We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillcrest Motel

1315 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillcrest Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillcrest Motel
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    13
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
10
24
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (45)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from NS for one night. Its very reasonable and comfortable. The price is very reasonable and provided basic amenitites for that price. Will definitely come back and recommend it to anyone visiting Saint John.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Carol, On behalf of the management and staff of Hillcrest Motel, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We would love to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future in your Saint John home. Thank you, Jas More 

Sherbrooke, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I do not enjoy writing bad review, but we must warn people. In this case you don't get what you pay for even if it's as little as 60$, please believe us, go elsewhere. We don't know how they get that amount of good feedback, we took those feedbacks for granted and we got one of the biggest disappointment we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Belette, Sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience at our Motel. Per our conversation at the time of check-in, you asked for a free upgrade to a room with a view (up-front) which is more expensive despite of booking the cheapest room available online. I did advise trip advisor that you told us that you will put... More 

Waterdown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The decor could definitely be updated, but other than that my boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Motel. It was clean, the female receptionist was really nice and helpful with suggestions for dinner. The price was great and since we are on a student's budget worked very nicely for us. I would stay again if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Hello Carol, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hillcrest Motel for your vacation. We much appreciate your positive and beautiful comment full of compliments, which makes us very happy and proud. Comments like yours motivate us to keep our constancy and delivering our best, not only to maintain the quality of the service we provide,... More 

Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything a traveler could want - exceptionally clean, comfortable beds and very pleasant owners who try hard to accommodate their guests needs. We were there for three days on business and it was a real bonus to wake every day feeling refreshed because we'd had a good night's sleep. We'll be stopping there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret: What a wonderful review, you are so generous!! We are dedicated to satisfy every request that our guest can. Your encouraging words cheer us up and drive us to keep improving ourselves. Thank you once again for your exceptional comments! We look forward to welcoming you once again at your little paradise in Saint John! Best regards, Jas... More 

baddeck
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very cozy and comfortable, charming knotty pine walls and comfortable bed. Excellent value and wifi. Owners are friendly and helpful. We don't look for anyplace else anymore, after our long 10 hour drive it is a welcome destination. The location is a little hard to find off the highway, but now that we know it that is not a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sue First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hillcrest Motel for your stops in Saint John. We much appreciate your positive comment full of compliments, which makes us very happy and proud. Comments like yours motivate us to keep our constancy and delivering our best, not only to maintain the quality of the service we... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This was a value find. The room was somewhat wild - wood paneling everywhere, including the bathroom. However, the amenities, great service, and price more than made up for those limitations. Perfect stay along our trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
The Woodlands, Tx
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

This was a nice, clean and comfortable motel. Our room was small with 2 double beds in it. There is no A/C but there is a fan. It drowns out most if the noise from the highway down the valley. Have to have the windows open. Would have been hot and uncomfortable if the temps would have been any higher.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Vinalhaven, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2014

We recently stayed here for 1 night while on our way to PEI. This is a small motel but not small on the value. We had a little trouble finding it but we were pleasantly surprised with our room. It was very clean and comfortable. A microwave and fridge were provided in the room for our convenience. Cable TV and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sarnia, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

This is a small motel located on a cliff above the highway. It was a little hard to find, but worth it. Very clean and bed was comfortable, Staff was friendly and helpful. No facilities other than fridge and microwave. Seemed to be a lot of traffic on the street, but did not cause any problems, Would stay here again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
verde valley
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
41 hotel reviews
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

terrific little place to stay. i think there are only 10 rooms here at the most. the staff seems very friendly and the rooms are very clean. i wish i could say there is a beautiful view here, but the fog and rain seem to hide it - maybe tomorrow, hopefully.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities