We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront

Hotel website
Hotel deals
300 Esplanade, Sydney, Nova Scotia B1P 1A7, Canada (Formerly Delta Sydney Hotel)
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    73
    26
    11
    7
See reviews for
43
50
6
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (182)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (54)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Kentville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is located on the Esplanade adjacent to the downtown core. Many good restaurants, pubs and a casino within easy walking distance. The breakfast buffet is very good if you like a large breakfast. The on-site pub offers moderately-priced food, with good service. This is a good place to stay for the cost of the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was nicely themed and decorated and the rooms were beautiful and clean, but I would skip breakfast and dinner at the restaurant and pub, and go support somewhere local. The food wasn't very good, and the waitress was uncomprehensive of me. Other than that, it was good.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here last year while visiting family and had a very relaxing stay. I needed to stay in Sydney again this year due to my father being ill and in the hospital and chose the holiday inn Waterfront because of the friendly staff, service and the great bartender, Michael, who makes you feel welcomed and at home. Since my flight... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lazzzer; Thank you for being our guest , and thank you for your kind words directed toward our staff, we take great pride in the work we do and appreciate it when guests notice. Michael in the pub is one example of the great staff we have. More 

Rockwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

Got into to Sydney on a late flight. Decided to stay in town rather than heading to family that late. Good night's stay, comfortable bed with a view of the water. Worth the money. Breakfast was included and although very busy was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Fresh, newly renovated location on the waterfront in Sydney, NS. Hotel is pretty typical Holiday Inn Express, with a pool, small workout area, nice new restaurant and a tavern/pub style hotel bar. The rooms are recently renovated as well, large sized rooms and very clean. Only complaint is the wifi is horribly slow at peak usage times. Beautiful new boardwalk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Matt B; Thank you for your wonderful comments about the services our hotel has to offer and the features outside our hotel that our location in downtown Sydney has to offer. Thank you as well for the opportunity you have presented to me about your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again. More 

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, stranded because of storm. Rooms comfortable and clean. Great view of the harbour. Breakfast buffet was excellent and server was very accommodating. Michael and Leann in the pub were awesome in making us feel welcomed and comfortable, food good and plentiful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Colleen18; We were very pleased to read your wonderful comments concerning our hotel and especialy your comments directed toward both Michael and and Leann. We hope to see you again when the weather gets better. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

We booked this hotel so the kids could have a fun last weekend of March break swimming in the pool with the waterslide. First of all, the woman at the front desk had a major attitude problem when she couldn't find our reservation which I booked through Expedia and had the confirmation with me. She basically said too bad call... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear iFoxxicMom 55; Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay, and apologize for the condition of the pool during your stay. We hope you'll give us an opportunity to investigate and rectify the situation, and would like to hear from you directly. If you'd like to discuss this further, please contact me... More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

Great hotel wity beautiful view. Rooms were standard updated holiday inn type rooms. free parking, great restaurant.my room had an absolutely good shower with warm water pressure but made a loud whining noise. I really like the comfortable bed here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear max y; Thank you for staying with us and your review of our hotel, we appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

this hotel is excellent. the first time I walked in the hotel, it is luxurious. all of the decorations are shinny, floors are clean and staff in there are high-trained,they are very nice to you and offer different services you want. they give me a very good memory of this restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jusitn Zeng ; Thank you for your wonderful review of our staff and of our hotel, we appreciate you being our guest when you were in Sydney and look forward to you staying with us again. More 

Sydney, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

A few weekends ago the holiday inn held a drag show performance for Valentine’s Day. A few friends and I decided to book a room so we could enjoy the convenience of being close to the event. The staff was very friendly and the room in general was clean and comfortable. My only suggestion is that they turn OFF the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cyril M, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Sydney Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Shelby B; We were very proud to have been the sponsor for the event you attended at the hotel and we thank you for staying with us and the opportunity you have presented to us about your stay. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

80 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (43)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities