We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax

3.5 of 5
Hotel website
24 Northumberland Lane, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3M 1R7, Canada
Special Offer
Free bottle of wine!
Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #6 of 27 Halifax B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Linda G Alexandria, Canada
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    15
    8
    6
    12
See reviews for
14
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (72)
  • Mar-May only
    (17)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (19)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (27)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Alexandria, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We were very pleased with our room, The Auditor's Suite, and surprised at how cozy and soundly we slept, as it is close to the harbor. The owners are very helpful and willing to accommodate any requests. Breakfast was beautifully presented and exactly on time & coffee, tea & water were readily available at any time. We enjoyed visiting with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I am going to be attending MSVU in the fall, so my parents and I chose this close and convenient B&B to stay at. It was a wonderful experience and we fully intent to return upon future visits to Halifax. Katherine and Dan are wonderful people who genuinely want you to enjoy your visit there. They had a delicious cup... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kingston, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was looking forward to spending a few days in May at this bed and breakfast with my young grandson. However, our travel plans changed and it was no longer possible. The owner Katherine was very understanding and I will definitely stay with them should I get another opportunity. Thanks Katherine!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had an an amazing time at Ascendence harbourside mansion. The breakfast was great and the people were very friendly. The bed was super comfortable and I had a great sleep. When I arrived they gave me a detailed description of things to do in Halifax as it was my first time there. Best of all I received a free... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Langley City, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Royal Suite, which if it is available, is worth the extra charge. The room was clean and comfortable, and the jacuzzi tub is a nice relaxing treat. Since the house is a heritage home, it is worth noting that the suite is located on the top floor. This offers a somewhat nicer view, but the stairs... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Peterborough, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There was a snow storm in Halifax. I came to the place to stay for 4 nights, but after the first I had planned to leave, and the man had told me he would only charge me for one night, and I could freely leave and pay for one night. This was because the furnace was broken and it was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Katherine S, Owner at Ascendence Harbourside Mansion Bed & Breakfast Halifax, responded to this review

Based on our cancellation policy if you cancel within 72 hrs. prior to check-in, you will be charged full amount of your reservation. This seems reasonable considering that each room is 25% of our revenue. It is incorrect for you to claim that we stole your money since you cancelled your credit card and we were unable to charge it... More 

Truro Heights Nova Scotia Ca
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

We booked a room here for My Birthday Celebration in the City.. Mainly because Parking and Breakfast was included.. We arrived at check in to find the Lane from the Highway to the Driveway was impassable, stuck on the ice for 20 minutes with no maneuverability, the driveway to the establishment was a right off no salt or sand down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lockeport, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

Owners very friendly and accommodating. Offered valet parking. Catherine insisted on carrying luggage and promptly delivered a pot of tea to our room upon arrival. Room was very tastefully decorated with modern black accents. Breakfast presentation looked right out of a magazine and was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
New York
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

Me and my wife stayed here for a couple of nights in mid January and the experience was awful. The owner, Danny, made us wait 30 minutes as he forgot that we were checking in and was out. Danny then proceeded to take a keen interest in my wife, although he has a lovely wife himself who also runs the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
Sherbrooke, Canada
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

I was very excited to be going to this B&B after seeing some of the reviews and the photos on the website. I found them to be very friendly both on the phone, during booking; and, also after upon check-in; however, there were some surprises I certainly didn't anticipate. First of all, I had already checked in and paid before... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question