We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
41
50
6
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (179)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Got into to Sydney on a late flight. Decided to stay in town rather than heading to family that late. Good night's stay, comfortable bed with a view of the water. Worth the money. Breakfast was included and although very busy was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fresh, newly renovated location on the waterfront in Sydney, NS. Hotel is pretty typical Holiday Inn Express, with a pool, small workout area, nice new restaurant and a tavern/pub style hotel bar. The rooms are recently renovated as well, large sized rooms and very clean. Only complaint is the wifi is horribly slow at peak usage times. Beautiful new boardwalk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Matt B; Thank you for your wonderful comments about the services our hotel has to offer and the features outside our hotel that our location in downtown Sydney has to offer. Thank you as well for the opportunity you have presented to me about your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, stranded because of storm. Rooms comfortable and clean. Great view of the harbour. Breakfast buffet was excellent and server was very accommodating. Michael and Leann in the pub were awesome in making us feel welcomed and comfortable, food good and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Colleen18; We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments concerning our hotel and especialy your comments directed toward both Michael and and Leann. We hope to see you again when the weather gets better. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked this hotel so the kids could have a fun last weekend of March break swimming in the pool with the waterslide. First of all, the woman at the front desk had a major attitude problem when she couldn't find our reservation which I booked through Expedia and had the confirmation with me. She basically said too bad call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear iFoxxicMom 55; Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, and apologize for the condition of the pool during your stay. We hope you'll give us an opportunity to investigate and rectify the situation, and would like to hear from you directly. If you'd like to discuss this further, please contact me... More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great hotel wity beautiful view. Rooms were standard updated holiday inn type rooms. free parking, great restaurant.my room had an absolutely good shower with warm water pressure but made a loud whining noise. I really like the comfortable bed here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear max y; Thank you for staying with us and your review of our hotel, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

this hotel is excellent. the first time I walked in the hotel, it is luxurious. all of the decorations are shinny, floors are clean and staff in there are high-trained,they are very nice to you and offer different services you want. they give me a very good memory of this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jusitn Zeng ; Thank you for your wonderful review of our staff and of our hotel, we appreciate you being our guest when you were in Sydney and look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

A few weekends ago the holiday inn held a drag show performance for Valentine’s Day. A few friends and I decided to book a room so we could enjoy the convenience of being close to the event. The staff was very friendly and the room in general was clean and comfortable. My only suggestion is that they turn OFF the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Shelby B; We were very proud to have been the sponsor for the event you attended at the hotel and we thank you for staying with us and the opportunity you have presented to us about your stay. More 

Bangor, Maine
Top Contributor
310 reviews 310 reviews
112 hotel reviews
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed here on business. Room was fantastic and faced the water. Place was quiet and clean and very friendly staff at the front desk. To be sure, this is where I will stay next time I am on business in Sydney.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Traveler 06232009; Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel, we appreciate you taking the time to complete the review of your stay and look forward to seeing you again. More 

Candiac, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

Staff at the reception was nice for the booking. This is an old hotel needing some freshening as far as the corridor colors.... Bad taste of green color..... The carpet in the room had a really suspect red stain near the entrance door, the toilet reservoir had stains on it... and it was 18C (68F) in the room. Took about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear GUYGEO; Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay, we value every guests opinion and we use every review to enhance the services and products we can provide to our guests to improve their stay with us. I have reviewed your comments with both our Executive Housekeeper and Maintenance Supervisor concerning the condition of... More 

Toronto
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2015

I stayed at this hotel on a Friday evening on a visit to the island. I frequented this hotel when It was a Delta and actually spent my wedding night here 8 years ago. I travel frequently for work, I am a platinum plus member at the Delta and an elite member of most hotel chains in Canada including Best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear City Girl 1980; I was pleased to have spoken with you today concerning your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question