We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Hotel deals
400 Main Street | at Chesley Drive, Saint John, New Brunswick E2K 4N5, Canada
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    89
    101
    22
    3
    2
See reviews for
65
74
14
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (34)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (62)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (19)
All months
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here many times on business in the city, and just to get away. Always have excellent service at the front desk, the rooms are clean, and the complimentary breakfast is great. (Also the pancake machine is to die for)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Located just off from the highway it was a great spot to stay overnight before catching the early morning St John to Digby ferry. Most noteworthy was the "free" breakfast (included in the price we paid). It was a good selection of items and believe it or not an AUTOMATIC pancake maker!!! Yes we have all used the more common... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
nj
Level Contributor
228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We weren't sure where to stay in St John, but picked this Holiday Inn for location and free breakfast. Good choice! Room was nicely sized, breakfast offered a large selection of hot and cold foods, and hotel was centrally located for exploring the area. We were right around the corner from reversing falls, near town and major routes. Staff was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thanks so much for choosing us for your stay while in Saint John! We're so glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and you were able to take advantage of our facilities and amenities including our large indoor sparkling pool. We hope you come back and stay with us again if your travels bring you our way. Kind regards... More 

Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is another property owned by the D. P. Murphy group so it is quite well-maintained and run. It had a former life as a Howard Johnson's, we were told, and had a bit of a facelift done when the group acquired the property but it is due in the coming months for a major update to the newest HIE... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your detailed review and for staying at our Hotel during your visit to the Maritimes! Your feedback is so important for us as we strive to make every guest experience here a positive one. We're glad that you were able to stay with some of our other DP Murphy Hotel Group properties during your trip and... More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2015

This Holiday Inn Express is a notch above most in this typically very good chain. We we were there on a Wednesday and they had a gracious (and free) offering of finger food, beer and wine. I don't think that's available other nights. Breakfast was free and good quality. The hotel is very centrally located and near most things in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay and were able to join us for our weekly Managers reception. Also glad to hear you enjoyed your room with one of our great harbour views! We are very proud to be located in a very safe and friendly city and our guests security is... More 

Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2015

This is a good hotel, reasonable priced and with a good fitness centre and pool. Beds and rooms well kept and maintained. The 'free' and included breakfast however is another story. Details follow. Be warned it is not pretty. The breakfast is amongst the worst I've ever had. Pre done, industrial food at it worst and I've eaten a lot... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. We are pleased that you had an overall positive stay...however disappointed that we were unable to fully satisfy your breakfast needs. We are always looking for ways to improve and HIE has recently added several healthy options which perhaps you were not aware. Here is... More 

Halifax Region, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015

Slightly dated but clean. The staff were accommodating. We asked for a cot and it arrived shortly after we did. Breakfast was included but they ran out Of eggs and bacon quickly. The did refill when asked. Kids loved the pool, they were both 15 years old boys.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you managed to take in some of our facilities and amenities. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Brian More 

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015

We found the hotel to be quite dated. We found the hotel was very pricey for an average hotel. We had two queen beds and one squeaked with every slight movement, so I didn't get much sleep. The front desk staff were nice. The breakfast was really great. It had a lot of choices, both hot and cold and lots... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet and friendly staff! Please accept my apology for the squeaky bed which our maintenance team has immediately taken care of. Kind regards Brian More 

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2015

I had recently stayed at Holiday Inn, and thought it was great. Staff were very welcoming and available. My next visit to SJ is next month and my reservations have already been made to stay there again, so close to everything and loved having a view of the harbour!! This visit was for work, the next one is for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience here. We look forward to welcoming you on your return visit. Thanks for staying with us! Brian More 

calhoun, GA
Level Contributor
129 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2015

I stay at a lot of HIE hotels and I can admit that this is one of the best. Great location and great view of the city if you can get a higher floor. An easy walk downtown and not far from the port walk, a very pleasant path to get you there. Just close enough to town where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BrianL894, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Saint John, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take in the sights around the Saint John area through access on the Harbour Passage Trail. We love to hear "awesome" as our guests experience is so important to us! We look forward to welcoming you again on your... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

63 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (46)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay