We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Dartmouth hotels

Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada (Dartmouth Centre)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel to your Saves list
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
55%
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Dartmouth
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
KATHYGOW Nova Scotia
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    36
    16
    12
See reviews for
28
44
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our hockey team recently stayed 3 nights and I found the staff very accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful, rooms were clean,location convenient and the common area on our floor was a great spot for the team to hang out. Would recommend to others!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pictou, Nova Scotia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very convenient location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Especially liked the common room. The breakfast was delicious.. The rooms were tidy and clean. Traveling in a truck , made parking difficult at times but over all would recommend this Hotel to anyone!!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brossard, Quebec
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed my second stay at this hotel. The place is very clean and the staff is very nice. The view of the Harbour is beautiful. There is a nice little gym and vending machines. The rooms are big with a coach and desk.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last year. Booked a Queen room, but got 2 doubles instead. the room was not very clean either, dust and dirt in the "low traffic" areas, the bed was pretty comfy though. The only thing I liked about this place was it was cheap and a place to crash for the night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at this hotel twice in the past year. It is in need of some cosmetic renovations but overall was a good deal I paid recently 72cn on hotwire all in. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Check in was a bit of a cluster because the staff was dealing with a difficult guest. But it got... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am glad that you have enjoyed your time at the Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Best Regards, Chantale Nadeau - Guest Services Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel More

Fredericton, New Brunswick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Great location able to walk to ferry to Halifax if necessary and close to eating spots. Rooms were clean and very quiet. We found it to be a great place.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Karen for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to greeting you again! Regards, Chantale Nadeau - Guest Services Manager, Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel More

Tiverton, Nova Scotia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There was no pool or hot tub, the TV wouldn't work in the morning, the parking garage was too small it was hard to find a place to park where you wouldn't get your car dinged. I found the beds too hard and it was still the same price as a regular hotel. The people were nice however but I... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tina for letting us know about your stay - I am sorry you did not enjoy your time with us. We do have alternate parking in our outdoor lot for anyone who does not fit, or feel comfortable with the parking available in our two underground areas. I am pleased to see you found the staff friendly, we... More

St. John's, Newfoundland And Labrador
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Harbour view from this hotel is better than any view from the other side of Halifax harbour, especially night time. Plenty of sunshine & nice sunsets from harbour view rooms. I have stayed @ this hotel 10 times in the last 5 years & will continue to do so.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chantale N, Guest Relations Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you George for considering us for your stays while in Dartmouth. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your time here over the years. We look forward to seeing you again. Best Regards, Chantale Nadeau - Guest Services Manager - Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel More

Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My elderly mom (85 yrs young) was flying in from Ontario so we decided to stay overnight to give her rest & a nice hot bath before carrying on our journey. Well, NO hot water. Called the front desk to report & this is the answer we got " Oh, I've had a couple of complaints so far, I guess... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MACC4 Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am concerned that our original response to your inquiry (which was received through our "contact us" section of the website) has perhaps gone to your junk folder. We received it on Dec 13, 2013 at 8:43 am and I responded personally, at 9:51 am, on that... More

New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel has a terrific downtown location, 2 minutes from the bridge, great restaurants nearby, terrific prices, warm and friendly staff, breakfast included and underground parking! I always stay here when I go to the city, sometimes seeing the same guests over and over again (I think because they offer such competitive extended and long term stay rates) but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Janet T, General Manager at Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, responded to this review

Dear EdiePonscale, Thank you for the great review and for identifying Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel as your first choice in a downtown property. As a new independent brand hotel we want to ensure each guest experiences exceptional value downtown. From your feedback it sounds like we're delivering on our promise. Our entire team looks forward to your next visit! Janet Toner,... More

Been to Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel

Also Known As:
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel
Super 8 Dartmouth Hotel Dartmouth
Super 8 Dartmouth
Super Eight Dartmouth
Dartmouth Super 8
Dartmouth Super Eight
Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel Nova Scotia
Address: 65 King Street, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B2Y 4C2, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Dartmouth > Dartmouth Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minutes walk to the Halifax Harbour ferry. A 12 minute ride to everything in downtown Halifax without the parking or traffic congestion. Clean, comfortable rooms and suites, close to great restaurants, 20 minute drive to the airport. Also near Mic Mac Mall and Dartmouth Crossing. Downtown value & convenience without downtown prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartmouth Oceanview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.