We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillside Motel

1.0 of 5
Hotel website
1131 & 1141 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X5, Canada
Hillside Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Saint John
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
Krabby P
Add Photo

151 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    69
    21
    7
    9
See reviews for
34
51
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (151)
  • Mar-May only
    (19)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (73)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (52)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (7)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

After a long day on the road it's nice to be greeted by someone who truly enjoys there job. My stay, albeit short, was both pleasant and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay there again. Thanks for everything!

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

When checking in...early I must add...we were met by the Owner who was very friendly and accommodating. He took the time to ensure we would be comfortable in our room and even offered a free upgrade! We planned on staying just one week but are now finishing our Third week! The staff are absolutely great...making sure we have everything we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Yarmouth NS
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

I think I have a thing for older family run motels. Must be from my youth when there were no chains. Anyway, this one is well located to get to ferry in morning, has clean rooms with a good view, and excellent wi-fi. The check in person was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are "homey" and include TV, kitchen... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I arrived late at night and was just stopping in for a place to rest. It was a quiet weeknight so the owner upgraded me free of charge to a room overlooking the Bay of Fundy . He gave me a map and a quick tour of points of interest. He knew the area very well and if I was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2015

This place is not even close to fancy, but you get what you pay for. We just needed a place to spend the night before taking the ferry to Nova Scotia that was pet friendly. The room decor is very tired but clean, the beds comfortable though I did find some hairs on the sheets... don't want to think about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2015

I stayed at the Hillside 3 separate times out of necessity and all 3 times were terrible. I would advice anyone who thinks of going there to reconsider and go anywhere but there. First off the owners do not have any extra staff to be in the office so if they are not there expect to wait an hour for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillsidekant, Manager at Hillside Motel, responded to this review

If the place was that bad as described & you were treated you should not have been coming to the motel when visiting in town. Kant, Lokesh Manager. More 

Caronport, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I've been meaning to share about this place for several months. After we checked out, my husband and I left the motel towards the ferry. Little did I know.... I left my favorite jacket at Hillside. The manager/ owner literally called the staff at the ferry, and since he knew what our vehicle looked like, he asked them to see... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

Great experience, very clean, helpful staff, affordable rates, good location, would stay again! Nice rooms, very clean, good view, close to everything, will go again! Owner is very helpful, and very understanding.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2014

Wonderful little family run business. Owner was very polite, courteous and friendly. Close to everything. Price was amazing for what you get. Room very clean, tidy. Hot water , good internet, cable tv, little kitchenette. lots of parking. Safe. I will stay there every time I pass through New Brunswick.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

Stayed there with my husbands hockey team. Very adorable for a bunch of college students. While it definitely has outdated decor and old furniture we found it very clean. For $50 a night it was exactly what it should be, a clean warm place to lay your head. Ours had a flat screen tv two big beds in a separate... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

42 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay