We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Blachford Lake Lodge

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Hotel website
Box 1568, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2P2, Canada
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Blachford Lake Lodge
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Let me start by saying that this is a wilderness lodge. It is only accessible by plane. The plane lands on the lake; on skis in winter and on floats in summer. My husband and I stayed there for 3 nights and loved it. We went in winter and it is cold, but as long as you hire the right... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Ann - thank you so much for leaving this great review :) It was a joy to have you both at the lodge. We're so pleased that you included us in your holiday to Canada, and that you had your birthday with us as well. The whole team send their "hello's"! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016

I can not recommend Blachford Lake Lodge highly enough! The lodge, cabins, location, facilities and activities are excellent. The staff and volunteers really make the Lodge the place that it is. We had a medical mishap just prior to arrival at the lodge and could not believe the caring and supportive nature of all involved. From Mike, the owner and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowyfriend
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the lodge! We really enjoyed having you - you have such a lovely family. While weather delays aren't our favourite - we are so glad that you were able to spend an extra night at Blachford in the end! More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2016 via mobile

We spent 4 nights here between Xmas and New Year with our 3 children (aged 10, 7 and 4). We had the most amazing time and it was perfect from start to finish. The staff and volunteers were wonderful and extremely hard working. The food was fresh and delicious. The atmosphere was just lovely and above all the setting is... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

What a wonderful family you have! It was fantastic to have you all with us over the holidays. Please do come back any time, perhaps in the summer time - the sauna is pretty great after a long day of paddling! More 

New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We took our 6 year old to spend xmas over at Blachford. Best vacation ever. People- the trip is worth it if only for the people. Everyone so upbeat and ready to help. Amy made us feel welcome the moment we were at the lodge. My daughter remember everybody's name by the end of four days and was so sad... More 

Helpful?
Thank jackiegotravel
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the lodge, Jackie. It was a pleasure to have you and your family with us over Christmas. We sure value our amazing volunteers and staff - perhaps your daughter will come back and spend more time with us in the future :) It's fantastic that you were able to try out all of... More 

Maitland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We visited from Australia mainly to view the Aurora where two of our three nights the Aurora appeared, The surprise to me was the rest of the resort, the scenery the walks the accomodation and most of all the hospitality of management and the volunteers We were made feel completely at home and as part of the family

Helpful?
Thank Heather Y
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

So glad that you enjoyed your time with us, Heather. It was wonderful to have you - and the volunteers and staff send their "hellos"! More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015

We came to Blachford to experience the aurora in the northern wilderness -- a bucket list item. Spectacular displays on 4 out of 5 nights lived up to all expectations. What we didn't expect was how much more the experience offered.... The beautiful lodge with its warm, rustic atmosphere and amazing views over the lake impressed us particularly by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank welshtartlet
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Very many thanks for making time to write a review. I am delighted that you had such a good time with us. The staff here do their utmost to ensure our guests have a fantastic experience and it is a great for them to hear that their hard work has paid off. More 

Moline, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2015

What a wonderful experience. From our first night in Yellowknife, the float plane ride to the lodge, the staff at the lodge, especially Amy, the wonderful food from Janice, the anniversary cake made for us, our room, the hot tub, the boat tour around the lake, and most of all the aurora which did not disappoint us. We stayed in... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

Mary & Jim – It was a pleasure to meet you too. Thank you so much for telling us about your time at Blachford. We will be delighted to welcome you back (and don't forget there is a discount of $150 per person for returners!) Thanks also for letting us know about your difficulty with the trail. We will give... More 

New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2015

We had the most fabulous stay and aurora viewing. 9 of us traveled from New York, LA, SF and Vancouver to meet up in Yellowknife. We had bookend stays in the town which were nice, but nothing compared to our time at the lodge. I really loved how well it blended into nature, and that they are trying to be... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank eanniemeanie
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

It was a real pleasure to host you all. Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a long and appreciative review. It means a lot to us all. More 

Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2015

First off, the good. The Northern Lights were fantastic, an awesome experience. The Lodge, not so much. The meals were advertised as "gormet." Not so. We booked the lodge through an outfit called "Artic Kingdom," who kept the name of the Lodge a secret, and added nothing except a 10% upcharge to what the Lodge charges directly. The Lodge uses... More 

Helpful?
Thank ndbob73
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

As owner of Blachford, my staff and I take all reviews seriously. Apologies that I did not respond immediately, but I wanted to investigate the issues you raised, and that has taken a little time, especially as it is some months since your visit. First and foremost I am sorry that your stay at Blachford fell short of your expectations.... More 

Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

We went to see the lights. And they were fabulous! But even moreso, getting to know the volunteer/staff and their warm hospitality made it feel like we were hanging out and doing amazing outdoor activities with good friends. Our overnight camping trip with two volunteer/staff was another huge highlight. They couldn't do enough to make it fun, including a great... More 

Helpful?
Thank sooze21
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review

We always appreciate feedback from guests and it's great to hear that you and your daughter had such a wonderful time with us at Blachford. Thank you for being in touch. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

130 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (63)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Other (40)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.0 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellowknife Inn
Yellowknife Inn
#7 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 20 in Yellowknife
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay