We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7, Canada
Special Offer
Free bottle of wine!
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 27 Halifax B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
SharonWadeFoote Lockeport, Canada
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
11
31
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (67)
  • Mar-May only
    (12)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was a snow storm in Halifax. I came to the place to stay for 4 nights, but after the first I had planned to leave, and the man had told me he would only charge me for one night, and I could freely leave and pay for one night. This was because the furnace was broken and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Based on our cancellation policy if you cancel within 72 hrs. prior to check-in, you will be charged full amount of your reservation. This seems reasonable considering that each room is 25% of our revenue. It is incorrect for you to claim that we stole your money since you cancelled your credit card and we were unable to charge it... More 

Truro Heights Nova Scotia Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a room here for My Birthday Celebration in the City.. Mainly because Parking and Breakfast was included.. We arrived at check in to find the Lane from the Highway to the Driveway was impassable, stuck on the ice for 20 minutes with no maneuverability, the driveway to the establishment was a right off no salt or sand down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Lockeport, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Owners very friendly and accommodating. Offered valet parking. Catherine insisted on carrying luggage and promptly delivered a pot of tea to our room upon arrival. Room was very tastefully decorated with modern black accents. Breakfast presentation looked right out of a magazine and was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Me and my wife stayed here for a couple of nights in mid January and the experience was awful. The owner, Danny, made us wait 30 minutes as he forgot that we were checking in and was out. Danny then proceeded to take a keen interest in my wife, although he has a lovely wife himself who also runs the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 16
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I was very excited to be going to this B&B after seeing some of the reviews and the photos on the website. I found them to be very friendly both on the phone, during booking; and, also after upon check-in; however, there were some surprises I certainly didn't anticipate. First of all, I had already checked in and paid before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I throughly enjoyed my 5 day stay! Danny treated me like an old friend instantly and was very accommodating during my entire time there. My room, the artists suite, was spacious, clean and comfortable and breakfast was very good. The free Wi-Fi was a welcome bonus, and particularly helpful during my business trip. The B&B is located close to all... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
14 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this charming B&B at the beginning and end of our NS trip. Very close to Mount St Vincent University along the Bedford highway the B&B is not hard to find but the street it is on is very short and steep road and located just off the highway. It is also very close to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Although other reviewers had problems with cancellations online, I found that Katherine and Danny were especially understanding about our "last minute" rescheduling due to significant flight delays. I called several times to inform and update them on the situation, and they allowed us to shift our reservation to different days. It was a much needed gift in the midst of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Caribou, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

We had a change of plans shortly before traveling to NS. I booked this B&B on Booking.com around 330pm EST and then changed my mind w/in 15m at around 345pm EST. There was no mention of their cancellation policy on the Booking.com website, although it did say that the policy is different with each room. We ended up staying at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Kitchener, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

The owners are very knowledgeable about the city and the historic events that went on through out the years, very friendly and courteous. They also provide great gluten free breakfasts, ask for the pancakes;)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question