurant staff was awesome. Room condition and front desk, not so much. Must have been one of the worse Marriott Hotel experience I ever had. Dispute that it was indicated that it was our first year anniversary, not only did the front desk staff not provided us a room with 1 bed (got 2 double beds), we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Our sincerest apologies that your anniversary experience was so disappointing. We are located directly on the downtown harbour, adjacent to The Halifax Historic Properties which houses a variety of shops and restaurants. During the warmer months music and general foot traffic can often be heard. Our main floor, including the restaurant and bar, was fully renovated last year and we... More

Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I arrived late, i.e. 2 AM for a reservation that had been made months in advance. Much to my surprise I was given a "pool room", sounds good, right? Not so. These rooms of which there are about 8-10 have only one window, actually sliding glass doors to an indoor pool which is lit 24 hours per day. So if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear you were disattisfied with our poolside rooms. They are actually in high demand and have a premium rate associated with their occupancy. We often offer them to our Platinum and Gold Marriott Rewards members as they are more spacious, accessible to the pool and spa and considered to be a superior room over some of... More

Davenport, Iowa
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our final stay on our Tour of Nova Scotia and it was a wonderful hotel. Clean, great location, etc. We had the breakfast buffet which was outstanding...everything you could think of including eggs to order or any omelet you would like. All fresh food...fruit, salmon, herring, etc.. Service was great as well; wait staff excellent. I would highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review! We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and took advantage of our great location on the waterfront. Thank you for noting our green initiative. More

Halifax, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here Sept 5&6 2014 for daughters wedding (held elsewhere) Newly renovated . Great job! We especially like the new lobby rest/bar area. James and the rest of the valet staff were awesome. "All" staff we met were above & beyond our expectations for pleasantness , efficiency & professionalism. I highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Congratulations on your daughter’s wedding! I’m so happy to hear that you liked our lobby restaurant and bar. We take pride in hosting you brilliantly, and are so glad we succeeded. We can’t wait to see you again. More

Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed one night, but would have enjoyed staying for longer. The bed and linens were top-notch and were extremely comfortable. The toiletries were very high quality. The room was quite except for the invoice being slipped into the room at 2am (I'd recommend to the hotel that this be done later in the morning). The cost did seem on this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad you were so comfortable in our room, and that you found our toiletries to be high quality. We will make note of your suggestion to have our invoices delivered at a later time, and we apologize for the disruption that the early delivery caused you. We can’t... More

New Brunswick, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My fiancé works 20 days a month across Canada cooped up in little camps, so when he's home, its nice to get to spend some one-on-one time together and take a trip. We went to this location after driving a couple hours - paid for a hot-tub junior suite - didn't have a credit card so we put a deposit... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HalifaxMarriott, Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Undoubtedly we failed to be empathetic and understanding of your circumstances. While every company has 'policies', there are times when exceptions should be made. I am very sorry to hear of your experience and can appreciate how frustrated and disappointed you were. We have shared your story with our team to highlight the importance of bending rules when it makes... More

Bridgetown, Barbados
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ok this hotel is in a great spot in Halifax and is right in the middle of all the night life Halifax has to offer. Our issue was we booked on line a room for two nights 1 king size bed which was confirmed. We arrived at the hotel and they told us they had no king size beds available... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HalifaxMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us this review. We are sorry to hear about the miscommunication with your room type, and that you were disappointed with the cost for parking. We are however; glad that you enjoyed our unbeatable Halifax location and that you were able to take part in some of the night life that the... More

Antigonish, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Before I begin, I realize it is my choice where I stay, in this case I chose to stay here because this is where the wedding events were held, and a majority of the guests of the wedding were staying here also. I am not alone with my complaints ! We got harassed by security 2 nights in a row.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
HalifaxMarriott, Front Office Manager at Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are addressing this situation with the groom's family and I will be sure that your observations are included. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Hotel Summarization (Beta)

What travelers say

  • Great location(10)
  • Very clean(6)
  • Lower Deck(4)
  • Room service(4)
  • Helpful and friendly(3)

Additional Information about Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel

Address: 1919 Upper Water Street, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3J 3Y5, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Halifax > Downtown Halifax , South End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Halifax
Casino Hotel Halifax
Halifax Marriott Harbourfront Hotel Nova Scotia

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (147)
Viewed
Room/suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (31)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (16)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Halifax with
any amenities