We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 7 Sydney hotels

Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15%! Book Today!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
80%
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Ron M
  • Overview
  • Reviews (123)
  • Photos (68)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A (1)
  • Room tips (40)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    49
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
29
29
3
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had heard negative reviews prior to arriving but chose to stay anyhow. The hotel and rooms are old. But then it seems everything in Nova Scotia is! The rooms were fine, staff was fine and location is in front of the harbor. You get your monies worth for sure. Would have no issues recommending this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The view across the harbour and that fiddle are what stays in mind after staying here twice. I also remember a typical Holiday Inn experience, that typical room decor and cookie-cutter facilities. Breakfast was an excellent buffet at an extra cost. I remember being called young man by the bar waiter at every opportunity, despite the fact that I am... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, NS
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a team, got a great rate and 1/2 price breakfast buffet. Food was great, eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, toast, hash browns, OJ, yogurt, fruit, cereal pastries. Great quality for 10.00. Rooms were large, queen beds, great views of the harbour. Walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Will definitely stay here again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this hotel online and all the good reviews of it were confirmed! It is on the waterfront and there is a very nice boardwalk to stroll on,... wonderful in the evening. The lobby clerk was friendly and welcoming though perhaps a bit harried since she was the only one at the desk. Our room was clean and quiet.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice and clean. There is a restaurant and bar onsite. Easy to get to any where in New Glasgow. It is about 15 mins. drive to the airport. I stay there a couple of times and got the room on the side of the ocean without asking. There was a cruise ship docked there once. Right outside the hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newmarket, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here before and after NFLD ferry trips. The location on the waterfront is excellent and we had water views both times. Parking was included and there was more than enough. Easy walking distance to many places to eat including 2 pubs with entertainment. We found the hotel modern and clean. The AC was quite noisy. We ate one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greenland, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
41 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Pet friendly, room service & restaurant on the premises. I really can’t say enough good things about this hotel, it ranks among the top ones we have ever stayed at. The staff was exceptionally friendly, the room service food was wonderful, and everything was clean, even though this it is a very busy place; we saw several bus tours coming... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Our room was beautiful! The extra money for the harbour room was totally worth it! What a beautiful view! We had a king sized bed with a desk, and an armchair in front of the amazing view. The armchair was wonderful to sit and watch the water. The bed and pillows were very comfortable! We both had a wonderful sleep!... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear cf_travellers, Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront. We agree that our hotel offers the most spectacular and magnificent views of the Sydney Harbour. We take great pride in the quality of service we deliver to our guests and will pass along your comments. We hope you consider visiting us again.... More

Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel was alright for a one night stay but not worth returning. Out dated room, not very cozy. Okay for a business trip but not for a romantic get away. We saw dirty dishes in the hallway when we checked in (around 5pm) and they remained there until the next morning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear TrooperMax, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. I sincerely apologize for you did not find your room condition to your liking and for the dissatisfaction you had with the level of cleanliness. We deeply regret that we were not able to exceed or at least meet your expectations. Guest comfort is of the utmost concern... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
35 hotel reviews
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have a room on the 8 floor , looking over the bay. It is truly magnificent. The room has a king size bed, a desk , an armchair .very spacious . The hotel is actually on the waterfront. We can see the largest cello in the world that is standing next to the Cruise port. The hotel clerks are... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DarcyMD, Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear DANIELLA107, Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We agree that the views from our hotel, the Holiday Inn Sydney - Waterfront are spectacular and magnificent. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again. Sincerely, Darcy MacDonald Rooms Division Manager More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Address: 300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island > Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delta Hotel Sydney
Delta Sydney
Sydney Delta Hotel
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront Nova Scotia

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Sydney with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
152

Questions & Answers

Here’s what questions travelers have asked, with answers from representatives of Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront and other travelers.
1 question
18 days ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer