We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 St. John's hotels

Capital Hotel

208 Kenmount Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P2, Canada
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Capital Hotel to your Saves list
Capital Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
36%
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in St. John's
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Labradorman Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    15
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
6
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goose Bay, Labrador Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Was in town for medical appointments and this property is a great place to stay. Centrally located to shopping and the city. Jack's Restaurant serves great food at grreat prices. Close to the Kelsey Drive shipping area. Clean and nicely furnished!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Rooms, service, and conference facilities did meet my expectations and staff was friendly and helpful. But if you are depending on a reliable Internet connection do not go there. WiFi in the room was most of the time painfully slow, most of the time below dial-up speeds. WiFi in the conference room was ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Garnish, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

All conversations and/or requests with the front desk staff were exceptional. All additional follow up conversations began with how is everything? Do you require further assistance? Contact us at anytime should any issue arise, and it will be address to the satisfaction of the client. The greetings were always warm and the smiles were contagious. Never should anyone ever forget... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. It is so satisfying to hear a guest sees what we see in our staff each and every day here at the Capital Hotel. We feel that a combination of exceptional customer service along with impeccable guest rooms and facilities is what keeps customers like yourself, returning to our property. I... More

Dartmouth, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed here for a week with work. Though admittedly I did not spend too much time here I can say that it was clean. Beds were pretty firm but comfortable, Service at the bar was impeccable I enjoyed going here every night, however I could not say the same for the front desk. Was told for the entire week that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and give us your valuable feedback. We are happy to see that you had a comfortable sleep here at the Capital Hotel. I understand how frustrating it must've been while waiting for a fridge to become available for your room, unfortunately at that time we must've had all of... More

Newfoundland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our organization stayed at this hotel for 4 days. Everything was wonderful. The rooms were clean, bedding was heavenly, staff were friendly and helpful, the meetings rooms were very spacious and everything was set up perfectly. The meals were good and the servers were great! It certainly helped make the event successful!

Was this review helpful? Yes
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

At the Capital Hotel we strive to exceed our customers expectations. It appears that we did that with you. We are so glad and proud to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at the Capital Hotel. We also agree that the food is great. Thank you for taking the time to do the rating on the Capital Hotel. More

Gander, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I have stayed at the Capital Hotel a couple of times and have not had any issues, however, my most recent stay was absolutely terrible! I had originally booked a room for one night with a queen sized bed for two people and a few days later I called back to change my reservation to a room with two double... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

It is unfortunate that the mistake with the reservation was not identified on check in. The procedure that we use is initialing the rate and departure date. This procedure is meant to avoid this type of situation from happening. Had this been found to be the case on Friday evening the problem would have been corrected then and there. However... More

St. Johns, Newfoundland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

To have a room set to your expectations is certainly what one would expect, but to find a room that was setup with everything and more is another. Having attendees in the room and with little to no distraction takes team work and that is just what the staff portrayed while in our meeting room. Anything that was asked for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
llaite, General Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that the meeting room was set the way you wanted. I believe that we have assembled a staff that are truly interested in making our guests feel welcomed and they are without a doubt willing to go above and beyond to ensure that our guests requests have been meet. Thank you for your kind... More

Deer Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location, on Kenmount Road. We stayed here on August 5th to the 8th. It is very close to a variety of good restaurant's and excellent shopping. The staff are very friendly and will assist to your needs in a professional manner. The room we stayed in was clean, had a king bed and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for giving us a great review! Our staff is always happy to assist any of our valued guests with anything they need. We have a well-trained housekeeping staff, and we are happy that you recognized that during your stay. Being pet-friendly is something we are proud of, we gladly welcome all guests to our property, even... More

St. John's, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very poor customer service and they weren't too busy. Had to wait too long to get the meal and then it barely warm. Couldn't get the servers attention to order more drinks. Then couldn't get anyone to give us a bill. Went up to the desk and one of the servers (not ours) rummaged around until they found our order.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry to hear you had a bad experience at Jack's, it sounds like a lot of areas were not up to par during your visit. I would love for you to come back and see that our restaurant really is a wonderful place to dine here in St. Johns. We are so used to hearing fantastic reviews... More

Miramichi, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There were no microwaves or fridges in the rooms. If you wanted a fridge you were put on a waiting list. The beds were terrible. I'm sure they are not even a full double sized bed. We had a grand total of TWO facecloths in our room. When... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
llaite, Front Office Manager at Capital Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we regret hearing that you had such an unpleasant experience. I can assure you that the issues you mentioned are not something we deal with on any type of regular basis, so we were pretty surprised when we read this review. In regards to the fridges in rooms, we are about to begin renovations to... More

Been to Capital Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hotel

Also Known As:
Capital Hotel St Johns
Capital Hotel Newfoundland, Canada
Address: 208 Kenmount Road, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 3P2, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capital Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.