We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Dartmouth hotels

Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada (Dartmouth Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel to your Saves list
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
59%
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Dartmouth
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Michael B Penrose, Colorado
  • Overview
  • Reviews (148)
  • Photos (47)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    48
    39
    17
    13
See reviews for
37
49
19
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penrose, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

By Virginia 7/16 Clean , homey, convenient. Just take the public bus from the airport to the front door. The staff are very kind and treat you like they know you. The rooms are very clean and kept well. We had three different rooms in our trip in and out of Halifax and they were all great. It's located 3-5... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and thank you for acknowledging the hard work we do at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel. We are so close to the ferry, and a great value for money. Have a great summer. More

Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Although we booked the room as a family of 5, there was only 2 beds; there was room to put a cot, though. The toilet was not properly working and they could not fix it while we were there; we stayed 3 nights. They did give us a discount for the broken toilet when we checked out. We weren't at... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Apologies that we were unable to fix your toilet issue in due time. I have started a room check policy that will include such checks daily. I apologies that we were unable to offer a suite for your family. We do have limited suites available. Thank you for taking the time to comment. Have a great summer. More

Peterborough, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was within walking distance to the ferry. Breakfast was good and the price was right. Breakfast area was bright and clean. Would stay there again. Staff were knowledgeable and friendly. A nice market was on near the ferry.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to stay with us during your visit to Halifax Dartmouth, The Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel is located within walking distance to ferry to Halifax. And that is a strong advantage for us for all types of travel, leisure, business, extended stay. Have a great summer. More

Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at the hotel for some six weeks as my residence build ran long. I ordinarily stay at mostly higher end hotels so I was concerned at how things would be. As it turned out, I was more than happy. The place is clean, room was what I needed and the staff were amazing. In truth, the customer service... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us long term. We have worked hard to transition the hotel to seriously accommodate long term guests. An area where we plan to excel. The Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel offers kitchenette rooms, a great view. Thank you and we trust you are comfortable in your home. More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Older hotel but very comfortable and friendly. Our room did not overlook the harbour but there is a common viewing area on each floor that does. The breakfast had a few less choices than most but the eating area is large and windowed and mostly no waiting for a seat (until 10AM every day). The underground parking is well lighted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great 5 star rating. The staff at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel take great pride in providing a clean, comfortable, affordable stay for all our guests. WOW! Thank you, and have a great summer. More

Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My Wife & I sincerely want to Sincerely thank all of the Management & Staff at The Dartmouth Ocean View Hotel for all of their Hospitality & Kindness During our recent 2 and a half week stay while our son was in hospital for surgery in Halifax. Everyone on Staff went above & beyond on a daily basis to make... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

The staff and management were honoured to have you stay with us at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel. Thank you for the opportunity to show how much we care about our guests, their families. I know you are planning to come back and see us, so see you soon. We do a great deal with local hospitals and actually donate a... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When we arrived we were a bit early but staff got us checked in as soon as they could. It wasn't until we got up to our room that we realized there was a mixup with the booking, we had booked a king but instead we got a double. Immediately the hotel staff was quick to upgrade us to the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

I am so happy that we were able to accommodate your room request. It does get difficult this time of year, and an upgrade to our Presidential Suite was our way to do it. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel and we will continue to give excellent service. Our location... More

Halifax, Nova Scotia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had bought a coupon to stay at your hotel, and unfortunately the lady at the desk (Margo) was not at all accommodating when I did not have my team buy coupon with me. I was not told on the phone I had to bring it along with me and thought that I would just scan the barcode on the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for your very negative experience with a staff member. This Wednesday I have an all staff meeting and your comments will be shared with the entire team. We do pride ourselves on excellent service and this is not representative of what we are striving for. I do hope that there was a silver lining in your... More

Brantford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first visit to Dartmouth/Halifax ..chose this hotel because of the location to the ferry, it did not show the way it did on line -- we did not stay - staff was polite and allowed us to cancel without a fee -- did not get room we reserved, room they showed us was very worn, dark hallways,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

The staff at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hot apologize that we didn't meet your expectations upon arrival. We have worked hard to get our service scores up and proud of our progress to date, and we do have a number of guests that feel the same way. By no means are we there with product, but we have great service and... More

Nb
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It was nothing special, good location and friendly staff. I visited with children and it was close to the ferry. Needs an update in the rooms, but overall it's ok, I would not book again for the price.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you staying with us as you visit your family. The Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel does have a great location to the Ferry to Halifax. We have set our rates market appropriate and to the product and perceived value. In my opinion. I am sorry you felt you didn't get the value at price paid. I do hope you come back... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
80

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer