We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Dartmouth hotels

Coastal Inn Dartmouth

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   379 Windmill Road, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Coastal Inn Dartmouth to your Saves list
Coastal Inn Dartmouth
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
64%
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Dartmouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014
akeim Buxton, Maine
  • Overview
  • Reviews (26)
  • Photos (16)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (6)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
5
11
1
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We picked this hotel due to the kitchenette only. Very quickly: Negatives: 1. The rooms and corridors are smelly even though they are designated as non smoking. 2. Both the rooms and the hallways are very poorly ventilated. You feel that as soon as you enter the hotel. 3. The breakfast isn't up to the standards as only basic bread/... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. I regret that you found the room poorly ventilated. I note that you were in a first floor room your first night, then moved to the third floor. Unfortunately, a few of the rooms on the first floor have fixed windows with ventilation provided by the... More

Buxton, Maine
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Hotel was clean and comfortable. Only a couple of small restaurants in the area to eat. Staff was friendly and helpful in allowing use to put our motorcycles in a safe location. The overnight manager went above and beyond to help use get to St. John New Brunswick when a hurricane was approaching.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very proud of our hospitable staff and pleased that they assisted you in your travel plans. Your comments will be shared with our Crew. We hope that we can be of service to you at another time. More

Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

First impressions are that the Coastal Inn is a bit dated but this is more than made up for in the warm and helpful staff who made us feel right at home. The suites are large and comfy and we stayed there as a team for nearly two months. The rooms are excellent value and would recommend then for anyone... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Andrew and Crew; Your comments on your recent extended stay with us at Coastal Inn Dartmouth are greatly appreciated.We are so pleased that you and fellow members enjoyed their stay with us. We certainly miss seeing them on a daily basis. We hop that we will have the pleasure of accommodating you again in the future. Your comments will be... More

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We recently spent five nights at this very central location. Great place to stay as it is easy to get either side of the harbour from the Windmill road location. Very pleasent & helpfull staff ,& the kitchenetes in ever room is a plus for family travellers.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review comments with regard to your recent stay at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of our Kitchenettes during your extended stay. As you mentioned, our location is ideally situated with close access to the bridges to Halifax and most points of interest in... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here twice, once at the beginning of our trip and once again at the end. It is a pretty basic hotel, but the rooms are very nice and clean. All the staff, from the desk clerks to the cleaning staff were very friendly and helpful. I was going to complain that the air conditioner didn't work very well,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stays at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. We are proud of our staff and their efforts to make our Guests stay a hospitable and pleasant one. The location as you mentioned is ideally located with close proximity to all points of interest in the general area and day trips to various tourist attractions.... More

Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We had a large, clean room including a comfortable bed, extra couch, armchair and kitchenette with fridge, microwave, stove, dishes,utensils, dish detergent and even tea towels, in a very convenient location. The bathroom is a good size and there are laundry facilities in the basement. The bridge to Halifax is minutes away, allowing you to escape the higher prices down... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

We wish to thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor regarding you recent stay at our Dartmouth Hotel. Your points address perfectly the reasons why someone should stay at our Dartmouth/Halifax location . We appreciate your taking your time to do this and look forward to having you as our Guest in the future. More

Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not much on extras, but the breakfast was tasty and the beds are clean and comfortable. A good base of operations for exploring the rest of the area. There's a fantastic pizza place about a block over, and access to the rest of Dartmouth/Halifax is easy and quick by car. The in-room wireless was kinda shifty on the 3rd floor.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback in regard to your recent stay at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. It is true that our location does provide easy access to most locations of interest in Dartmouth/Halifax or day trips to Peggy's Cove or other South Shore attractions. Thank for advising us of your experience with the wireless. We hope to have you as our... More

Caldwell, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We arrived in after 10pm and got to the Coastal Inn around 11pm. The gentleman at the desk seemed anxious to help us plan the next day's activities. It is not the newest or shiniest hotel but it is clean and the service is beyond compare. The rooms are spacious and the curtains darken the room (excellent for adjusting to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stays at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. We take pride in our staff providing a true Hospitality Welcome and Experience to all guests. We appreciate your positive comments and will pass them on to all staff to see. We hope to have you as our Guests again in the future. More

Grimsby, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

/We stayed at the Coastal Inn in Dartmouth in August 2013. The were very helpful and friendly. As mentioned in other reviews, the hotel is in a more industrial area but was very clean and well presented. The rooms were large and had a small kitchen area with frig, stove, microwave and dishes with a table and chairs for eating.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. Your comments are much appreciated and will be shared with Management and Staff. We hope to have the pleasure of having you as our guest again in the future. More

Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our stay was made better by the staff at the front desk, very helpful, the property is older, but it is evident that upgrades are being done, we found the room large and clean, the hotel is in an older part of the city, near the docks, not a great view from the rooms. All in all we would stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wayne S, General Manager at Coastal Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review

Thank you for your valued comments regarding your recent stay with us at Coastal Inn Dartmouth. Your comments will be shared with Management and Staff. We hope that we may have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Coastal Inn Dartmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Coastal Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Dartmouth

Address: 379 Windmill Road, Dartmouth, Nova Scotia B3A 1J6, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Halifax Regional Municipality > Dartmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Coastal Inn Dartmouth 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Coastal Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Dartmouth Nova Scotia

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in
any neighborhood
in Dartmouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your place to stay in Dartmouth. The location YOU want, the service YOU expect, the comfort You desire. YOU will find it all here! Stay minutes from Burnside Business Park, Shop at Dartmouth Crossing or Mic Mac Mall, Play at Halifax Casino. 56 air-conditioned kitchenette units (25 suites with separate living room, 2 deluxe with private whirlpool and sauna). Free "Coastal Pus" breakfast, Free internet, Free newspaper, Free Local Calls. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
56

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coastal Inn Dartmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer