We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 114 Cape Breton Island B&Bs / inns

The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

41682 Cabot Trail | Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages to your Saves list
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
86%
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014
James H Ottawa, Canada
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    18
    4
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
52
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not a place I would recommend. We stayed three nights in a cold cabin that was not very clean. The drain in the shower didn't work so you had dirty water around our feet while showering . The beds were short the cabin would only sleep two comfortably. We were told it would sleep 4 And worst of all they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

We showed up late and the owner had already turned in for the night - thankfully a note was left and we made ourselves (quietly) at home. We had to drive to Ingonish to find somewhere to eat that was open past 9PM, about 20 minutes each way. I stayed at multiple B&B's when I was younger, but this was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I stayed at the Maven Gypsy For three nights this fall. Ive never been to the east coast of Canada and i'm glad i stayed here. It was cozy, the owner (J.P.) was friendly. we chatted as we had coffee together and JP whipped up a great traditional breakfast. he even shared his home smoked salmon. Yum. Highly recommend this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Friends and family shared one room and two cabins at the Maven Gypsy October 20-23rd. Despite our 12:45 a.m. arrival from Meridian, Conn., prior instructions allowed us to easily locate our cabins and room without disturbing other guests. The breakfast the following mornings sufficed to see us through mornings of shopping (Sew Inclined is nearby) and hiking until well into... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were so, so disappointed with this B&B. We arrived at night and in the dark, you couldn't tell much when you drove up. We were directed to our cottages and that is where the fun began. We opened the doors to smelly, musty, bug filled, spider infested hovels. The corners were full of webs and it was obvious that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to write this response. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and are so thankful our friends at the Dancing moose treated you to a complimentary breakfast. I will certainly refund to them that expense. I did respond to your friends travelling with you and again I... More

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the Suite Room because it has it's own bathroom in the room. The room is at the front of the house, and was decorated in simple country tones with beautiful furniture. The bed was comfortable, and the room and bathroom were very clean. However, there were a few drawback to the room. With these things in mind,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Good afternoon and thank you so much for taking the time to write your reveiw. We wish to say thank you for your kind words and thoughts and do hope you will return one day. I also wish to thank you for your comments they are very helpful and as soon as we read about the light and bathrooom odor... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

A very clean and friendly B&B. Our room was very bright and clean with a great view of the sunrise. Breakfast was perfect with home made granola and fruit followed by bacon and eggs. A large variety of teas are provided and coffee is served in a French press!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Maven Gypsy in one of the cottages. Blessed with beautiful weather, we were out hiking all day and only spent the night in the cottage (very peaceful). The place is well situated for exploring the east coast of Cape Breton through the national park and up to Meat Cove. Gregory's breakfasts were a great... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Airdrie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The web sight is far different than the real deal. Cottages are horrible, lots of bugs. The shower did not work well with very little water coming out of the shower head. One bed of the 2 beds had a collapsed mattress and overall the rooms were not very good. Breakfast may have been OK but there are not enough... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
themavengypsybandb, Owner at The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, responded to this review

Good afternoon Fred, I was so sorry to read of your dissatisfaction with one of the two Cottages you reserved with us. Yes you are correct I am not on site this year as I am completing a Contract overseas. To date however yours is the first comment with such scathing remarks. Before I speak with our Hosts may I... More

Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I wanted to travel the Cabot Trail with our dog and were delighted to find that The Maven Gypsy permitted dogs in their cottages. Both people I dealt with were very helpful. I believe we were the only cottage guests and were in cottage #1. Although no A/C, the cottage had plenty of windows and a ceiling... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages

Also Known As:
The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
Address: 41682 Cabot Trail | Wreck Cove, Nova Scotia BOC 1HO, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Cape Breton Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Breton Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maven Gypsy B&B and Cottages (formerly Goodwill House) is situated in one of the most scenic areas in Canada. You will be surrounded by untouched, unspoiled wilderness with the ocean just a 5 min walk away. There are four quaint guestrooms in the main house and four detached, self catering cottages with mountain views. Your hosts, Cody and Shain are lifelong hospitality professionals who have traveled and worked all over the world and look forward to welcoming you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maven Gypsy Bed & Breakfast & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.