We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 St. John's hotels

Holiday Inn St. Johns

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Portugal Cove Rd., St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE 15%! Book Today!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn St. Johns to your Saves list
Holiday Inn St. Johns
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
50%
Ranked #16 of 20 hotels in St. John's
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Doug E Winnipeg, Canada
  • Overview
  • Reviews (105)
  • Photos (34)
  • Location
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • More
true
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    33
    35
    19
    3
See reviews for
20
26
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Our experience at this hotel could not have been better. From the first contact at the reception desk through our final contact at check out, every interaction with multiple different staff members was always excellent. Others have touched on the design of the rooms and while it's a product of the decade it was constructed, the room was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Holiday Inn St. John's offers a standard HI experience in terms of rooms. Clean, comfortable and large rooms that are a little dated. What sets the hotel apart is the service. Exceptionally friendly staff but to be fair, this is a typical 'Newfie' trait. The hotel bar is good and food is pretty good. The hotel is between the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Ionlyflyfirst: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you found your accomodations, clean, comfortable and spacious. We will certainly share with our Team members the service you received being exceptional. You are correct in that we are approximately 10 minute drive from downtown and airport, which makes the location convienient. We thank... More

Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip. It's clearly a very old hotel that will suffer when some of the newer hotels (especially the Holiday Inn Express at the airport) are built. That said,it was very clean, and the room was a good size, but it has a very strange layout and is very dated. On checking in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Mark H. Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear you found your hotel accomodations clean and comforatable along with our team members being friendly and helpful to you. Our hotel was built in 1966, at that time, the design layout for rooms was a "split" washroom and most of the rooms are... More

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am from Manitoba and my family was visiting St. John's Newfoundland for a vacation. We had never been to the eastern side of the country before and didn't know what to expect. Our flight arrived later at night and so we checked in around 11:30pm on Friday August 9th. When we checked in our first impression of the Newfoundland... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear TaylorWpg: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. It was unfortunate your reception was not as welcoming and we do apologize for that. This will be reviewed with our Team Member to ensure we can avoid such a situation again. Your housekeeping experience has been reviewed with the Department Head to ensure we can avoid this in... More

Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loud with kids running up and down hallways all night, busy with drunks. Parking lot completely full, good luck funding a spot! I wouldn't stay here for business, maybe a cheap family stay if you have kids with you and you're sleeping in late in the morning. Quite annoying as some people have to sleep and get up to work!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear MZ Travelguy: Thank you for your comments, they are always appreicated. The weekend you travelled with us, was a busy one. We try to cater to all aspects of guests, whether it is business, leisure, sports and assocations. This particular weekend, we had 4 weddings, a soccer tournament and of course our corparate traveller. It can be a balancing... More

St. John's Newfoundland Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked this hotel last minute as it was the only one in St. John's that had a room available. Check-in was quick however the front desk staff weren't overly friendly. Just there to do their job. The room was a king suite. It was a great room. Clean and tidy. The bed was extremely comfortable. I didn't like that the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Marty G: Thank you for your comments they are always appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed the comfort of your bed. We pride ourselves in using the Simmons Grandseville Beautyrest bed here, we receive many comments on this unit. We are in the process of moving our coffee stations on that particular floor, within the bedroom, as we change... More

Toronto
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

When we first checked in, the room we got was disappointing. My first reaction was "I guess we got what we paid for." (we did Priceline since St. John's was surprisingly expensive to us). The top sheet was dirty and had a few hairs on it. The room was an accessible one which was odd because we didn't request one.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Linda P; Thank you for your comments, they are always appreciated. We are glad to hear that we could meet your request to change room type from the original booking and that you found the beds comfy. We pride ourselves in the Beautyrest Grand Seville bed by Simmons, in which we get many comments on. Thank you again and... More

London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is surprisingly outdated. Staff not very helpful. I was so disappointed, that I decided to kick around the Baccalieu Trail instead of going back. Main floor room smelled musty, lamp didn't work. Pluses are TV widescreen with local cable; real glasses and coffee cups! Great balcony overlooking Kent's Pond.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Wanita H; We appreciate your comments pertaiing to your most recent stay. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Revnovations are in a cicular cycle and we look forward to our next round of renovations for our guests. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the 32" flat screen TV's, coffee stations... More

Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The room was clean enough-short of missing a top sheet on a bed, and the staff friendly but connecting to the internet to complete work was about impossible, if I was able to connect the signal would be lost. When checking in I inquired if they were busy, "No." was the reply. My room was adjacent to the vending machines... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Kelly Hazel R: Thank you for your comments pertaining to your recent visit. We are disappointed to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. It was unfortunate you experienced internet connectivity issues. After further investigating, we had found a componet of our system was down and had to be replaced with another unit. This unit... More

Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We only stayed here for a night, and it was a great choice. It’s a clean and nice hotel. It’s only 5 minutes to the airport and about 10-15 minutes from downtown St. Johns. The service staffs are really there to please. We had left over food that we wanted to microwave, so I called front desk to ask if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norman V, General Manager at Holiday Inn St. Johns, responded to this review

Dear Bluerose 979: Thank you for your comments, as they are always appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn St. John's and found the location convienient, the accomodations clean and to your liking. Also pleased to hear our Team could assist you by delivering a microwave to your room. As to the "red" light in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Holiday Inn St. Johns, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Holiday Inn St. Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Johns

Address: 180 Portugal Cove Rd., St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 2N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Johns 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Johns Hotel St. John`s
Holiday Inn St. John's
St. John's Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn St. Johns Newfoundland, Canada

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Near Holiday Inn St. Johns

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn St. John's Government Centre Hotel The Holiday Inn hotel in St. John's, Newfoundland, is proud to be a two-time winner of the Holiday Inn Quality Excellence Award. We offer friendly, professional service. Hotel is located just minutes from St. John's International Airport (YYT), downtown St. John's, provincial and federal government offices. Business travelers appreciate our central location. Our hotel is also in close proximity to education centres such as Memorial University of Newfoundland, Marine Institute and the College of the North Atlantic, as well as the Health Sciences Centre, Janeway Children's Hospital and the retail district of St. John's. Our hotel features a boardroom and 11 meeting rooms with A/V equipment and catering services to help your event run smoothly. We proudly offer a family-friendly atmosphere ideally located near beautiful Pippy Park, the Fluvarium, five golf courses, Aquarena and many more attractions in St. John's. Our hotel offers suites designed with families in mind, and kids under 12 eat free at Eastside Mario's, our on-site restaurant, when accompanied by an adult (max. 4 children/adult). With amenities like hotel-wide free high-speed internet access (wireless and hardwired), a fitness centre, a business centre, outdoor pool, rooms with balconies and drive-up entrances and much more, you'll want to make our St. John's hotel your home away from home in Newfoundland. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
252

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St. Johns staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer