We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 St. John's hotels

Holiday Inn St. Johns

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Portugal Cove Rd., St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn St. Johns to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
51%
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in St. John's
A recent review
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    34
    35
    19
    3
See reviews for
20
27
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A repeat stay at this hotel Sept 3 2014, will most likely be my last. The food quality offered by the restaurant "EastSide Marios" is below subpar. Instead of improving, it has gotten worse. ordered room service, garden salad with chicken and feta bruchetta - chicken served cold with a large plate of wilted lettuce, the odd red onion slice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear snake6and9: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the quality of food from our franchised restaurant East Side Mario's. Although we have recently changed the room service menu, we will certainley bring this to the attention of our team. Thank you once again. More

port aux basques
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here before and knew what to expect. This time it was for a Medical reason and a letter from the Hospital helped us get a better rate. The Room was great and the Staff helpful and friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear wvo: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to help when possible, our medical patients who are visiting, as this can be a trying time travelling for medical services. We are glad to hear you found our Team members friendly and helpful during your stay. We do look forward to your next visit. regards... More

Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
83 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our experience at this hotel could not have been better. From the first contact at the reception desk through our final contact at check out, every interaction with multiple different staff members was always excellent. Others have touched on the design of the rooms and while it's a product of the decade it was constructed, the room was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Doug E. Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad that you found the service at Holiday Inn St. John's could meet your needs. As for the design, you are correct, the original property was built in 1966 and room layouts are very different today. We do look forward to our next set of renovations... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Holiday Inn St. John's offers a standard HI experience in terms of rooms. Clean, comfortable and large rooms that are a little dated. What sets the hotel apart is the service. Exceptionally friendly staff but to be fair, this is a typical 'Newfie' trait. The hotel bar is good and food is pretty good. The hotel is between the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Ionlyflyfirst: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you found your accomodations, clean, comfortable and spacious. We will certainly share with our Team members the service you received being exceptional. You are correct in that we are approximately 10 minute drive from downtown and airport, which makes the location convienient. We thank... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. It's clearly a very old hotel that will suffer when some of the newer hotels (especially the Holiday Inn Express at the airport) are built. That said,it was very clean, and the room was a good size, but it has a very strange layout and is very dated. On checking in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Mark H. Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you found your hotel accomodations clean and comforatable along with our team members being friendly and helpful to you. Our hotel was built in 1966, at that time, the design layout for rooms was a "split" washroom and most of the rooms are... More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I am from Manitoba and my family was visiting St. John's Newfoundland for a vacation. We had never been to the eastern side of the country before and didn't know what to expect. Our flight arrived later at night and so we checked in around 11:30pm on Friday August 9th. When we checked in our first impression of the Newfoundland... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear TaylorWpg: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. It was unfortunate your reception was not as welcoming and we do apologize for that. This will be reviewed with our Team Member to ensure we can avoid such a situation again. Your housekeeping experience has been reviewed with the Department Head to ensure we can avoid this in... More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Loud with kids running up and down hallways all night, busy with drunks. Parking lot completely full, good luck funding a spot! I wouldn't stay here for business, maybe a cheap family stay if you have kids with you and you're sleeping in late in the morning. Quite annoying as some people have to sleep and get up to work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear MZ Travelguy: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreicated. The weekend you travelled with us, was a busy one. We try to cater to all aspects of guests, whether it is business, leisure, sports and assocations. This particular weekend, we had 4 weddings, a soccer tournament and of course our corparate traveller. It can be a balancing... More

St. John's Newfoundland Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Booked this hotel last minute as it was the only one in St. John's that had a room available. Check-in was quick however the front desk staff weren't overly friendly. Just there to do their job. The room was a king suite. It was a great room. Clean and tidy. The bed was extremely comfortable. I didn't like that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Marty G: Thank you for your comments they are always appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your bed. We pride ourselves in using the Simmons Grandseville Beautyrest bed here, we receive many comments on this unit. We are in the process of moving our coffee stations on that particular floor, within the bedroom, as we change... More

Toronto
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

When we first checked in, the room we got was disappointing. My first reaction was "I guess we got what we paid for." (we did Priceline since St. John's was surprisingly expensive to us). The top sheet was dirty and had a few hairs on it. The room was an accessible one which was odd because we didn't request one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Linda P; Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear that we could meet your request to change room type from the original booking and that you found the beds comfy. We pride ourselves in the Beautyrest Grand Seville bed by Simmons, in which we get many comments on. Thank you again and... More

London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is surprisingly outdated. Staff not very helpful. I was so disappointed, that I decided to kick around the Baccalieu Trail instead of going back. Main floor room smelled musty, lamp didn't work. Pluses are TV widescreen with local cable; real glasses and coffee cups! Great balcony overlooking Kent's Pond.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Wanita H; We appreciate your comments pertaiing to your most recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Revnovations are in a cicular cycle and we look forward to our next round of renovations for our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the 32" flat screen TV's, coffee stations... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn St. Johns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd., St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in St. John's with
any amenities