We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Yellowknife Inn

5010 49th St., Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2N4, Canada
Hotel amenities
Yellowknife Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015
Eric H Hong Kong, China
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    56
    67
    21
    23
See reviews for
30
33
30
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (183)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (42)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (58)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (49)
All months
Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a terrible stay at the YK Inn this weekend. We had to wait an hour after check in time before our room was ready with no try to apologize for turning us away. The room was still dirty, loose cigarettes rattling around in one of the drawers, tissues on the floor. Most inconvenient part was the fact that there... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2015

No ventilation. Dated furniture and threadbare carpets. Smelly with poor safety. Drunken people being aggressive in hallways while front desk did nothing. No updated rooms (staff says they do not know if any updates and I was allowed to check 3 rooms- all were dismal). Unsafe, scary and substandard. I did not stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ctravis50, Reservations, Groups and Meeting Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Good Day, Thank you for your feed back on our historic property. We are proud that we are one of the original hotel's in Yellowknife. We certainly appreciate and value's everyone's opinion as this helps us make customer based decisions when revieving upcomming renovations. As you know, all customers each have various tastes as to what decor appeals to them,... More 

Hong Kong, China
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2015

It is located at the centre of the downtown, many shops nearby. The room is big and clean. Also it is one of the famous hotel in town that many local tours have their drop-off point here. The most still is it is not expensive, value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ctravis50, Reservations, Groups and Meeting Manger at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for your comments and for your recent visit at our hotel! It has been a pleasure having you here! We look forward to welcoming you again, next time! Jessica Wang Reservations, Groups and Meeting Manager The Yellowknife Inn More 

Yellowknife, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

When I arrived it took about 20 min before I was helped. In morning came to take my shower and no shower curtains, coffee pot was missing, no toilet paper and room was cold. This is my last stay as other hotels are booked in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Catherine T, Reservations, Groups and Meeting Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

We would like to make a heartfelt apology that your stay was not up to your expectations. Regarding the room issues and the problems at check in that you have described, we assure you that it certainly does not reflect the quality of service that we strive to maintain. Our team works very hard to ensure our facilities and services... More 

Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

When we checked-in our room, there was messy & 3 pillows without covers were placed freely at bed. I called to the front desk & the reply was X'mas time.....they didn't hv enough maids service during X'mas....ok fine..why didn't give discount to guests during X'mas without maid service? ....2nd, 3rd days ...poor maid service as well...the status changing better until... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ctravis50, General Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Good day, We are so thrilled that you chose to stay at The Yellowknife Inn during the Christmas Season. We would like to offer our most sincere apologies for not meeting your expectations with our service. We have spoken with the housekeeping department, as well as front desk in regards to the comments you have left. If you choose to... More 

Northwest Territories
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Stayed when it was old and returned once it was renovated. Stayed with my son and on my own. It's close to great shops, convenience stores, Subway, BP's and A&W. This last visit there were a lot of intoxicated people in the lobby and in the hallway outside my room. I called security but it continued for a few hours.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ctravis50, General Manager at Yellowknife Inn, responded to this review

Hello. First we would like to thank you for spending multiple times at our hotel and for sharing your opinion. We are very much concerned to read about your disappointment and dissatisfaction with your most recent stay. I want to assure you that we will be taking all matters you noted seriously. We would like to advise that we are... More 

Battleford, sk
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

I stayed here for 2 weeks in December, a long time to stay in a hotel. My room was very spacious, big screen TV, very comfortable bed and the best pillows I have ever had at a hotel, my wife wanted to steal one but I wouldn't let her. The bathroom was also very spacious, lots of hot water, our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

I have stayed at the hotel a number of times, this time I wasn't impressed at all. after getting new management this place has gone down hill. upon arrival they hadnt had the room I booked so i waited for them to find one to put me in. the wireless hadn't worked at all. the website I booked on said... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Tsaile, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

An older hotel, but the rooms were average, certainly comfortable. The front desk staff were attentive and professional. In July, Yellowknife never gets completely dark at night, so the heavy duty window curtains were certainly appreciated. Had a fair amount of street noise, because we kept the window open to keep the room cool. The rooms didn't have AC, because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Prince George, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights on business. Convenient complimentary hotel shuttle from the airport. My room was quite clean, but not well-maintained. The hairdryer holder was broken. The thermostat was set at 30, with the window left open...? Needless to say, it made my stay a bit uncomfortable as it took a FEW DAYS for the room to cool... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question