We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hillcrest Motel

1315 Manawagonish Rd, Saint John, New Brunswick E2M 3X8, Canada
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hillcrest Motel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hillcrest Motel
Add Photo Write a Review

49 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    23
    15
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
26
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (49)
  • Mar-May only
    (7)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (0)
All months
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Well located 10/15 minutes from downtown , cosy and quiet room ,good value for the money , staff very friendly, light breakfast toast and cereals ,we would most certainly stay here again il we ever come back to visit the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Manager at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We do appreciate that you stayed with us and all the kind remarks. We are looking forward to serving you again. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write this review and staying! More 

Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

These folks have taken the typical mom-and-pop type motel from the Fifties and made it very comfortable and modern without losing all the nice period touches. We had a great night's sleep here. I never thought pine paneling could look so good to me!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Manager at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting the wonderful review! It was our pleasure to meet your needs and serve you. We try to keep the antique look of the motel and also make it look modern, and of course the comfort of our guests is most important and we are very glad to hear that you were... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My mom and I stayed there for 3 nights. Our stay was very comfortable, the room was super clean, service was done everyday, beautiful view and the price point is perfect. If you are looking for all kinds of bells and whistles, then book yourself a 5 star hotel and not a motel. But if you are looking for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

We had stayed at this little place the last week in April visiting my wife's family. Sure the furnishings are a bit dated but my wife and I were quite pleased. The bed was comfortable and clean. The room was warm which was great because it rained from the day we got there until the afternoon we left. We had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillcrest M, Manager at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Hello David, We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are very pleased to hear you found our hotel to be comfortable and of good value. We appreciate the fact that you understand that we are giving the amenities that we can in this price range. Unfortunately some people don't see it this way and... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

We stayed at this hotel on the way back from NS for one night. Its very reasonable and comfortable. The price is very reasonable and provided basic amenitites for that price. Will definitely come back and recommend it to anyone visiting Saint John.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Carol, On behalf of the management and staff of Hillcrest Motel, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your vacation. We would love to have the opportunity to host you back in the near future in your Saint John home. Thank you, Jas More 

Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015

I do not enjoy writing bad review, but we must warn people. In this case you don't get what you pay for even if it's as little as 60$, please believe us, go elsewhere. We don't know how they get that amount of good feedback, we took those feedbacks for granted and we got one of the biggest disappointment we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Belette, Sorry to hear that you didn't have a positive experience at our Motel. Per our conversation at the time of check-in, you asked for a free upgrade to a room with a view (up-front) which is more expensive despite of booking the cheapest room available online. I did advise trip advisor that you told us that you will put... More 

Waterdown, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2015

The decor could definitely be updated, but other than that my boyfriend and I really enjoyed our stay at the Hillcrest Motel. It was clean, the female receptionist was really nice and helpful with suggestions for dinner. The price was great and since we are on a student's budget worked very nicely for us. I would stay again if I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Hello Carol, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hillcrest Motel for your vacation. We much appreciate your positive and beautiful comment full of compliments, which makes us very happy and proud. Comments like yours motivate us to keep our constancy and delivering our best, not only to maintain the quality of the service we provide,... More 

Tyngsboro, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2015

Everything a traveler could want - exceptionally clean, comfortable beds and very pleasant owners who try hard to accommodate their guests needs. We were there for three days on business and it was a real bonus to wake every day feeling refreshed because we'd had a good night's sleep. We'll be stopping there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret: What a wonderful review, you are so generous!! We are dedicated to satisfy every request that our guest can. Your encouraging words cheer us up and drive us to keep improving ourselves. Thank you once again for your exceptional comments! We look forward to welcoming you once again at your little paradise in Saint John! Best regards, Jas... More 

baddeck
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015

Very cozy and comfortable, charming knotty pine walls and comfortable bed. Excellent value and wifi. Owners are friendly and helpful. We don't look for anyplace else anymore, after our long 10 hour drive it is a welcome destination. The location is a little hard to find off the highway, but now that we know it that is not a problem

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Hillcrest M, Owner at Hillcrest Motel, responded to this review

Dear Sue First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Hillcrest Motel for your stops in Saint John. We much appreciate your positive comment full of compliments, which makes us very happy and proud. Comments like yours motivate us to keep our constancy and delivering our best, not only to maintain the quality of the service we... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This was a value find. The room was somewhat wild - wood paneling everywhere, including the bathroom. However, the amenities, great service, and price more than made up for those limitations. Perfect stay along our trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

34 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay