We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yellowknife Inn

5010 49th St., Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Yellowknife Inn
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    17
    58
    70
    25
    24
See reviews for
34
33
30
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (194)
  • Mar-May only
    (36)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (51)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Recently I had the pleasure of going to Yellowknife NWT to visit with family. On my last night in this beautiful city, I decided to stay at The Yellowknife Inn. It was conveniently located right in the heart of downtown and had the convience of also having a mall with unique shops and great restaurants attached to it that could... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Yellowknife! Thank you so much for your review from your recent stay with us! It was our pleasure to accomodate you, and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your accomodations and our staff. We hope to see you again, next time your travels take you to Yellowknife. We wish you all the best! Jessica Wang Reservations,... More 

Chesley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2015

We had occasion to change our accommodations while in Yellowknife and ended up at Yellowknife Inn for two weeks. Room did not have a fan or AC. Within a day, facility staff had installed an airconditioner. During the hot spell, we greatly appreciated the AC. The room was on the small side but was sufficient. The location was ideal for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you a million times over for your review and your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We strive to maintain a superior level of customer service and we aim for our guests to feel like they are at their home away from home. Thank you for posting the suggestions for guests to advocate their needs! We... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2015

Checked in late one night, and the lady at the front desk was very unfriendly and rude. Making questioning my friends and I if we are aboriginal and she was very unpleasant to talk to. She made it seem like I didn't know what I was talking about when I checked in. She was terrible. My room hasn't been cleaned... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Hello, and Thank you for your review based on your stay with us. First, I want to deeply apologize for your experiences that you described in your review. We truly value our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. Although I... More 

Travelers are raving about these Yellowknife hotels

Chesley, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2015

We had a few problems with our original accommodations at another facility and I booked a room at the Yellowknife Inn online and received a great rate. The room was very reasonable for Yellowknife and it's close to everything.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review based upon your recent stay. We appreciate all the feedback! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2015

Stayed at the YK Inn in 1973 and not much has changed since then. Good check in but the rooms are tired and in need of a redo. Good for one night or a short stay but not much longer. This is a fair second choice to other choices which are available in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, and thank you for your review based on your stay with us! We appreciate all the feedback. We hope to see you again, next time. Jessica Wang Reservations, Sales and Meeting Manager The Yellowknife Inn More 

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2015

Pros: Relatively clean, well located, free wifi Cons: Dated decor (especially the bathroom), long wait to check in, slightly abrupt service, expensive for what's offered, dripping toilet drove me nuts Not my first choice in Yellowknife

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Hello, and Thank you for your review based on your stay with us. I apologize that your stay made you feel as if low expectations are required for our guests. We truly value the opinions of our customers as we strive to maintain a superior level of customer service and we aim for our guests to feel like they are... More 

Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2015

Stayed here for one night because I wanted someplace cheap, clean and that had a reliable airport shuttle and this place did all that. Staff were kind and helpful. Some things weren't the greatest but also aren't the hotel's fault, like the cross walk that beeps really loudly and all the vagrants hanging out everywhere, unfortunately including lounging in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings from Yellowknife!! Thank you so much for your stellar review from your stay with us. We appreciate all the comments, and hope to see you again, next time. Jessica Wang Reservations, Sales and Meeting Manager The Yellowknife Inn jwang@yellowknifeinn.com More 

Avonlea, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2015

I only stayed one night, when I went to check in , I wasn't greeted with a hello , but the clerk looked at me and said" I hate when people check in" and honestly when I saw the room , I was going to immediately check out. The room was somewhat clean , the bed had to be re... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sharla, First, I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel after your recent visit. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission, We have spoken with the Front Desk employee... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2015 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night because of a business meeting being at hotel. The room, reasonably clean but good points end there. It was tiny (as in a London budget hotel tiny), sweltering hot w no a/c. There are a number of signs indicating security is a big issue and yes other reviews are accurate in saying that the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback from stay with us. Your review is extremely valuable to us and will help us in our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve the service level we strive for. We recognize that the heating, ventilation and cooling system for the hotel is in need of improvements,... More 

Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

Stayed there because of meetings that were booked at that location - the rooms have absolutely no ventilation – it is like staying in a closet. Thankfully they have increased the security for access to the elevator and rooms because the outside environment is downright scary. The room was clean and adequate but the stay was not enjoyable due to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Greetings Canmoretravelbugs, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback from stay with us. Your review is extremely valuable to us and will help us in our ongoing efforts to maintain and improve the service level we strive for. We recognize that the heating, ventilation and cooling system for the hotel is in need of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.3 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nova Court Hotel & Suites
Nova Court Hotel & Suites
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay